We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, beautiful room and views.”
Review of Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Pinon Pointe
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel. It is a timeshare type hotel. From what I understand, people own these rooms and they are rented out on a nightly basis when the owners are not there. It still seemed like a hotel to us, besides being asked if we wanted to participate in a timeshare talk that they do. We did not feel pushed to do this and we did not do it. The only thing we noticed was that if you are on the second floor, you had to carry your suitcases up stairs. Keep in mind too that Sedona has a low-light ordinance, so they give you flashlights to carry around at night outdoors, as the lighting is very low.
The GOOD: The room was absolutely incredible! We stayed in a one-bedroom and it felt like we had rented our own little house for the weekend! It has a kitchen, living room, huge bathroom, and separate bedroom, and a deep jetted tub. There was a fireplace in the living room and a t.v. in the living room and bedroom. There was laundry right in the room and they even provided detergent! It was wonderful. The pool is also gorgeous with two hot tubs, an outdoor fireplace, and beautiful red rock views.
The BAD: I called the main hotel number several times as I was trying to book our room. They kept transferring me to the main 1-800 Hyatt number. This is frustrating as I have found that you need to talk to any hotel directly when making certain requests. However, I was not able to do this. So, reluctantly, I booked it through the main Hyatt line. The girl I talked to assured me there would be a red rock view in our room, saying that all the rooms at that property had red rock views. When we arrived, we went to the room and had a view of a cement walkway. No red rock view. We went to the staff and the manager told us he could move us the next night. We were upset but accepted this. Well, the next day we went to check on moving and were told by a different manager that we would be charged $50 for a cleaning fee. To make a long story short, we argued with them for quite a while and finally suggested to them that they make us pay the $50 cleaning fee (they said they had to answer to a housing board) and credit that $50 to our room. They did this. We were unimpressed that we had to argue the point for so long. They even admitted that they have this trouble often with their booking process. So, the outcome was good but it was a lot of stress and wasted time on our part trying to get it straightened out.
So, if you are booking this hotel, make sure you try your absolute best to book it through the hotel. I don't know if you'll be able to, but don't believe that any request you make through the main Hyatt number will be honored.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayes17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 570 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

WE love all the Hyatt properties but Pinon Point took the cake! We stayed at Hyatt Windward pointe in Key West last year and wanted to stay again on this trip to Sedona. The property was exquisite , the rooms were perfectly appointed, the bed was sumptuous and the staff was more than friendly and professional. The pool was so beautiful and the view of the mountains while swimming was incredible. The ladies locker room and the workout facility gave you the "private club" feeling and made me look forward to the treadmill each morning. I did not want to ever leave. Very convenient to all restaurants and shopping . Definitely one of the finest hotels that i have ever experienced.

Room Tip: The studio units are more than comfortable for a couple and the patios are just lovely for "al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookiechiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Loved the layout of the Hyatt, not your typical hotel plan. Rooms were elegant. felt right at home. Loved the shared rooms, easy access to ajoining room. Great views, wonderful patio. Very clean and high tech

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmogglg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We enjoyed a 2 bedroom unit for an entire week with a gorgeous view onto the red-rock mountains. This resort is one of the best we ever had the privilege for a time-share exchange.
Everything was just great, the spacious units, the utilities etc.. They did think of everything to make your stay most enjoyable. Best of all was the resorts most friendly staff. Restaurants and shops are across the street on the property.
Pool is a quiet area. Luckily no swim-up bar and therefore no aggravating noises.
Like to go back whenever we will have a chance.

Room Tip: Get a one bedroom unit with a living room, kitchen and balcony. Studios are dark and small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebsamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This is a hotel but first and foremost it is a timeshare. This is our timeshare and the closest one of the Hyatt properties to our house so we visit it at least twice a year. It is in a wonderful location, very close to upper Sedona. You will need to drive to the grocery stores but it is only a couple of miles. The resort has a very nice gym and a wonderful steam room located in the locker room. The pool is gorgeous and the views amazing. The one bedroom rooms are the best bet that way you get the jacuzzi tub, awesome shower, fireplace, balcony (most with great views) and full kitchen. Even a washer and dryer. The food in Sedona is definently at resort prices even at lunch time so it is nice to have the option of having a full kitchen and doing some of the cooking. Great if you are going hiking and need to pack a picnic lunch or are traveling with children. The staff is very friendly and helpful, full of knowledge. I would recommend this resort for anyone looking to get away to a beautiful location and have all of the amenities of home and then some.

Room Tip: Try the new phase for updated rooms but some of the older rooms have great views and are more center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mstiffanygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.3 km away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.4 km away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 49 in Sedona
984 reviews
1.7 km away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
0.5 km away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Pinon Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Address: 1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#10 Family Hotel in Sedona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $230 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Pinon Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Pinon Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Pinon Pointe Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Pinon Pointe
Sedona Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing