We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cana Limena Hostal(Banos)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
bnb SOHO(Banos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
24
22
6
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
22
6
2
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The owners were extremely accommodating and pleasant. Cant beat the location. This is a clean, budget room with a short walk to shops and some very good restaurants . The Hotel arranged a great tour for all of us.. Super Value for the Money... I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Best to just ask for a quiet room. I had no problem without asking.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lindah00ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

It was affordable and it was a clean place. It was very pretty with all the plants. I liked its location because it was close to many things. The staff was all very nice and helpful. The room was spacious and overall great.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yd09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

After so many hostals this place felt like the Ritz! Simple hotel, sufficiently clean and very affordable. The owner gave us a choice between two rooms that cost the same and if you can, ask for the room with the renewed bathroom that is also much bigger in size.
The only downside for us was trying to find the owner who was almost never at the reception but lived in the hotel so you just have to ring for her. I also advise taking showers early morning or at night because during the day I think they turn off the water, which wasn´t a problem unless you have to use the bathroom!
Big scare one morning when we had an excursion booked at 7:00 am and found the garage door and front desk locked and closed! After snooping around I found the keys but if you have to leave early please warn the owner or else you might lose your trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C-L-forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Although the place does not look like much it is clean and the staff are friendly. We originally booked one night and stayed for three, with the additional nights at the same bargain price as the first. El Belen has a good location, a few blocks from the bus station, in the heart of Banos. The original room had a faulty lock on the window and so we asked for another and we were moved without a fuss. The water was hot at any time of the day we needed to use it. The main gate is locked at night and the porter is quick to answer to let you in after hours. The only minor downside is that all rooms look onto a central courtyard and this can be noisy with people coming in late or leaving early. However, it did not detract from the stay for us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Unfortunately we didn't have a reservation of a hotel in Baños when we arrived saturday 28.12. at 5 o'clock in the morning and there were no taxis to bring us somewhere, so we choosed the hotel El Belen. The owner charged us 60 dollars for a simple and little room with a "matrimonial" bed. No view or other "special features" which would have justified such a high price. We asked for the gimnasio and the jacuzzi which both were out of orther (she forgot to mention it on their web-site). After a long discussion, the owner gave us 20 dollars back, so we paied 40 dollers for one night in hotel without any special service. Even this is too much!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Juan_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews