We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bella Vista Lodge
Nearby Hotels
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical(Dominical)(Great Value!)
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Rio Mar(Dominical)(Great Value!)
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Alturas(Dominical)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Diuwak(Dominical)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfall Villas(Dominical)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cuna del Angel(Dominical)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roca Verde(Dominical)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rio Lindo Resort(Dominical)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
71
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
8
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My 3 nights at the Bella Vista Lodge was the highlight of my Costa Rica trip. I stayed in the Lodge (there are 2 cabins as well). The lodge is a social place with a pretty open design, so don't expect to lock yourself away in your private room. Expect to socialize and party and make yourself at home. Bert, the owner, will cook for you (family style) every night, and the food is awesome. There is a well stocked bar right there, and an extremely casual vibe with the best ocean view in Costa Rica. Bert is the coolest dude ever, and will totally take care of you. He lined me up with a local guy who took me surfing and spearfishing, and all in all, it was a pretty awesome time. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: If you have kids or want privacy, take the cabins. If you want to meet people or socialize, take the lodge.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rs_redding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My friend and I were looking for a spot to explore Costa Rica where we'd have access to local culture and activities, without sacrificing a few western comforts. Bella Vista and the Dominical area was perfect. The Lodge is paradise. Bert is the most gracious host who will make you feel like the Lodge is your home. He'll set you up with incredible local activities. An unforgettable horse back ride thru a jungle valley is not to missed. Nor the surf lessons - beginners welcome - from a local surf legend. Bert's also a great chef and will cook up terrific dinners, or you can venture into the resto's in the surrounding area. The Lodge also seems to attract some of the coolest people I've met anywhere. Everyone gets to be friends real quick: guests, locals, and ex-pats. It's really a special place. As others have mentioned, you should definitely get a four wheel. You'll want the freedom to go up and down the mountain and explore the surrounding area at will. And if you need more space and/or want some added tranquility check out one of the cabins which are situated separate from the main Lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttkup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Bella Vista Lodge WAY exceeded my expectation and Bert is the nicest person to meet. The personal service was great, the location was perfect and the view is FANTASTIC. 5 minutes from the beach, but still high enough to be comfortable day and night. I will defintely be going back!

Ken Wells
Calle LIles de Poas

Room Tip: The cabina is my favorite, a little more private and a view of the ocean from the balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken_Wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

If you're reading this review then there's really no reason to continue searching for other places to stay, just click reserve and be prepared for an amazing experience. Bella Vista is nestled a short drive up from the beach in the middle of a clearing in the rainforest. Usually things that sound to good to be true are just that, but Bella Vista breaks the rule. Aside from the scenery, Bert offers a full service experience. And by "full service" I mean he'll make sure you have amazing food morning, noon, and night; he'll hook you up with the people who run the best activities from surfing to horseback riding; and he'll make sure your cup is never empty while enjoying the beautiful environs of the lodge. Perhaps the best part about the lodge, however, is meeting the other people wise enough (and lucky enough) to book their stay with Bert. It is next to impossible not to make friends for life (or at least the duration of your trip) while staying there. One recommendation though, if you are looking for a bit of respite from late night music and conversation, book one of the cabins instead of the rooms.

Bert, I had a blast and can't wait to reunite with the crew!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoleDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Absolutely one of the best locations with the most accommodating staff a worldly traveler could wish for. Bert and his staff treated me and my son with the utmost in professionalism and courtesy. I can't say enough about how great the meals were or about the absolutely stunning picturesque views worthy of any magazine cover. I will actively seek to revisit Bella Vista in the near future and I strongly recommend this lodge to all friends and family that wish to visit the Domical Costa Rica area. Thanks guys I had a great time.
Ken Russell

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krussken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews