We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santa Maria Resort Boutique Collection
Nearby Hotels
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
US$48
US$41
BestDay.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$38
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$33
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$43
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$21
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$70
US$49
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Jorge(Tepic)(Great Value!)
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Ibarra(Tepic)(Great Value!)
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
9
7
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
7
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanta mariacabinwoodorokayaklakepool
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2017

although getting the last 10 km or so is challenging, this resort is a modern, quiet, and peaceful retreat and worth a few days stay (not cheap, worth it). The cabin we were in was all wood construction, beds comfortable, A/C worked great, the resort property was well laid out and inviting, the restaurant was adequate. I didn't give it a 5 because it had a long list of annoying little issues, mostly maintenance, e.g. light bulbs missing, fan fixture missing, cutlery and glass missing, shower head sprayed in all directions, shower handle loose and almost impossible to regulate with, no coffee machine as advertised (they brought us one after asking, but no coffee or filter and none of the local abarottes had anything but instant), pool wasn't full so there was no filtering/cleaning action for the pollen, scum, and other debris on the surface, dock on the lake was over a foot underwater (nearby properties had floating docks to accomodate wet season rise in water level), restaurant staff was inattentive and seemed uninterested, ... I'd go to the lake again, but look around for another/cheaper place to spend the night.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank hjorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

First visit.. and the location is gorgeous and I recommend going if time allows... was great. Very nice cabaña. Second visit was a two-story family cabaña. Problems... cockroaches in master bedroom downstairs, kitchen and living room. Entertainment unit, which would have been handy for children at night re watching a movie, didn´t work. Reported, but no one came. Spiral staircase in such an awkward location that my 8-year old seriously banged her head on it walking for the bathroom. And the bathroom is very small. So.. if you can, stick to the regular cabañas. Restaurant has nice food and friendly service. Lake is heaven. Go kayaking and swimming ... water warm all year. And nothing else to do at the lake.. swim, read, eat, nap,kayak... no exploring, really.

Room Tip: stay away from the two-story cabañas.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yalahabibti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Subject: Santa Maria Resort Boutique Collection
Location: Santa Maria del Oro, Pacific Coast, Mexico, North America
Title: A QUIET AND GORGEOUS PLACE ON A LAGOON IN MEXICO
ID#: 440892188

We circled down slowly through forests to the clear lagoon, which is 2,000 meters long and 1,600 meters wide. Half-way around the lagoon on a rough, cobbled road is the Santa María Resort, a collection of very attractive and spacious wood cabañas on the shore of the lagoon.


The grounds are lush and well cared for, the pool is great, kayaks are available and the open-air restaurant has very good food and service. Water temperature is 70-75 degrees farenheit and praised for the medicinal qualities of its mineral elements, which give the lake its extraordinary color.

Room Tip: all of the attractive,wood cabaña have views and all are quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yalahabibti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Entering the lobby from the road going around the lake (deep crater lake inside an extinct volcanic cone) immediately raises expectations. The open space provides an inviting see-through view of the extensive gardens, the lake, and the infinity pool on its shorefront.
We were assigned a 2-bedroom two-level bungalow with a large sitting room, open fully appointed kitchen (quality stuff), a verandah with swing, A/C in both bedrooms. All bungalows surround the garden and face the lake, but there also regular comfortable double rooms at half the price facing away from it. Convenient restaurant on the premises, two levels with unrestricted view of the lake.

Some minus points: there is a horrible and completely unnecessary speed bump at the guard house entrance that is virtually impossible to scale with ground clearance of a regular city car --we got a nasty jolt and scrape. Secondly, the lock on our cabin (nr 20) was broken, a fact that only got a smiling shrug from the otherwise very friendly reception staff. Another detail: the fridge made an awful lot of noise and cannot be switched on or off without a friendly staff member pulling it from its niche. And lastly, in our cabin there was only one tiny bathroom downstairs for both bedrooms --the larger one being upstairs. On longer stays this could become a nuisance (we only stayed one night). At 220US$ a night, one expects better attention to such details.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griffoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015 via mobile

Sorry I started a review and never finished. Stayed for 5 nights in May. Location is great right on the beautiful, clear, warm, pristine lake.

The Cabins are nice and roomy. The lush and tropical grounds are well maintained. Sitting on our porch in the crisp morning sipping on chocolate and coffee, listening to birds chirping was a great way to start our days. The on site restaurant was very good and Jose Luis (waiter) gave good advice on things to do and see.

Pool did need to be cleaned and maintained better. This the only reason I didn't give this Botique resort the top rating.

Things we did in area, day trip to Tepic, drove around Lake, two hiking trails, drove to tiny village then hiked to spectacular waterfalls (easy hike), had a spa day (massage and facials in our cabin), visited town of Santa Maria de Oro.

The best was finding a great spot on the lake next to the Malicon under a huge tree, having cold drinks jumping, diving, and walking into this awesome, crystal clear lake. It was indiscribable how great we felt

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews