We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
CheapTickets
StayForLong
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
85
11
7
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
85
11
7
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2018

This is a special place, meaning that it's not for everyone but ideal for others. It is on the side of a cliff and only accessible by boat. The view is wonderful. If hiking up the cliff is a problem be sure to book a lower cabin. There is a kayak and paddleboat available for guests and a dock for swimming. Although the hotel will arrange transport to the towns nearby for sightseeing the main attraction is the opportunity to relax and unwind. There is a sauna and a massage is available. The food, which is included in the price is vegetarian with a little shrimp or fish. The staff was wonderful. To say that they went out of their way to be accommodating would be an understatement. We arrived only to find that we had booked the wrong dates; they could of said "sorry" and kept our money but they managed to improvise satisfactory accommodations. We ate dinner with the head man Hugo, who was the most interesting person there. They turned a disaster into one of the highlights of our trip.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank pfalzgraf899
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaalpul, Manager at Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed your visit and would welcome you back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

We enjoyed this lovely remote hotel that was sufficiently far from San Antonio, San Pedro and San Juan that you could feel like you were a quiet, eco-friendly reserve. Yet, those cultural must visit pueblos were close enough to hit them all in a day, by boat. Find a good captain and have a sail across the majestic lake. The hotel has a wonderful little Mayan sauna that was one of the best sauna experiences of my short life. They claim to be vegetarian but when we were there they served a delicious white fish and a shrimp dish. The chef if of Mayan descent and uses exotic flavors. This is a special place.

Room tip: Try to avoid the room at the top of the property as it is up a rather steep set of stairs.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JetBoyJonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaalpul, Owner at Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you for your comments and recognition of what a special place we have. We enjoyed your visit and would welcome you back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

The setting: We wanted a hotel as close as possible to the capital, so that we could overnight on the lake without investing too much time. You are a 3-3.5 hour car ride from Guatemala City to San Lucas Toliman, the small lakeside town, from which a 10 minute boat ride will take you to the hotel. The drive will provide context for Guatemala as you drive threw some countryside as well as smaller towns. The short boat ride is a nice introduction to the lake. You will be met by the friendly. Bilingual hotel staff on the hotel’s dock. The boat operator will help bring your luggage to your room and you will be led to the hotel’s patio, overlooking the lake, where each guest is welcomed with a complimentary 20 minute foot massage and a tasty welcome drink. After a wonderful welcome, you are given a tour of the restaurant and grounds and let up to your room. All rooms are up a steep climb up the mountain into which the hotel is built. The rooms closest to the restaurant and patio, and the least strenuous climb are the Maya Suite and the Dome Suite. As it happens the Maya Suite is the least expensive option. Be mindful of the elevation the lake is found at, making climbing a flight doubly strenuous.
The room: My Maya Suite was a cozy room with a gorgeous view of the lake. The room had a comfortable queen size bed, a small table, and a vanity with a sink outside of the toilet/shower room. Next to the vanity was a hot plate with a kettle and nearby was a shelf with plates, cups and glasses, as well as coffee and tea. The Wi-Fi worked well in the room and in the public areas of the hotel. The shower was the weak point. It took an unusually long while to get hot water flowing, and once it does it goes in and out, and the flow is more of a strong trickle. If you have long hair, showering will be frustrating.
The food: Your stay includes all meals and it’s a good value, although the full board options are not well described on the hotel’s site. This is a vegetarian kitchen, but if you email ahead, you can arrange fish or shrimp to be procured for your meal. The dinner started with fresh and delicious guacamole followed by a tasty salad with slices of orange. We were expecting an entrée to match the deliciousness and quality of the appetizer and salad, but it decreased in quality instead. We had a piece of fried fish and boring boiled vegetables as an entrée. The dessert was a cake made from a mix and frosting from a can. Juice was not fresh squeezed, rather from a mix, but the coffee was excellent. Breakfast was nice. Eggs, refried beans, yogurt, fruit, juice and coffee were all wonderful. Service was very attentive.
Massage: We opted for 75 minute massages on the night of arrival, and we were glad we did. The hotel offers a Swedish style oil massage, and it was very relaxing. The massage therapist is also the cook and probably helps with cleaning. She was well trained at massage but her hands are slightly calloused and this was felt as slight scratching during the massage. This was the only negative.
Excursions: The lovely couple from Belize who run the hotel are very knowledgeable about what to do in the vicinity of the lake and are bilingual English-Spanish, making communication a breeze. We wanted to avoid visiting the hippie/yoga heavens around the lake, so we opted for a boat ride during the sunny morning, to experience the beautiful scenery.
All in all, if you are looking for an idyllic, secluded location with easy access to a port town, this is a wonderful place. My take was that people come and stay a while and use this hotel as their base to commune with nature and relax. There is a Mayan ritual site above the hotel suites as well as a temazcal, a Mayan steam room. I could see how a few days here, cut off from the noise of modernity, could be a wonderful escape.

Room tip: Opt for either the Maya Suite or the Zen Dome Suite and avoid a grueling climb to the higher rooms.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Brooklynite_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2016

I had a massage with Rosa given to me as a Mother's Day gift last year. I didn't write a review at that time as I thought it pointless but, on reading the defenses of critiques posted, have reconsidered. Yes, it is a nice view. Period. No wonder they keep changing owners, it is a very pretentious place which misrepresents itself. Rosa didn't ask anything about what I wanted, sensitive areas, and I do speak Spanish. She was sweet but the massage was pitiful. My daughter paid $90 for a one hour massage, U.S. prices.
Rosa goes through the motions but it was very disappointing! Absolutely not a spa massage! I hope people don't assume that Tosa is representative of other establishments at the lake (I live here year round!)

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank Amroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaalpul, Owner at Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

We would like all of our guests to have an ideal experience during their visit to our hotel and spa. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied. We are even sorrier to hear that you waited over a year to say anything about it. Had you brought this to the attention of staff and/or management at the time, this could have been easily corrected, on the spot. We could have substituted other spa services, offered a meal, or perhaps even provided a refund if we could not find a satisfactory solution for you. Instead, hearing about this over a year later, we cannot offer any constructive feedback to our staff because no one now recalls the incident nor can we make it right with you. Most guests love Rosa’s spa services and that includes even in comparison to services received in the U.S. so we do believe your experience was an anomaly. We would love the opportunity to have another chance to redeem ourselves. Please feel free to contact us and we will arrange free transportation, massage, and even a meal if desired to demonstrate to you that our service is truly impeccable and that something was merely "off" that day for some inexplicable reason.

As far as attacking us for defending ourselves, we will always try to set the record straight or give our side of things when reviews are overly negative because most really bad reviews have another side worth being heard. Also, to clarify, there have only been two owners ever (though ownership had changed only 3 months before your visit).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

This is a beautiful space with a SINCERE loving, compassionate staff that added a special touch to this unique & mystical place. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by the warmth of their smiles and hearts. It was as though they had been waiting for us for months, we big eyes and arms open to welcome us to our home, certainly felt like a temporary home. They worked diligently to make us feel comfortable & welcomed. I was extremely impressed with the level of rapidness they worked haughling our bags to our rooms and resetting our rooms daily with everything turned over before breakfast daily. It's as if they worked with wings, flying swiftly from room to room, without notice! By the time we were done with morning yoga they had fluffed our pillows & made our beds, soo sweet & magical! The food was delicious, and colorful with personalizations along the way. A nice menu with delicious wine options available I was excited to pair new foods with the wines in house. With years of catering background, I was happy to see the choices provided. The stairs on property allowed us to work off any extra calories taken in on a daily basis & with mild water sport options available, I felt peaceful and energized at the same time. The weather was cool while visited so I didn't spend as much time anticipated in the water, but was nice to know water sport gear on hand if wanted/ needed. I look forward to visiting Tosa again, was truly a beautiful, authentic, unique experience, one which I'd encourage adventure lovers to partake in. The ride to the lake was eventful in itself, and with locals on site to visit, it made the journey to Tosa even more magical! A must experience :) Thank you Tosa

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank internalpeacenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaalpul, Owner at Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Thank you for very kind comments about our hotel, location, services, and especially our staff. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews