We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing all around experience”
Review of The Dhaba

The Dhaba
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dhaba is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 870 Restaurants in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The embodiment of food in the spirit of the nation is an integral part of its identity. Our Dhaba is the embodiment of Punjabi food and Punjab - a state that has been the envy of the nation (India). In India and Pakistan, highways are dotted with local restaurants popularly known as 'Dhabas', providing local cuisine and serving as stops for truck drivers. Dhabas are traditionally characterized by casual seating on cots (called chaarpai in Hindi) and food prepared in clay ovens (tandoor). Over time Dhabas have come to define a culture, centered on food. Real Punjabi has been influenced by the diverse culinary cultures of Persia, Afghanistan and Central Asia. Punjab provided a conduit to caravans from Bukhara, Kabul & Kashmir. The wonderful frontier foods intertwined with the rich stream of Hindu, Sikh, Pathan, Muslim and Kashmiri migrants enriched the Punjabi cuisine. Our Dhaba food is non monolithic. It's simple. It's rich. It's robust. It's diverse. Please join our chefs and staff to explore real food prepared by real people.
Reviewed 7 May 2016

We had a dinner meeting at this place. Everyone enjoyed the food. We had amazing help from our hostess who gave great recommendation.

We had a vegan co-worker and he was thrilled with the information on the menu. We all enjoyed the food and ambiance.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raveen D, Owner at The Dhaba, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Thanks for the fantastic review, Lisa! We are happy to hear our staff was very welcoming and everyone enjoyed their food. We hope you will visit us again for another dinner meeting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2016

if you are in Arizona and craving for Indian food, this is the best option you have.

good hospitality and good food

Thank Gunja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raveen D, Owner at The Dhaba, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Thanks for the kind words, Gunja! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016

They've got an enormous menu with choices for everyone. We ordered mild and got some pretty well-spiced dished. Delish, and with great intensity. We felt it was a bit pricey for lunch, and they sadly do not have a kid's menu, but the food and service were very good - some highlights...

Nan - perfectly cooked with great char
Chicken Tika Masala - excellent complex flavors (our favorite of the meal)
Lamb Curry - ordered medium, which means spicy, but very tasty
Okra - dry fried with perfectly camamelized onions

They also have an Indian grocery and shop next door, and extra parking in the back too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ColoradoBeerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raveen D, Owner at The Dhaba, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your food. We can't wait to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

My daughter and I took a taxi from our hotel to The Dhaba. We arrived at 8pm. Less than a quarter of the tables were occupied and they were open until 9:30. We were told that they were not seating anyone who did not have reservations. I explained that we were dropped off and were staying in a hotel. The hostess apologized, but we will still turned away. As we were leaving, others were entering The Dhaba and being seated.

2  Thank Pam7800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

I have never been disappointed by anything I've ordered here. Everything is fresh and full of flavor. A great selection of dishes and the staff is very helpful in guiding your choices if you don't know what to try. Consistently great!

Thank G0ldNGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dhaba also viewed

Tempe, Central Arizona
 
Tempe, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Dhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing