We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Room near the city center”
Review of Mirando al Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mirando al Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Very cozy room with warm floor and mini kitchen. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast is included.
This place is located 20 minutes walking from city center. There is a hill but is very close. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YuriRemedio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

Only criticism really is that we booked this place several months ago but then changed the dates due to the closure of the airport due to volcanic ash but ended up in a room overlooking the road.
All night noise and lift from street lamps. Normally not a problem but as the airline had left our bags in ba we had no ear plugs or eye shades which are essential for this room.
The bikes and cars were incredibly noisy. What is really annoying is that at breakfast there were only 3 other couples and clearly there were rooms at the back of the hotel away from the street. Because of the trouble with bags and getting from esquel to bariloche by bus we arrived at 11pm but had called earlier. We expected to be in the quietest room available.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

This was a nice hotel with large rooms and a little kitchen, which would be great for people wanting an apartment-style alternative to a typical hotel room. Everything was very clean and modern, and the common areas were great.

It was very noisy, particularly since an unexpected and very unusual heat wave (and no air con) forced us to leave the window open, and since the room faced onto a VERY busy street (ALL NIGHT), it sounded a bit like the runway at Heathrow Airport. I'm sure this would not be a problem in cooler weather with the windows closed or in a back room.

The place itself is about a 20 minute walk into town (downhill) - pretty far considering how many hotels are located right downtown. Coming back, 2 out of the 3 taxis we took went in completely the wrong direction, even after we showed them where the place was on a map. They had to stop and ask for directions. It seems this is a pretty out-of-the way place, and what should have been a 5-minute ride ended up taking over 25 minutes -- twice.

Our biggest concern was that this place was not quite a hotel, but not quite a B&B. I think we were the only people there at night (no concierge and no live-in keeper) and even though the area is quite safe and there were several gates/locks, I felt that two tourists alone in a big place are a bit of a target.

All in all, nice place but probably better in the "high" season in winter when more people are around.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prodigalfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The room is cosy and very well equipped. There is a microwave and Wifi (if you bring your laptop). The Hotel it self has no computer for guests to use. The breakfast is varied and served with home made bread. The service is friendly (but mostly in spanish).
If you are looking for a comfortable stay in a beautiful place and you have a car or don't mind climbing the hill for 30 minutes each time you go to the center, this place is highly recommended.
It is very important to inform the hotel about the time of your arrivel, because When We arrived to the hotel it was 9pm, the door was locked, there was no receptionist, guests that were comming out opened the door and called the ouner on the telefone, we could have been outside all night.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We stayed 3 nights, didn't want to leave. Beautiful, open concept design; the common area is like an atrium, and the very new building is surrounded by trees. Our room was elegant and large, extremely comfortable. Each room is named for one of the local flowers or trees, and the staff seem like keen naturalists. The best breakfast we've encountered yet, with cereals, fruit, yogurt, home-made breads, delicious coffee...sigh. Service was outstanding. Ernesto was quick responding to email requests.

Only con: it's right on a busy road, though it seems most hosterias in town are as well. Earplugs are a good idea. Would love to return.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedensk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
1.1 km away
Aldea Andina
Aldea Andina
#20 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
546 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#21 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
638 reviews
2.6 km away
Kospi Boutique Guesthouse
Kospi Boutique Guesthouse
#2 of 118 in San Carlos de Bariloche
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Lago Gutierrez Lodge
Lago Gutierrez Lodge
#20 of 118 in San Carlos de Bariloche
92 reviews
0.6 km away
Las Marianas Hotel
Las Marianas Hotel
#3 of 118 in San Carlos de Bariloche
238 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Cottbus
Hotel Cottbus
#5 of 118 in San Carlos de Bariloche
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirando al Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirando al Sur

Address: Avenida de Los Pioneros 471, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400BIE, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: $68 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mirando al Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Mirando al Sur" is a small hotel, elegant and comfortable. Located in Bariloche is 1km from the center of the Town.. It has eleven rooms with private bath (three singles, seven doubles and one triple) and a large social space integrated into the garden. Rooms have TV, telephone, small refrigerator and microwave. Mirando al Sur has free Wi Fi and a sauna for exclusive use of the hotel guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mirando al Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirando Al Sur San Carlos De Bariloche, Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing