We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Villas Alturas(Dominical)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn(Dominical)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cuna del Angel(Dominical)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfall Villas(Dominical)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical(Dominical)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rio Lindo Resort(Dominical)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tree of Life Cabinas(Dominical)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cool Vibes Beach Hostel(Dominical)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Albergue Alma de Hatillo(Dominical)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (684)
Filter reviews
684 results
Traveller rating
335
249
65
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
249
65
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig poolbeautiful groundstennis courtslarge riverjunior suitemaintained poolpool barmosquito nettingtypical costa rican breakfastrooms are nicestandard roomenjoyed our stayrice and beanssitting areagreat poolsurrounded by naturemini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 684 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

I can't recommend this hotel enough, arriving along the dirt track road, along side the Rio Baru, I felt instantly at home.

The staff were all amazing, from the welcome to the little personal touches.

The scent as you walk through the gardens, alongside Iguanas, listening to the sound of many the birds flying about as you walk to your room, perfectly in keeping with nature but also close enough to explore be it Playa Dominical or Uvita, Ballena, Hacienda Baru or the Nauyaca Falls - as tempting as it is to stay put, you need to explore this area and here is where you should stay. A car helps but I can vouch that feet, buses and taxis also work.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Andrey C, Director de Recepción at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi dear Sue, thanks a lot for your review, we appreciate a lot your recommendations!!

Thank you very much for recognizing our team work on making your stay with Villas Rio Mar this great, we have a great location that keeps most of the best places close enough but also separated enough as well to feel relaxed and absorbed by nature, not in the middle of the village.

If your plans are coming back to Dominical, please do not forget to visit us again, we would love to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Every employee we came in contact with was very friendly, helpful & accommodating. Our rooms were very clean & comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay here. We would definitely stay here again at this fabulous find.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank glassmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Andrey C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Hi dear Michelle, thanks a lot for such a great and lovely review.

We are all so happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Villas Rio Mar and we would love to say thank you for letting us be part of your trip, and give us the chance to show you that we love to make our guest feel as if they were with friends, that are always willing to help and friendly, we are looking to be more than just another hotel of the area, we want to be friends of our guest and always leave them with the wish of coming back, we are so happy to see that we made it right with you and would love to see you again, hosting you will be more than an honor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Actually this is nice place. With nice garden and nice park for the ones who want to take time to walk there.
The lodges are nice. Restaurant is ok. Swimingpoon is nice and big for the ones who do not want to afford to go to beautiful beaches at 20 km from there. Of course better with car...
But....
Our lodge was not clean and even if they tried to make it clean this was not enough.
For such place you expect higher level.
Puty because if not it was nice place. Very quite and far from road.
Please teach team how to clean correctly rooms and bathrooms...

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Claude-Zhanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Andrey C, Director de Recepción at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Hi Claude-Zhanar,

Thank you very much for your personal review of your recent stay at Villas Rio Mar, we really appreciate feedback and it is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay, it is highly appreciated what you mention about our gardens, pool restaurant and hotel in general but I am so sorry to know that your personal opinion about cleanness turned your mind into a mostly negative review.

We greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room such as cleanness that need to be updated, our team efforts to please our guests on everything they require and it is at our hands, sadly it did not meet your expectations, at this point we are always open to do something extra to change your mind, sadly you did not mention your disconformity after all and we could not help you more, our staff does a great job and we all learn every day, please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by the management team at the hotel. I hope that I can convince you to change your mind about another visit to our property. Please reach out to me directly at asistente@villasriomar.com if you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around.

It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our hotel again and make sure all about your stay will be a 5-star class.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Very good hotel. The hotel is quiet, clean, tidy. A lot of flowers. Many animals and birds. Very clean and comfortable pool and good Breakfast. This hotel is worth the money. If I am in these parts-will definitely spend the night here. Recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ольга Ш
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Andrey C, Director de Recepción at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Hi dear traveler,

We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel this much! Thank you for letting us and other T.A. readers, know!

One of our best features as you say is the flora and fauna we are blessed to have here, surrounded by truly nature, the great Baru river just in front, and Dominical beach just a few minutes away brings us lots of great benefits, making out hotel quiet, calm and a great option to relax.

Many thanks for giving us the opportunity to host you and please feel free to return as many times as you want! we would love to see you again here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We enjoyed our stay at Villas Rio Mar very much. The staff being so warm and friendly made our stay exceptional! We booked the standard room which was a little small but adequate for two people and a good value at the green season price. The bathroom was actually a very nice size. We found the bed to be very comfy and we loved the porch during a downpour. We also loved walking around the property, smelling the flowers and swimming in the pool. The pool is actually quite large with a nice water temperature. The open air restaurant is very pretty too.

No place is perfect and don't expect a 5 star resort unless you are paying for that. Some of the concrete around the resort is showing some age, but it was a non issue for us. The less than ideal things for us in the room was the occasional rattling of the air conditioner and that there were some tiny ants. I think they only were there because I had cough drops in my bag. Also, be aware that in most of Dominical and some other parts of Costa Rica, they ask that toilet paper not be flushed down the toilet. The breakfast buffet is included in the price, but I wasn't overly happy with it. The fruit, rice and beans were very good, but the eggs and juice were disappointing. Maybe they should offer, for a small fee, made to order meals and fresh squeezed juice as well. The lunch and dinners were ok, except the meat in my fajita(?) meal was rather hard to chew, so I didn't eat it. We didn't like our cocktails either. Last, I would've preferred to hear the sounds of the rain forest rather than the music that played. We don't expect perfection so we were happy despite these things.

We enjoyed being able to walk to the town via the dirt/rock road next to the river and were happily surprised by how cute the town was. The roads aren't paved so it felt more like a relaxed authentic Costa Rican town. We found the path to be lit well enough at night but used our phone for a couple small steps where it was darker. The town has many nice restaurants. We especially liked Fuego's for happy hour and wished we'd had more days there to try more of the restaurants. The highlight of our trip was horseback riding to Naucaya Falls which Jose arranged for us. The beach of Dominical is wonderful for surfing but is full of large river rocks that is unique but not very pretty. You can swim a little but wearing water shoes is helpful.

All in all, we would love to return!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dbldecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Andrey C, Director de Recepción at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Hi dear traveler,

Grettings from your friends of Villas Rio Mar, I do not where to start answering this wounderfull review, the way you described your stay is just amazing and saying thanks is not enough, you really made me trasport my mind while I was reading all of what you lived at our Hotel and think of it very well detailed.
It is truly appreciated that your are mentioning both good things on a really nice way and negative aspects on such a better way, lettings us and others readers know that in fact, no place is perfect but somethings things are based more on personal opinions, so now I would love to answer back to you saying that we are located on deep mountain, just in front of the great Baru river, Dominical Beach just a few minutes away, and the Tapirs Path Biological Corridor at our back, this brings us lots of beautiful flora and fauna, and yes, some small insects sometimes, but you can keep them away closing your door, that’s why we also have a great terrace, to enjoy the gardens from a different point of view at the outside of your room, but always comfortable and relaxed, about our breakfast, I am so happy to tell you we are currently working on new upgrades that we hope will make a huge difference on this, hope you will be back soon to see it by yourself, but is also important to remark that our breakfast is a courtesy when you book our hotel, and we can always prepare eggs on different ways, you just have to ask for it , we love to make everything that is possible to make our guest happy and please all the needs you might have.

Dominical Village has great things to offer, I am really happy to see that had enough time to discover some of those them, but as you mention, you always need more time, so that’s another reason to come back, I would love to help you again to plan more trips like Nauyaca, there are lots more of things to do arround and I am sure you will love to discover it by yourself.

Please remember that now you have a second house here at Costa Rica, and we would love to see you again and help you to have a great adventure again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews