We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Our Granddaughter got married at the ranch this past weekend. All the cabins were filled with family members of the bride & groom. The Ranch was perfect! The staff acted more like family members than staff. They all deserve 10 stars at least.

A small group of us went on a 30 minute trail ride. The stables aren't part of the ranch but are right there and an easy walk - plus they give ranch guests a discount. The horses are well cared for! And are excellent trail horses. Shelby was our guide and she was very good. One grandson-in-law had never ridden before and he had no problems at all - looked like he had been riding all his life. They also have 10 minute pony rides for the little one.

Salt River was low so no tubing, etc. Saguaro Lake marina only minutes away and we had a perfect rehearsal dinner on the Desert Belle (the groom's family invited not only bridal party but all out of town guests (a full boat). Weather was perfect and food was delish!

Loved my cabin - bed was great. It was number 7, adjoining the lodge. The cabins have porches and the family made good use of them for hanging out together. Pool was very nice. There was a yard swing, several outside games, a pool table. We had a few young children with the group and they loved it. The lounge area had a TV but I'm not sure anyone looked at it. Rooms do not have TVs or phones - and you will never miss them.

The groom's 90+ grandmother was there and had no problems being wheeled around and seemed to really enjoy herself - also she had a special dance with her grandson - to the song he would sing to her as a little boy, "You Are My Sunshine" - not a dry eye at the wedding.

Breakfast was great. Of course with being all family we made a lot of racket with everyone talking to everyone. On the day of the wedding they also had a deli lunch set up. Because we had to be at the stables when it started and were going to miss it the staff made sure we got in just before noon and pilled up our plates and ate while walking over to the stables - which was really super nice of them. As I said, something your Mom would insist on - "You have to have a good lunch!" - Fit right in with the family.

If you want a place where you can relax, enjoy being together and talking; where you can look at the most beautiful scenery & spot critters (like the Bald Eagle); where the shoppers in the family can find unique items in their gift shop; where you can stop and smell the cacti in bloom - then the ranch will fill your soul.

Room Tip: I had room 7 - had a mini fridge - tub/shower - beautiful view - adjacent to lodge with a ramp avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jagehrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2017

Our room was more like a suite with a King bed, side tables and then opposite the bed a sitting area, desk and a long walk-in closet. We were surprised to open a door and find two additional single beds, two side chairs and the refrigerator. The room had a vintage charm reflecting the history of the property. You can totally unplug from WiFi and TV and just enjoy the beautiful surroundings.
We arrived in the darkness of night, so in the morning when we saw the surroundings, we audibly gasped. Beautiful views of the mountains, the dam and the feeling we were in our own private world as the road ends at the dam.
We had a horse trail ride scheduled for 8:15 AM (the stables are literally a walk across the street) so lamented that we would miss breakfast. Went to the dining room (lots of cool history here as well) to grab an early cup of coffee and one of the young kitchen staffers sought us out and prepared a full breakfast of eggs, toast and bacon just for us before we had to leave for the trail ride. Incredibly kind and accommodating. The following morning we got to enjoy a leisurely breakfast with a beautiful fresh fruit platter, omelets, bacon and hash browns. There were also cold cereals and yogurts. All of the food was excellent.
John, the manager/caretaker, showed us the hiking trail behind the ranch, told us about the petroglyphs we would find near the top and made sure we had our walking sticks. The hike was easy, winding our way through beautiful cacti and spring flowers. At the top we were rewarded with the petroglyphs and an awesome panoramic view of the dam, the Salt River and surrounding mountains.
During our stay we ventured into Phoenix for a baseball game and then met friends for dinner. Our regret is that we didn't spend more time at/around this gem off the beaten path. We will the next time!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayakGirlWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We stayed for just one night after a Cub's game in Mesa. Less than a half hour from the park, not bad But on the way there I realized that they were kind of in the middle of nowhere, so I called to ask about dinner options. They said they have a nightly barbecue which they could add us to ($25/ea for chicken, $35 for steak). The dinner was served outside in front of the main building. Very good, grilled chicken, potatoes, veggies, salad, etc. great dessert. The regular rate included breakfast, which was also excellent, egg casserole, scrambled eggs, bacon, all home cooked. Fruit, muffins, etc. The cabin we had was rustic, but clean, bathroom very large and spotless. The pool was nice, and had games nearby (shuffleboard, bags). The hosts (I believe they are the owners) are extremely friendly and accommodating, We had a small cooler and they gave us ice from the house to keep the few things we had cold. Nice place to stay if you want to get away from it all. They had a bonfire out front at night, for anyone to come enjoy. It was wonderful sitting by the fire and watching the stars. I believe there's rafting nearby, but we couldn't stay long enough to check it out. We liked it, but don't stay here if you want a Holiday Inn experience (i.e., no phones, no tv)

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We loved our three nights at the Ranch in cabin 18. The bed was really hard, so if you like soft beds, you may have a difficult night sleep. I'm not sure if all of the beds are hard, but we had a little difficulty sleeping due to this. Other than that, this is a wonderful stay and the cabins are adorable and clean.

Breakfast is very delicious and plentiful~it's a treat to have it included in the stay.

The grounds are immaculate, the pool is warm and there is such nice seating and plenty of towels to use.

John and his wife are the most gracious hosts and they are extremely knowledgable of the area, the vegetation and the history of the Ranch.

There is no wifi, so if you need to be connected, you may want to make sure your 4G works. Sitting by the river to read or have a cup of coffee was such a treat each morning! It is remarkably relaxing and serene- I highly recommend the Saguaro Guest Ranch. We hope to be back in years to come!

Room Tip: Each cabin has a front porch, the views of the mountains are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

we stayed for several days with our 2 elementary age girls. they loved it. simple pool but warm. friendly staff. downhome. did not feel stuffy at all. no tv except 1 in the lodge. we loved the collection of board games. family loved the pool table. the view of the rocks is absolutely amazing as the sun is setting.

since most days only breakfast is offered it would have been nice to have a little more in the cabin than a small fridge. also our cabin really had no outside sitting room except a small patio surrounded by driveway. most the other cabins seemed to have a better sitting area. we did move to some central tables to play games in the evening.

beds and bathrooms were clean.

breakfast was good. coffee has a little off flavor, maybe the water?

we did the horse back rides at the ranch and it was a lovely ride through the dessert with views of red rock and saguaro lake.

we went up the lake to a swim area one day and did a short hike and enjoyed swimming.

we would definitely stay here again. but it is not for someone looking for the jw marriot (where we stayed next and we all preferred the guest ranch)

Room Tip: the upper cabins look a little more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mommysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesa
24.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mesa Superstition Springs
31.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton at Phoenix Mesa Gateway Airport
13.8 km away
We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 km away
Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa
33.3 km away
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa
37.7 km away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch

Address: 13020 N Bush Hwy, Mesa, AZ 85215-9724
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mesa
Price Range: $197 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Tonto National Forest along the banks of the Salt River, this historic guest ranch boasts rustic 26 cabins. An outdoor pool offers views of the Goldfield Mountain Range.Featuring traditional Western décor, each cabin comes with a private bathroom. With no TVs or phones, all cottages offer a place to kick back and relax.Guests are welcomed in the main lodge complete with a stone fireplace and wagon wheel lights. Breakfast is served in the dining room featuring a real Saguaro skeleton.Guided horseback riding is available from mid-October to early May. Kayaking and river tubing are available from May to October. Hiking and bird watching are available year round.Saguaro Lake Ranch is located 15 miles from Mesa in the Tonto National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saguaro Lake Ranch Hotel Mesa
Saguaro Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing