We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
365
45
12
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
45
12
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honeymoon suite other guests cano island costa rica rio claro host david both directions private beach main building scarlet macaws hill overlooking the ocean coastal trail night tour beach landing an adventure night walk spent nights
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We had a wonderful and relaxing time during our stay at Las Caletas. First, I would like to say that we had no worries at all. We booked our trip and the communication leading up to our stay was fast and easy. We flew into Drake Bay and our driver was waiting for us when we got off the plane. He drove us to the shore where a water taxi was waiting for us. When we arrived at Las Caletas, Jose the guide, was waiting for us. He helped us with our luggage and directed us to the lodge where lunch was waiting for us. We loved our entire stay here. We are vegetarians and they accommodated this with delicious meals. The beaches outside of the lodge are beautiful and isolated. My husband and I spent a lot of time just enjoying the peacefulness of the surroundings. We also took several tours. We did the zip lining, hiking in Corcovado, and snorkeling at Isla del Cano. All were arranged by the Caletas staff. David and the staff members were helpful and friendly. Yet, we never felt bothered and enjoyed plenty of time to just ourselves. We didn't use the internet there. We also didn't miss air conditioning or TV and didn't need the mosquito netting on the beds. This is not a place for someone looking for a "typical" beach resort with lots of parties and ammenities. It is quiet and laid back. There is nothing to buy there and no one selling anything. Make sure you remember to bring sun screen and toiletries because you probably won't be able to buy it there. Caletas provided plenty of food and snacks for us, however, if you are a big eater you may want to bring additional snacks because there are no stores.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sworldtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We just stayed 5 nights at Las Caletas and overall we have to say, that it is a little too basic for what you pay. Before we booked we read all the good reviews and were a little disappointed. We did stay in the most expensive room though: the shower did not even have a shower head, the pillows and the mattress were really bad and smelly. The food (lunch and dinner) is excellent, the breakfast though is lacking some variety. In all the places we stayed in Costa Rica we never had to pay a surcharge for paying with credit card. Las Caletas is charging a 3.5% surcharge. I don't think that this is appropriate considering that the rates are quite high. Overall, we had a really nice stay and the location is just great.! Would we stay there again...? I am not really sure...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HPConny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

My wife and I just returned from our two week Osa adventure and decided to spend our last 5 nights at Las Caletas. We arrived by boat and felt welcomed as soon as we landed. The ground keepers offered to carry our bags up to the hotel which sits on a great lookout over the ocean which comes into view as you take the last few steps up. Jose, the knowledgeable tour guide, greeted us and was very friendly and showed us around the grounds.

We stayed in one of the two tents and I must say that the older photo shown on this site of the tents doesn't give them justice, check out our newly posted photos. These tents were awesome. Very clean, lots of space and shelving to put your belongings on, two beach chairs out front on your own spacious platform. There was a great breeze that flowed through at night, no fan was necessary, we slept like babies. The shared washroom, only a few feet from the tent, wasn't a problem because it is only shared between two tents and we never felt like we had to wait to use it. Also, because the tent zippers closed, we had no insects inside the tent.

The main trail along the coast that runs from Drake Bay to Corcovado park is easily accessible from this lodge. We walked along this stretch a few times to Rio Claro (note that this is a different Rio Claro than the one near Sirena-there are 2 Rio Claro’s in the Osa) and Josecito beach. It would take us 1-2 hours to get there, depending on what animals we spotted (Capuchin and Spider monkeys, macaws and other birds, Basilisk and Anole lizards, and such beautiful forest). We felt that we didn’t have quite enough time to relax at Josecito beach and if you want a relaxing day, you should get the hotel to pack you a lunch. Apparently at Rio Claro, you can get a ride to the waterfall by canoe for $10 per person. We did not do this but another traveler told us that you follow the signs for the canoe, then you whistle and a guy will ferry you to the waterfall.

The property is lovely, lots of flower trees that attract numerous hummingbirds and larger trees which we spotted more variety of birds than in the jungle. The toucan was heard every morning and spotted occasionally as well as macaws flying overhead as we lounged in the afternoon. Our favourite spot to hang out after breakfast was the front section of the property which sits at a hundred feet or more above the ocean, offering a great view of Drake Bay. There are plenty of comfortable chairs to sit on and my favourite was the hammock which was always available despite the many guests.

The meals were great! A large buffet -style breakfast was served from 6:30am to 8am, including fresh fruits, eggs, toast, pinto, pancakes, cheese and sliced meats. There was tasty coffee and orange juice as well. Lunch was at 12:30pm and was served at the tables where you join other guests and share your travel stories. Lunches were never once the same, always different and fresh juice was plentiful to go around. Dinners were served at 6:30pm, and always started off with appetizers of freshly baked bread and a bowl of soup made that day. Then the entrees were very tasty, and different from night to night. There was also dessert after each meal, from cakes to puddings. MMMMMM. Throughout the day, the kitchen staff would bake up some treats to satisfy you between meals or to take with you on the trails, like cookies and squares. Filtered water was available where you can fill your water bottles to your hearts content.

The staff was awesome, very friendly and always smiling. The owner, David, made us feel welcomed and would do anything to make sure you were 100% satisfied. We loved the cat, Tico, who made us laugh when he would lie on his back with all four feet in the air in the middle of the floor.

I say this place met our expectations and beyond because originally we chose this place because they had a guitar on site and a cat. And being a musician and cat lover, this place suited us fine. It was beyond expectations because we didn't realize how beautiful the property really was or how amazing the view over the ocean was, how friendly the staff would be and how great the tenting arrangements would turn out. All in all we give this place 10 out of 10, making it the perfect destination to end off your Osa adventure. Pura Vida, Tuanis man!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPCarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We stayed in Las Caletas for six days and everyday we had a great experience. Everything was an adventure. Like sleeping in a tent with howler monkey right beside, observing sloth, toucan, crocodile, koati, monkey, etc in their own environment. Having a couple of Scarlett Maccaw flying just up you, that was incredible, and what about a tapir resting in the mud. Wowww!!!
If you want to live the jungle life with a bit of luxury go to Las Caletas. The food is fabulous and you sit with everybody there and you share your experiences of the day.
I've planned my trip with tripadvisor and every comment is true.
You will never forget your trip to Las Caletas.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandraj2341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We had a wonderful time at Las Caletas, it was a great place to stay. It is a rustic lodge setting in a remote area that backs up to the Jungle. Plenty of wildlife to view, and a great place to get away from it all. This is a place to go enjoy the peace and quiet and enjoy the natural habitat of the miles of jungle all around it. There are plenty of activities to do with lots of adventure. If you are looking for a standard hotel chain packed with tourists, a spa and shopping close by, the Osa is not the place for you.

Our visit was Feb 13 – 18th in the Honeymoon Suite. The cabin sits atop the hill on the property and has the bedroom upstairs with a private bath and a great deck on the lower level for watching the wildlife and kicking back. The room was very clean and housekeeping comes daily.

In my opinion, the food was excellent while we were there. Breakfast was a spread of fresh fruit, local cuisine beans and rice, toast and scrambled eggs, and pancakes on a few mornings. There was always coffee, tea and juice available. Lunch and dinner were always different with a wide range of variety. Chicken, fish, pasta, beef, fresh salads, soup and great side dishes and desert every night. They must have increased the portions as my plate was always filled and we were told that seconds were available if desired. They also bake fresh bread daily and is served with the meals, which was very good. The owner did ask us if we had any allergies or if there was anything that we did not like and they would accommodate our requests as best they could. The seating is family style and it was fun to discuss everyone’s adventures for the day over dinner.

We were able to see both Howler and Capuchin monkeys on the property, many-many birds, including the Toucan, iguana’s, etc. For the tours, we took the night hike, the day hike to Corcovado and ½ day of fishing. All were good tours and we recommend them. The tour guides, and the staff on site were very nice. On the fishing trip we caught several Bonita, but also caught a yellow tail tuna which was cooked up for dinner and fed everyone that night. It was delish! While we were not fishing for Marlin, a giant one jumped out of the water while we were out there. The boat captain, Issac, was fantastic on both the fishing trip and the ride into Corcovado. He has quite the skills on the water, if you go to Corcovado, you will understand with the waves going in and coming out. I have to agree with a previous poster, another trip worth taking is the canoe trip up the Rio Claro. Walk south along the beach and you can’t miss it, about an hour. We took the short trip, about 1 ½ hour up the river and then Ricardo leads you on a hike up to a waterfall that is an interesting hike, but so worth it. All for $10 pp. He has a longer trip available and I think it is 4 or 5 waterfalls, but not sure.

We thought our stay here was a good value and would stay here again. We met interesting people and there are a few that stick out…..Peter and Christine from Germany (Guten Tag!), Rob and Helena from Holland and those hard drinking Canadians Louis and Sandra who drank all the beer and marked it down under our names….silly Canadians…

We would definitely stay here again. Thanks David and Jolanda!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carley3623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews