We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villas Alturas
Nearby Hotels
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical(Dominical)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfall Villas(Dominical)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villas Rio Mar(Dominical)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cuna del Angel(Dominical)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Diuwak(Dominical)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roca Verde(Dominical)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rio Lindo Resort(Dominical)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergue Alma de Hatillo(Dominical)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
384
59
10
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
59
10
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswildlife sanctuarybedroom villacosta ricaamazing viewsfull kitchenrocking chairspool areapizza nightwhale tailfront porchwhite faced monkeysview of the oceanevery morningrental carshort driveliving areathree nights
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Upon approach and even arrival to Villas Alturas we thought we’d made a mistake in booking a villa for two nights for our six person family. It’s slightly out of town (if you can call Dominical a town) and the driveway is steep, gravel and long. The concierge, Maria, was friendly and after taking the remainder of our payment, showed us to our room. We were instantly satisfied. The villa was beautiful and the view of he pacific was breathtaking (we were in Villa 2 which I highly recommend). The staff was friendly and professional and relaxed. Cocktails were superb, breakfast was the best we had in Costa Rica. Dinner was also among our best meals. If you haven’t been to Dominical, know that being close to town is not important. Villas Alturas is convenient to all three beaches and just being at the property you a purely joyous. This was the best value we found in CR. I can’t imagine a better option.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas R, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very happy that we could meet all your expectations and that you enjoyed your time here. From the team at Villas Alturas we thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Easy to find just off the main highway up a long steep gravelly drive. Absolutely stunning views of the coast with a small, very warm swimming pool, sun terrace and comfy sunbeds.
The room was large with a great terrace over looking the bay and a small piece of jungle..We had room 7. It was a little tired and the bathroom could really do with being updated with a cracked mirror and pathetic shower. The kitchen looked good but lacked utensils but the fridge worked well. I requested a kettle and they said I could borrow one but they needed it back for breakfast!!!! On the terrace were some nice rocking chairs and it smelt beautiful from the ylang-ylang tree which the toucans also found very attractive but one of the fans didn't work and a maintainent man looked at it briefly and swiftly gave up!
The sanctuary was a really nice addition with the staff being very enthusiastic and informed.
The menu was limited to fish and vegetarian dishes both of which my husband doesn't eat. This had not been pointed out at the time of booking which was frustrating but luckily there are some nice restaurants close by. Overall, i would say this property is living off its stunning location but we enjoyed our 3 days stay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas R, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and comments. We always ask our guest to please let us know if there is anything we can do to improve your stay. As soon as we received your review the shower head was replace, capacitor in fan replaced and an inspection of kitchen utensils preformed in all of the Villas.
As a supporter of the wildlife and environment we have made the choice to limit the animal product we serve at the restaurant. We understand that this may not be to everyone's taste and will always recommend local restaurants that serve different choices. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Private clifftop bungalows over looking the ocean, Scenic views, very comfortable cabins, great staff. Excellent breakfasts provided. The dining room option was very good, but pricey. Conveniently located near the Wild Life Sanctuary.
Suggestion: cover the pool with a canopy to keep the pool temperature cooler.

Room Tip: We liked room 5.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunOnTheWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas R, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments and for staying with us at Villas Alturas. We understand that the pool temperature can become warm during the summer and have looked at a few options that we may try next summer. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed for two weeks last summer with friends. Such an amazing place to stay with the best staff ever that really made us feel at home. Definitely a place you should stay at! The food was outstanding. Loved the fruit bowls for breakfast. The location is very good and close to everything around town.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank mady246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas R, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We really appreciate you staying with us for so long. Our staff works very hard to make each guest feel at home. Thank you from all of us at Villas Alturas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed just one night but we will forever remember the views. Villa was very specious and bathroom is absolutely huge. Staff is more than friendly and welcoming. Food in the restaurant (dinner and breakfast) was very tasty and little different than regular Costa Rican food. The reason for 4 stars - it was quite expensive. Dinner for 3, no appetizers and just two mojitos was $110. But this is a “boutique hotel” in the best sense.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Bosnian1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas R, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and comments. We try our best to keep costs down but are obligated to 23% tax and service fee. We appreciate all your comments and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews