We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$79
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa(Mesa)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa(Mesa)(Great Value!)
US$94
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa(Mesa)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$80
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$88
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
143
28
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
143
28
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild horsessalt riverhour tripkayak tripfun kayakingrope swingrent kayakstube floatget away from it allhorse traildesert belleold westgracious hostsmain buildinglate arrivalthe ritzbreakfast each morning
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Our room was more like a suite with a King bed, side tables and then opposite the bed a sitting area, desk and a long walk-in closet. We were surprised to open a door and find two additional single beds, two side chairs and the refrigerator. The room had a vintage charm reflecting the history of the property. You can totally unplug from WiFi and TV and just enjoy the beautiful surroundings.
We arrived in the darkness of night, so in the morning when we saw the surroundings, we audibly gasped. Beautiful views of the mountains, the dam and the feeling we were in our own private world as the road ends at the dam.
We had a horse trail ride scheduled for 8:15 AM (the stables are literally a walk across the street) so lamented that we would miss breakfast. Went to the dining room (lots of cool history here as well) to grab an early cup of coffee and one of the young kitchen staffers sought us out and prepared a full breakfast of eggs, toast and bacon just for us before we had to leave for the trail ride. Incredibly kind and accommodating. The following morning we got to enjoy a leisurely breakfast with a beautiful fresh fruit platter, omelets, bacon and hash browns. There were also cold cereals and yogurts. All of the food was excellent.
John, the manager/caretaker, showed us the hiking trail behind the ranch, told us about the petroglyphs we would find near the top and made sure we had our walking sticks. The hike was easy, winding our way through beautiful cacti and spring flowers. At the top we were rewarded with the petroglyphs and an awesome panoramic view of the dam, the Salt River and surrounding mountains.
During our stay we ventured into Phoenix for a baseball game and then met friends for dinner. Our regret is that we didn't spend more time at/around this gem off the beaten path. We will the next time!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayakGirlWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We stayed for just one night after a Cub's game in Mesa. Less than a half hour from the park, not bad But on the way there I realized that they were kind of in the middle of nowhere, so I called to ask about dinner options. They said they have a nightly barbecue which they could add us to ($25/ea for chicken, $35 for steak). The dinner was served outside in front of the main building. Very good, grilled chicken, potatoes, veggies, salad, etc. great dessert. The regular rate included breakfast, which was also excellent, egg casserole, scrambled eggs, bacon, all home cooked. Fruit, muffins, etc. The cabin we had was rustic, but clean, bathroom very large and spotless. The pool was nice, and had games nearby (shuffleboard, bags). The hosts (I believe they are the owners) are extremely friendly and accommodating, We had a small cooler and they gave us ice from the house to keep the few things we had cold. Nice place to stay if you want to get away from it all. They had a bonfire out front at night, for anyone to come enjoy. It was wonderful sitting by the fire and watching the stars. I believe there's rafting nearby, but we couldn't stay long enough to check it out. We liked it, but don't stay here if you want a Holiday Inn experience (i.e., no phones, no tv)

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We loved our three nights at the Ranch in cabin 18. The bed was really hard, so if you like soft beds, you may have a difficult night sleep. I'm not sure if all of the beds are hard, but we had a little difficulty sleeping due to this. Other than that, this is a wonderful stay and the cabins are adorable and clean.

Breakfast is very delicious and plentiful~it's a treat to have it included in the stay.

The grounds are immaculate, the pool is warm and there is such nice seating and plenty of towels to use.

John and his wife are the most gracious hosts and they are extremely knowledgable of the area, the vegetation and the history of the Ranch.

There is no wifi, so if you need to be connected, you may want to make sure your 4G works. Sitting by the river to read or have a cup of coffee was such a treat each morning! It is remarkably relaxing and serene- I highly recommend the Saguaro Guest Ranch. We hope to be back in years to come!

Room Tip: Each cabin has a front porch, the views of the mountains are stunning
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

we stayed for several days with our 2 elementary age girls. they loved it. simple pool but warm. friendly staff. downhome. did not feel stuffy at all. no tv except 1 in the lodge. we loved the collection of board games. family loved the pool table. the view of the rocks is absolutely amazing as the sun is setting.

since most days only breakfast is offered it would have been nice to have a little more in the cabin than a small fridge. also our cabin really had no outside sitting room except a small patio surrounded by driveway. most the other cabins seemed to have a better sitting area. we did move to some central tables to play games in the evening.

beds and bathrooms were clean.

breakfast was good. coffee has a little off flavor, maybe the water?

we did the horse back rides at the ranch and it was a lovely ride through the dessert with views of red rock and saguaro lake.

we went up the lake to a swim area one day and did a short hike and enjoyed swimming.

we would definitely stay here again. but it is not for someone looking for the jw marriot (where we stayed next and we all preferred the guest ranch)

Room Tip: the upper cabins look a little more modern
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mommysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Be sure you know what you are getting into before booking the SLR. We loved it for two nights in March 2017 but it certainly isn’t for everybody. Located in the beautiful rolling hills of the Saguaro Lake area, the SLR offers a fairly rustic experience. Our cabin did not have a tv, a fridge or a coffeemaker. But it did have a great view, a comfy bed and a clean bathroom with modern shower – all supported by a very friendly and helpful staff. They offer a great brekkie in the morning from 8am to 9am (the coffee is on by 7am). We were also fortunate to be there for a Sunday night cookout where, for an extra price, we had wonderful bar-b-qued steak and chicken. The nearest restaurant is at the marina a mile or so down the road but we found a small retirement town to the northwest that had a pizza pub and a large grocery story that more than met our needs. The pool is very small. The grounds are fantastic – especially the cactus garden down by the Salt River. It also is only about a 30 minute drive from the Goldfield Ghost town which we just loved. And the drive thru the hills to Tortilla Flats is beautiful. As long as you are looking for rustic, you will love the SLR and its great staff. For modern, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ralu25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews