We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Jungle Immersion”
Review of Bella Vista Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bella Vista Lodge
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We arrived in Dominical in the evening. After a 10 minute 4-wheel drive up hill, across three rivers, we arrived at Bella Vista. We were greeted by two friendly dogs and two cuddly cats who led us up to the main lodge. Bert and Charlie were amazing hosts and an excellent chefs, preparing gourmet dinners for us every night. We met the other guest that evening and ended up making lots of plans in the area. We were only planning on staying 2 nights, but ended up stayed the whole week. During our time in Dominical we went surfing, horseback riding, water falling, hiking, beaching eating and dancing. It was amazing. I would love to return not only for the views and sounds of the jungle, but to visit all of our new friends!

Room Tip: If you are looking to socialize with other travelers, stay in the main lodge. If you are looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

My 3 nights at the Bella Vista Lodge was the highlight of my Costa Rica trip. I stayed in the Lodge (there are 2 cabins as well). The lodge is a social place with a pretty open design, so don't expect to lock yourself away in your private room. Expect to socialize and party and make yourself at home. Bert, the owner, will cook for you (family style) every night, and the food is awesome. There is a well stocked bar right there, and an extremely casual vibe with the best ocean view in Costa Rica. Bert is the coolest dude ever, and will totally take care of you. He lined me up with a local guy who took me surfing and spearfishing, and all in all, it was a pretty awesome time. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: If you have kids or want privacy, take the cabins. If you want to meet people or socialize, take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rs_redding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My friend and I were looking for a spot to explore Costa Rica where we'd have access to local culture and activities, without sacrificing a few western comforts. Bella Vista and the Dominical area was perfect. The Lodge is paradise. Bert is the most gracious host who will make you feel like the Lodge is your home. He'll set you up with incredible local activities. An unforgettable horse back ride thru a jungle valley is not to missed. Nor the surf lessons - beginners welcome - from a local surf legend. Bert's also a great chef and will cook up terrific dinners, or you can venture into the resto's in the surrounding area. The Lodge also seems to attract some of the coolest people I've met anywhere. Everyone gets to be friends real quick: guests, locals, and ex-pats. It's really a special place. As others have mentioned, you should definitely get a four wheel. You'll want the freedom to go up and down the mountain and explore the surrounding area at will. And if you need more space and/or want some added tranquility check out one of the cabins which are situated separate from the main Lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttkup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Bella Vista Lodge WAY exceeded my expectation and Bert is the nicest person to meet. The personal service was great, the location was perfect and the view is FANTASTIC. 5 minutes from the beach, but still high enough to be comfortable day and night. I will defintely be going back!

Ken Wells
Calle LIles de Poas

Room Tip: The cabina is my favorite, a little more private and a view of the ocean from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken_Wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

If you're reading this review then there's really no reason to continue searching for other places to stay, just click reserve and be prepared for an amazing experience. Bella Vista is nestled a short drive up from the beach in the middle of a clearing in the rainforest. Usually things that sound to good to be true are just that, but Bella Vista breaks the rule. Aside from the scenery, Bert offers a full service experience. And by "full service" I mean he'll make sure you have amazing food morning, noon, and night; he'll hook you up with the people who run the best activities from surfing to horseback riding; and he'll make sure your cup is never empty while enjoying the beautiful environs of the lodge. Perhaps the best part about the lodge, however, is meeting the other people wise enough (and lucky enough) to book their stay with Bert. It is next to impossible not to make friends for life (or at least the duration of your trip) while staying there. One recommendation though, if you are looking for a bit of respite from late night music and conversation, book one of the cabins instead of the rooms.

Bert, I had a blast and can't wait to reunite with the crew!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoleDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.0 km away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
593 reviews
0.0 km away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.0 km away
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Hotel Cuna del Angel
#2 of 14 in Dominical
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
421 reviews
0.0 km away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
100 reviews
0.0 km away
Cabinas La Parcela
Cabinas La Parcela
#10 of 12 in Dominical
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Lodge

Address: Escaleras Road | Dominical Escaleras Al Frente de la Plaza de Futbol, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Dominical
Price Range: $61 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Lodge is perched 1200 feet above Dominical with panoramic Pacific coastal views of Manuel Antonio to the north and the Osa Peninsula to the south. There are 4 guest rooms with private baths in the Lodge as well as the dining deck. Cabins are also available equipped with small kitchens as well as private decks. A truly authentic Costa Rica experience! Horseback riding to Nauyaca Waterfalls, white-water rafting, surfing, sport fishing, hiking, zip lining, birdwatching, whale watching, scuba and snorkeling--all within minutes away. Restaurant by reservation only. Fresh ingredients are gathered at the local markets -- fresh, fresh, fresh. Groups welcome! Family reunions, weddings, photo, music, cooking, and art seminars, yoga/spa/massage, and birdwatchers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing