We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dim sum lunch”
Review of Mekong Palace

Mekong Palace
Ranked #109 of 1,087 Restaurants in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Very busy place to eat, but tables opened up quickly. We should have ordered a lunch from menu and added to it as dim sum carts came around. Most cart servers spoke little English and we weren't always sure what we were choosing from them. Overall, food was good and not too expensive. We would return but be sure we knew what we were getting from menu descriptions.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank LeslieDQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2018

This is one hot place! I don't mean popular (although it is) and I don't mean physically warm (temp was perfect actually). Jammed with almost all Asian families there for the Palace's great Dim Sum!!!

Someone wrote in a review to get there before 11AM due to the crowding. We arrived at 10:50AM , and chose some little dishes from carts, pushed mostly by non English speaking women.

At about 11:10AM bright lights began flashing, an alarm loudly began pulsating, and a cloud of gray smoke billowed out of the kitchen door. Staff began running in and out of the kitchen and we were all asked politely "to get out of Dodge", and be quick about it. We were one of the last to get up as I was enjoying my little treats. Food was great but perhaps a bit rushed, but the good part is they didn't charge us for early lunch!!! We will return on another weekend if they re-open soon. Interesting to be eating and watch firemen chopping holes in the kitchen wall as our entertainment, GO Mekong Palace!!!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We went on a Saturday for lunch time. They serve dim sum (push carts with a bunch of Chinese appetizers, you pay for what you pick). Dim sum was just average. I think two other places in the valley are much better (Phoenix palace and Great Wall). This applies to most dishes we had.

They had lobster as a dish and it was superb. We ordered a crab, and as always, it was excellent. The crab was fresh and meaty.

In summary. Go elsewhere for better dim sum. For their regular menu items, the food is very good.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

This was our first visit to the Mekong Palace and it will not be our last. We started with an order of potstickers, and with three of us dining we ordered three entrees and all were three large portions. We ordered the cashew chicken, Kung Pao beef, and Szechuan shrimp. All we're perfectly prepared equivalent to the same Chinese food that was authentic when I lived in Hawaii. So if you're looking for authentic high quality Chinese food, Mekong Palace is the place to go.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank luvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Food was excellent as always. Good selection and dishes are always tasty.

The reason for giving it only four stars is this time it was very noisy. It was a bit difficult to have a discussion around the table. Secondly, they eliminated a number of their specials (good food at inexpensive prices).

That said, prices are still very reasonable for good food.

Service was good. Including refills of ice water and hot tea.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mekong Palace also viewed

 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Mekong Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing