We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour Group Lunch”
Review of Hotel Donde Ivan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Donde Ivan
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Cute place walking into it. We ate upstairs at a long table. The carrot soup, grilled chicken, cooked veggies were all good but nothing stood out. Two in our small group were vegetarians and they loved their vegetarian lasagne. Expresso at the end of the meal was $2.00. Within walking distance of other things in the town.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank tlynn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry V, Gerente at Hotel Donde Ivan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017


Thanks for your valuable comment.
always at the orders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2017

This was our luck stop with gate1 travel and like everything else this tour operator does it selects the best places and certainly this luck stop at this meticulous kept facility was perfect.

Great service, good atmosphere, quality food ...we had soup, trout with potatoes and vegetables and a dessert!

It's close to the centre of the town aden certainly would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant based on this experience to anyone.

It was certainly a very good experience for our group.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry V, Gerente at Hotel Donde Ivan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017


Thanks for your valuable comment.
always at the orders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

As part of a Gate1 tour, we stopped at Donde Ivan for lunch. The food and service were very good. I cannot comment on pricing because included in our tour. Everything appeared to be very clean and the food was fresh.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank AnneinVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry V, Gerente at Hotel Donde Ivan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017


Thanks for your valuable comment.
always to order

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

I was extremely disappointed with this hotel. I booked this location in Baños at donde Ivan for the quality that was presented on hostelworld website. It had a high star rating and great reviews. My boyfriend and I booked 4 nights on hostelworld that States on the website $28 per night for 2 people. I payed $25 to hold my reservation. I do not speak very good Spanish but my boyfriend being from Ecuador translated for me. The owner charged me an additional $144 even though the website states the remaining balance including tax was $88. I paid him at the hotel bar/restaurant area and did not receive a receipt. I then reviewed the receipt online in our extremely small room. We reapproached the hotel owner/manager about how much we paid him and he waved us into his reception area to discuss it. I do not speak Spanish but my boyfriend is Ecuadorian so he was arguing with the hotel owner for about five minutes. It didn't seem like the hotel owner was understanding where I was coming from. I asked my boyfriend what he was saying and the hotel owner was requesting me to pay an additional $88! So he wanted almost $220 for 4 nights when the website said a total of $113. The manager was trying to charge $28 per guest even though the website specifically goes by room. I even showed the owner me changing how many people I was with on the website and the prices never changed the room rate. He said the internet was wrong. I told him I wanted to leave. The manager appeared very irritated and he looked like a serial killer. He said I can forget about he $88 I owe him and stay. I walked away flustered and frustrated. Then I realized it doesn't change the fact he has $60 of my money he took additionally and would not give back. I never received any receipt and for me not asking is my fault. Apparently you have to ask at hotels here.

That was the first problem.
Second problem- the beds didn't have e fitted sheets, just random layers of blankets. They didn't look like blankets that could be cleaned easily either. The room was tight and the tv was outdated and extremely fuzzy.

Third- Ivan the owner approached us on our day 3 of 4 saying we owed him more money if we stayed because we stayed 4 nights. My boyfriend again started arguing with him explaining we paid for 4 nights and was only their 3. At that point I was like whatever let's leave. I lost out on over $100 and was cheated out of a night. The breakfast was good, they can have 1 star for that.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

This place seems lovely at first, certainly clean as many of the reviews state. However, it is ruined by the fact that the bars nearby blast music at absurdly loud volumes all night, that if you want to sleep a wink, don't even think about it. Sorry Ivan.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
1 km away
La Casa Amarilla
La Casa Amarilla
#13 of 27 in Banos
43 reviews
0.6 km away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#14 of 27 in Banos
122 reviews
0.6 km away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 27 in Banos
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 27 in Banos
322 reviews
1.6 km away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Donde Ivan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donde Ivan

Address: Eloy Alfaro 10-22 | Espejo, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Banos
Price Range: $72 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Donde Ivan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL WHERE IVAN The Hotel is located in the city of Baños de Agua Santa, 2 blocks from the bus station and 2 blocks from the Sanctuary of the Virgen de Agua Santa. Baños are located at a height of 1800 meters with its natural charm hot springs and beautiful waterfalls, in the foothills of the majestic Tungurahua. In the hotel the service is personalized so where: Attention is a Arts and eat a real treat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Donde Ivan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing