We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
16
68
44
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
68
44
21
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

This hotel is one of the few 3 star hotel in very good condition situated in the middle of the center
Nice place in calafate the employees are very nice
Ready to help you at any time also speak English
Breakfast basic continental as Patagonia breakfast
No eggs only yogurt,coffee juices and breads ham and cheese some croissants

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank patroska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magna H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Kalken, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear guest,
We're really glad you've enjoyed your time at our hotel. We'll take your advice to make the best out of the future experiences you and all our guests have. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

After 6hours driving we looked for a sleep-over place. At 23:30 we booked via booking.com for 2 adults and 2 kids. I forgot to add the age of the kids (7 & 9). When arriving in the hotel close to midnight- they said, that the room booked is only for 2 adults and 2 babies and they can’t let us into this room. They offered us instead a 4 bedroom for 360USD. We denied this and ask to cancel the booking. They denied to do so. We ask for the manager , but he wasn’t reachable. We talked for about 20minutes to find a solution. The two incompetent and money driven employees would not move any bit.
We left the hotel unused and slept the night in the car at 5C.
Now this “kind” hotel has the guts to fully charged a month later the price for the room initially booked.
My verdict: unfriendly and non-helpful money hunters.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank papa-is-the-best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kalken, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018
Google Translation

Estimado huésped,
Ante todo gracias por su comentario. Trabajamos continuamente por mejorar nuestras instalaciones y poder ofrecerles a nuestros huéspedes la mejor calidad y servicio. Lamentamos no haya encontrado todo como esperaba, agradecemos las sugerencias para poder mejorar a la brevedad y de esta forma hacer que su próxima estadía sea mucho mejor.
Saludos cordiales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

Don’t go there they are robbers! While booking we made an error, there was no way to speak directly with them, we ask right after the reservation to change they didn’t answer for 5 days and then it was just to say that if we wanted to change or cancel you have to pay. No good will to help, they were barely polite by phone... never saw that bad level of service in 6 month of travel. So definitely be prepared of that if you go there, we are really desapointed.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Calyfrch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magna H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Kalken, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018
Google Translation

Estimado huésped,
Ante todo gracias por su comentario. Trabajamos continuamente por mejorar nuestras instalaciones y poder ofrecerles a nuestros huéspedes la mejor calidad y servicio. Lamentamos no haya encontrado todo como esperaba, agradecemos las sugerencias para poder mejorar a la brevedad y de esta forma hacer que su próxima estadía sea mucho mejor.
Saludos cordiales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

We stayed here for 5 nights over the busy Xmas period. There was a slight confusion when we arrived as they appeared to not have our booking (we had cancelled and then rebooked but they only seemed to be aware of the cancelled booking), however this was resolved quite quickly.
Positives:
- Great location – basically just one block away from the main street
- Good wi-fi connection
- Cost was reasonable
- Friendly staff, despite many of them not being able to speak much English
Negatives:
- Room extremely basic, just a bed and 2 small side tables. No other furniture, no bar fridge. Considering the cost, we were not expecting 5 star, but the room was very sparse. The bathroom was very basic as well, with no space to place any toiletries, etc.
- There was only 1 plug point up in the top corner of the room (which was unusable due to its height) and 1 in the bathroom. We had to charge our phones and camera one at a time, precariously balanced on the sink.
- No temperature control – seemed to be centrally controlled so often felt overheated
- Not much variety at breakfast, and no hot option
Overall, if you just need a place to sleep at night, this is an option to consider to save on costs if you can get a good deal. However, if you would like a bit more comfort, then rather consider other hotels – there are loads of options in El Calafate.

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank Raye81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magna H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Kalken, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear guest,
Thanks for giving us your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel hasn't been that great, we apologize for the umpleasant things that you describe in your letter. However, we want to make sure you know our staff is always working to make our hotel better and your feedback is really useful for us to improve for the next time you decide to come and join us.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015

We spent one night at Kalken and we were happy of our choice. The hotel looks great and all the communal part are cosy and well maintained. Our room was comfortable and warm but very basic, no kettle, hairdryer or fridge. Breakfast was a bit disappointing when compared with the way it is publicised. There was all the basics but nothing more.
All in all, it's a good choice in El Calafate where everything is horribly expensive.

Room tip: Ask for a room that faces the front!
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FedericoPaesano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews