We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,004)
Filter reviews
1,004 results
Traveller rating
569
310
86
23
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
569
310
86
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convention center the concierge lounge loss prevention front desk within walking distance lobby bar two blocks hotel is beautiful chase field attending a conference business trip comfortable rooms every staff member per day light rail convenient location enjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,004 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

SHOUT-OUT TO TIM the Navigator/Concierge who went out of his way to return my colleague's phone that she left at the concierge desk!!!! Tim walked over 5 blocks trying to get our attention to return her phone. I am beyond impressed at his professionalism and will definitely return to this hotel again when I am back in the area. Woo!! Go Tim!! You are a ROCK STAR!! Stay at this beautiful hotel where the staff will always take great care of their guests!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank JenQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear JenQ,

Thank you for the excellent comments regarding your stay at the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. It was a pleasure to read about the terrific service you received from our staff. This is what we strive to do every day, so thank you for acknowledging our efforts. Your compliments will allow me to thank Tim for a job well done. All of us look forward to having you visit with us again.

Brandy Staab
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Check-in was friendly and efficient, the room was ample in size and the bed very comfortable. Inadvertently left some clothing in the closet when checking out; contacted the hotel’s Lost and Found/Security and was able to return to the Front Desk and retrieve the item several hours after checking out. Much appreciation to Housekeeping, Security, and Front Desk staff for assisting. The Starbucks in the hotel was convenient since it opened at 5:30 a.m. daily. Many restaurants nearby for all times of the day. Within walking distance of Chase Field and Herberger Theater Center. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank aehall7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear aehall7,

Thank you for sharing a nice review of the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. We are delighted to know you were impressed not only with your well-appointed room and our fabulous location, but also with the courteous service provided by our associates. Your recommendation is truly appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Brandy Staab
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

What a wonderful place to stay! We felt so welcomed at the Renaissance! Our room was very clean and well kept. The staff are not only friendly but are also very helpful!

Upon entering, we were greeted by Gordon. Gordon’s smile, warm personality, and laugh are contagious! Not only is he one of the most upbeat people I’ve encountered at a hotel in quite a long time, but he also gave us recommendations for several great restaurants. We did eat at one of these restaurants and we give Gordon the thumbs-up for his recommendation! We encountered Gordon several times during our stay. Every time we were greeted by name, with a smile, and lively conversation. If you need any information on things to do or where to eat, Gordon’s the man to talk to!

While talking with Gordon, we also met Sam who was walking around with a basket filled with complimentary bottled water. Given the heat that day the bottle of water, while a small act of kindness, was welcomed!

The Renaissance is centrally located within walking distance to Comerica and Chase Field. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Durell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear heystella1967,

Thank you for the lovely comments about our service! It is really the staff that makes our hotel stand out. Our team at the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel strives to go above and beyond to welcome and assist all of our guests. Your compliments will allow me to thank Gordon and Sam for doing an exceptional job. Thanks again for mentioning our convenient location, and we look forward to serving you on your next trip to this city!

Brandy Staab
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Because of a convention overbooking I had to stay in the Hyatt one night and the Renaissance the next. At first I was really sad about this but the Renaissance was a much better experience and they are literally right next to each other. Better fitness equipment with TVs on each elliptical. Gym attendant put a towel at each station and making sure the place is clean. Significantly friendlier front desk people. Starbucks in the lobby. Aveda products in the bathroom. More towels and a bathmat.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank MAmama02482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHXBD R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

MAmama02482,
Thank you so much for your review of the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown! Sorry to hear that your trip got off to a rocky start with the convention overbooking, but glad that we were able to provide you with a wonderful experience overall and hopefully turn things around. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of some of our amenities and outlets. If you enjoyed our current fitness center, you'll be happy to know that we are planning on doing some renovations and improvements to the space in the near future. We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Phoenix area.

Kim
Executive Response Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

The room was nice and comfortable. Bed was not too hard, not too soft, sheets were nice and clean. I was a bit taken aback by the Front Desk staff who was a bit lax and unprofessional in their demeanor and unsure of what our rate included - we found out later that since the Marriott/Starwood merger, things were still new and unclear. I may suggest having the new terms printed at the FD for quicker reference, and maybe some further training of guest service standards. Once that was cleared up, everything was fine.

Unfortunately we chose the weekend of a MAJOR country concert - which of course the Hotel can't control, so we just made the best of it. Country fans all over DTPHX! Another unfortunate coincidence was that out of the hotel's four (4) elevators, one was out of order this weekend. Luckily, stairs were available for guests to use. **You do have to go down to the lower level lobby to access the stairs first**.

Ok, NOW for my favorite things. 1) They did an amazing job on their renovation. The hotel is fresh, modern (not in a tacky way either), and maintains their rich Phoenix history that shows throughout the hotel.

Irma - their Navigator (concierge) is amazing. She is a true asset to the hotel. Her knowledge of Downtown Phoenix and the hotel is impeccable. She is patient, kind, professional, down to earth - everything I like my Concierges to be. She hears what her guests are saying and knows exactly what they need. I follow her on Social Media and have attended many of her events. She is a great ambassador for DTPHX and the Renaissance.

Tim (another Navigator) is a great historian for the property as well. He has a strong knowledge of the hotel and area.

Syl at Marston's Cafe was very kind and knowledgeable of the menu. We had a great conversation with her before coming back to have breakfast - we wanted to walk around a bit before eating. We really enjoyed chatting with her.

Sarah A. at the Club was lovely! What a sweet, kind, friendly, bubbly young woman! She was extremely hospitable when we arrived in the Club on Saturday morning (after breakfast). She wanted to make sure we knew all about the Club amenities available to us and even gave us a take away bag to stock up on water and pastries!

Room Tip: Higher floor=city views (we were on 9 and it was great!) Even number room=sunset view, Photo-op in Club of the Hotel's reflection!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AddisonConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear AddisonConcierge,

Thank you for being our guest at the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. We are glad to know that except for a few issues, you had a pleasant stay. It’s great we could provide you with a gratifying experience and we appreciate your recognition. Your compliments will allow me to thank Irma, Tim, Syl, and Sarah for a job well done. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Brandy Staab
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews