We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped off”
Review of Hotel el Belen

Hotel el Belen
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel el Belen
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Banos
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Unfortunately we didn't have a reservation of a hotel in Baños when we arrived saturday 28.12. at 5 o'clock in the morning and there were no taxis to bring us somewhere, so we choosed the hotel El Belen. The owner charged us 60 dollars for a simple and little room with a "matrimonial" bed. No view or other "special features" which would have justified such a high price. We asked for the gimnasio and the jacuzzi which both were out of orther (she forgot to mention it on their web-site). After a long discussion, the owner gave us 20 dollars back, so we paied 40 dollers for one night in hotel without any special service. Even this is too much!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juan_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our room was comfortable but small. The courtyard is also the parking area, so there was some noise from cars coming and going. The gates are locked at night so we felt safe, and they were prompt to unlock them when we returned to the hotel after dinner.They arranged a couple of trips for us and ensured that arrangements were kept. The location was good, not too far from the town center. There was a dusting of volcano dust overnight, which the owner told us was common. Except that they didn't bother to clean it, leaving our tile floors quite slippery. Otherwise, they were quite accommodating and pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suscri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My mother and I stayed at Hotel Belen for two days. The room was clean. The couple running the place were extremely helpful and friendly. Located in the center of town the hotel is convenient to everything in Banos.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elbelen, Gerente at Hotel el Belen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por sus comentarios.
Esperamos que se hayan sentido a gusto, en el hotel el Belen siempre será un placer atenderles.
Que tengan una feliz estadía en Ecuador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Rooms are nice and clean. Great location close to everything. Good deal - worth the price!!! The staff was super friendly and helpful. Me and my two friends (we all came from Russia) were staying there for four days and we enjoyed it a lot. The host (what a charming lady:) helped us with every question we had. We don't speak spanish but the lady was so patient and attentive to us that we never had a problem understanding each other.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaAnechkaAnyuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elbelen, Gerente at Hotel el Belen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013
Google Translation

Nos complace saber que que su estadía fue muy placentera.
Nuestro lema es siempre estar pendiente de lo que necesitan los huéspedes.
Es un placer atenderles y ayudarles haciendo sugerencias de actividades pque pueden realizar en Baños.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel with a friend during out visit to Banos. It was a great hotel and well worth the price. It's located very near the bus terminal and the main attractions in town. I enjoyed the beauty of the inner courtyard with all the potted flowers and bright colours. The staff were super friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0 km away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#16 of 27 in Banos
109 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#19 of 27 in Banos
40 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Donde Ivan
Hotel Donde Ivan
#20 of 27 in Banos
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Flor de Oriente
Hotel Flor de Oriente
#18 of 27 in Banos
32 reviews
0.6 km away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#14 of 27 in Banos
122 reviews
0.7 km away
La Casa Amarilla
La Casa Amarilla
#13 of 27 in Banos
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Belen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Belen

Address: Oscar Efren Reyes y Ambato, Banos, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Banos
Price Range: $25 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel el Belen 2*
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing