We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, quiet and just what we needed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We loved our three nights at the Ranch in cabin 18. The bed was really hard, so if you like soft beds, you may have a difficult night sleep. I'm not sure if all of the beds are hard, but we had a little difficulty sleeping due to this. Other than that, this is a wonderful stay and the cabins are adorable and clean.

Breakfast is very delicious and plentiful~it's a treat to have it included in the stay.

The grounds are immaculate, the pool is warm and there is such nice seating and plenty of towels to use.

John and his wife are the most gracious hosts and they are extremely knowledgable of the area, the vegetation and the history of the Ranch.

There is no wifi, so if you need to be connected, you may want to make sure your 4G works. Sitting by the river to read or have a cup of coffee was such a treat each morning! It is remarkably relaxing and serene- I highly recommend the Saguaro Guest Ranch. We hope to be back in years to come!

Room Tip: Each cabin has a front porch, the views of the mountains are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2017

we stayed for several days with our 2 elementary age girls. they loved it. simple pool but warm. friendly staff. downhome. did not feel stuffy at all. no tv except 1 in the lodge. we loved the collection of board games. family loved the pool table. the view of the rocks is absolutely amazing as the sun is setting.

since most days only breakfast is offered it would have been nice to have a little more in the cabin than a small fridge. also our cabin really had no outside sitting room except a small patio surrounded by driveway. most the other cabins seemed to have a better sitting area. we did move to some central tables to play games in the evening.

beds and bathrooms were clean.

breakfast was good. coffee has a little off flavor, maybe the water?

we did the horse back rides at the ranch and it was a lovely ride through the dessert with views of red rock and saguaro lake.

we went up the lake to a swim area one day and did a short hike and enjoyed swimming.

we would definitely stay here again. but it is not for someone looking for the jw marriot (where we stayed next and we all preferred the guest ranch)

Room Tip: the upper cabins look a little more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mommysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Be sure you know what you are getting into before booking the SLR. We loved it for two nights in March 2017 but it certainly isn’t for everybody. Located in the beautiful rolling hills of the Saguaro Lake area, the SLR offers a fairly rustic experience. Our cabin did not have a tv, a fridge or a coffeemaker. But it did have a great view, a comfy bed and a clean bathroom with modern shower – all supported by a very friendly and helpful staff. They offer a great brekkie in the morning from 8am to 9am (the coffee is on by 7am). We were also fortunate to be there for a Sunday night cookout where, for an extra price, we had wonderful bar-b-qued steak and chicken. The nearest restaurant is at the marina a mile or so down the road but we found a small retirement town to the northwest that had a pizza pub and a large grocery story that more than met our needs. The pool is very small. The grounds are fantastic – especially the cactus garden down by the Salt River. It also is only about a 30 minute drive from the Goldfield Ghost town which we just loved. And the drive thru the hills to Tortilla Flats is beautiful. As long as you are looking for rustic, you will love the SLR and its great staff. For modern, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ralu25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

I stumbled onto a treasure when I booked here. The people are some of the most friendly that I have ever experienced anywhere in my 60 years of traveling. I would return here over and over. The scenery is breathtaking. The people are top Notch. The breakfast was fabulous. The place has the old world charm of an old John Wayne movie. No dazzle - just good folks - wonderful food - clean cabins and an overall fabulous experience. I run a lodge in Canada so I look behind beds and in corners - my sweet little cabin was spotless. The beds were very comfortable, the prices reasonable, the breakfast was excellent with many choices of healthy foods. I love this place so much. The couple who run it are so invested in it being a great and unique experience. Their love of the place permeates every clean, friendly corner. I only wish that I lived closer so I could return many times a year with all of my fun friends.

Room Tip: If internet connection is an issue you will need to get a cabin close to the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank homesafe60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Nice clean units , the staff are very nice .
This place is off the beaten path , quiet and comfy .
The view of rock out cropping is truly spectacular.
No tv as far as I could see , which is nice .
The lodge has lots of books !!!

Stayed: March 2017
2  Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesa
24.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mesa Superstition Springs
31.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton at Phoenix Mesa Gateway Airport
13.8 km away
We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 km away
Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa
33.3 km away
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa
37.7 km away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#7 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch

Address: 13020 N Bush Hwy, Mesa, AZ 85215-9724
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mesa
Price Range: $197 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Tonto National Forest along the banks of the Salt River, this historic guest ranch boasts rustic 26 cabins. An outdoor pool offers views of the Goldfield Mountain Range.Featuring traditional Western décor, each cabin comes with a private bathroom. With no TVs or phones, all cottages offer a place to kick back and relax.Guests are welcomed in the main lodge complete with a stone fireplace and wagon wheel lights. Breakfast is served in the dining room featuring a real Saguaro skeleton.Guided horseback riding is available from mid-October to early May. Kayaking and river tubing are available from May to October. Hiking and bird watching are available year round.Saguaro Lake Ranch is located 15 miles from Mesa in the Tonto National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saguaro Lake Ranch Hotel Mesa
Saguaro Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing