We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value, family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
Ranked #43 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at the Pointe Squaw Peak over Easter weekend and really enjoyed our stay. We used to live in Phoenix and specifically chose this place for its location (close to great hiking and mountain biking trails, and close to freeways), and all-suite accommodations. We stayed in an Ambassador Suite, and it was huge! The room looked to have recently been remodeled, and was fresh and modern, with a very comfortable King bed in the oversized bedroom. Our little boy slept comfortably on the pull-out couch in the living room.

The only thing I didn't care for too much was how crowded the pools and water park were. There were no available lounge chairs at any pool, and what's worse, people weren't even sitting in them! They simply put their towel on the chairs and then left, perhaps to go down the lazy river or the slides. My 5 year-old enjoyed himself nonetheless, and that's what's important. This resort is a great value, and I would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank mh111606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,725 - 2,729 of 3,574 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Casita was v nice. Clean and modern esp the bathrooms/kitchen. Housekeeping (Carmen Almuina) was prob the best ive come across. She kept the place immaculate. If we were still in the room, she would come back when we asked her to (while we were out) & always came back to a very clean room. She'd fix my daughters stuffed animals on the bed and would leave us extra coffee and bath items we requested. Parking space was 2 steps out the back door,,excel! 2 nice flat screen TV's! Beds-Hilton VG quality. I asked for down pillows in my reservation & thats what we received++ Internet in room service is terrible! I learned this is a common problem with their internet provider. Front desk did not charge me however id rather pay and get usable service. TV channel selection is good but it would be nice if they had the Disney Channel (what most kids like to watch). Casita's are in great location, close, convenient & private. Room service was VG.. quality & service!
Pool area was very good. Miniature golf very nice and reasonable, Poolside food & drink service was very good! The area around the pool does seem to get a little messy from people leave & their cups, napkins etc which appears NOT get cleaned probably until the end of the day. More than once it took awhile to find some chairs o/a of this reason. The water slide was VG + great supervision watching over it. The lazy river was very nice! I do suggest the Hilton purchase some larger tubes. Grown men cannot sit in the tubes they provide. Most men were walking or hangin on going around the river. The Westin@ kierland commons has the large tubes so I know they are out there.
Excellent restaurant nearby: Dicks hideaway. Not the larger one but the small one next to Lucy's on 16th & bethany..excellent!
Front desk Sam was very helpful & polite. Clarese at check-in was wonderful! Mike the maintenance guy was so nice & helpful, Jason the shuttle driver was very kind and helpful.. & last but certainly not least was Ruben at the front door. This young man Ruben helped us w our bags and drove us to our casita. He gave us a little tour along the way. Inside the casita he brought our bags upstairs and was so so polite and helpful. We saw him a few times throughout our trip and each time he was as nice as the time before. Obviously he loves people and he loves his job. His professional, kind & helpful nature got our vacation off to a great start!
We will be comming back to the hilton pointe squaw soon

Room Tip: The Hotel shuttle will take you within 1+ mile of property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geronimo248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We aimed for the best deal in town that had a water park with a lazy river, as Hilton calls it. This one certainly did not disappoint. They have not only the lazy river, but a large main pool, a sport (lap/volleyball,basketball) pool, a children's pool, a large water slide, and a jacuzzi in the water park ('River Ranch'), not to mention other pools and jacuzzis nearer the rooms. We enjoyed the miniature golf as well. They have other facilities, e.g. tennis courts, but I can't really comment on those not having used them. I can't really complain about the optional $2.25 resort fee after pricing out a cross town rival's $40 per day mandatory fee on top of higher base prices. Food prices were a tad bit high, but this is a resort, not a basic hotel. As far as resorts go, this one seemed like one of the best deals for the money for a romantic getaway. Much of their waterpark was catered to children and it looked like a great place for families as well.

Room Tip: If I was traveling by myself, I would have been content with the king studio. However, the queen su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Curious88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We booked using Hilton Honors points to stay in a King Casita. It cost 106,785 per night. Upon our arrival, we were told that there wasn't a casita available due to a plumbing mishap, so we stayed in a King suite. Having stayed in both a "regular" room and a Casita, we were more comfortable in the casita. I would say, however, I'm not sure it was worth all those points!

Pools - the main pool area is very crowded. People line up just before 9:00 to "save" a lounger with a towel. Frankly, we enjoyed the smaller pools scattered amongst the property more. They were less crowded and closer to our room/Casita.

Dreamy Draw Trails - My husband and I are runners and we enjoyed the easy accesse (about 1 mile) to these trails. Our last morning we drove there and did a hike with the kids (ages 3 and 7).

Fitness Center - visited once and it was really warm inside...could have used better ventilation.

Room Tip: Some have suggested the Casitas - I wouldn't discourage them, but keep in mind you won't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Nice surprise to have the reception give us a complementary upgrade. The pool is fun for kids and adults. Gets busy on summer weekends. Rooms are nice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flag_AZ_Snow_Country
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
#77 of 174 in Phoenix
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort

Address: 7677 North 16th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020-4434
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#8 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#39 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#42 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $243 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the slopes of the Phoenix North Mountains with a Spanish-Mediterranean design, the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort offers one of the most unique Southwestern experiences in the country. Located on 27 acres, the property is bordered by 3,000 acres of scenic Sonoran desert in the adjacent mountain preserve and features 563 all-suite accommodations, including nearly 80 large casitas. The Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, known for its family-friendly experience, offers several outdoor activities and features the River Ranch with four acres of shimmering pools, cascading waterfalls, tennis and basketball courts and the Coyote Camp, the resort's lively kids' center. Additional highlights include unique dining experiences at Rico's American Grill and Hole-in-the-Wall, and luxurious services at its fitness centre and Tocasierra Spa and Salon. The Resort is also proud to announce the completion of - Rejuvenated Meeting Space and the New Agave Suites at North Pointe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Phoenix
Squaw Peak Resort
Phoenix Hilton
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing