We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
155
3
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
3
0
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2016

First, the owners are wonderful first class people, and made me feel very welcome at their guest house. The B and B is located an easy and safe 8 minute walk from "El Central" Banos. The guest room I had was a full private bath with comfortable bed, and a desk for working. The views from the window and outside were wonderful. FOr a small fee, they will prepare a delicious breakfast, select from a menu. Ove and Aase (Owners) were very helpful, and the place is also exceptionally clean. I highly recommend ths place.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diver34118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

You are staying in a room behind the hosts home. It is quiet and peaceful, and there is a view of the mountains when you step out of the room. They provide towels and soap. Showers were warm. You can flush toilet paper which is an exception in some places.
Aase and Ove and wonderful kind people, who invite you into their home for breakfast, which is around $10 if you have coffee, eggs, crepes, and a bread.
They didn't have guests the next day, so we were able to come back to the room and shower after our day in Banos, before leaving for the airport. They then brought coffee and the best cookies to our room also.
Rates are $20 a person, so $40 for two. Hostals in the area are $20 for a private room, but you don't get the hosts kindness. It was nice meeting you Ove and Aase!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank activeoneCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Magic Stone is in a great location, right on the edge of all the action. You get to enjoy a quiet nights sleep, while being only a 5-minute walk to the restaurants and nightlife. You are only a 2-minute walk to the taffy shops.

The room was clean, comfortable, had wifi and hot, hot water. As a bonus, the owners Ove & Aase, offer a delicious organic breakfast. I highly recommend trying the Danish bread.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard_Feenstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

I would highly recommend this place. The room is cozy and homey - - located in a separate building from their place so it feels like you're in your own little home. The room was VERY clean with all amenities you would need. Location is great - - tucked away in a quiet street but a very short walk to the center of the town. Best part was Ova and Ase - they were so friendly and helpful - more than willing to help with tips etc. Stay here if you want a quiet nice place for a good value.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Red room, It's nice to have the second bed up in the loft - gives a little more privacy
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We decided to stay at magic stone after reading all the good reviews here. Aase and Ove are such wonderful hosts, I wished we could stay longer.
The room was spacious cosy and clean. Breakfast was amazing: home made jam, different types of bread, eggs etc. and location was perfect for us, just a few minutes from the center of town so it was quiet and with lovely views. Also great WI Fi!
Thank you Aase and Ove ! We had a great stay and it was really great meeting you. I hope we get to see you again in the future :)

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Morin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews