We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative, Artistic - Overall Incredible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 June 2017

I came here for my birthday getaway. I knew it was going to be a unique hotel, but honestly, I was blown away with it's artistic design, built into the actual nature, the cliff.

The views are absolutely incredible. Every corner and part of this hotel is thought thru, with love and creativity.

The service is fantastic, for a tiny village such as San Marcos, I was expecting the staff to close the main office around 10 pm. But at 11 pm, I needed to get something and immediately they helped.

The breakfast is delicious, fresh and homemade

But the best part of it all, the views. Each room has unique sitting rooms and the bedrooms have views that you can watch for hours.

Sooo recommend this hotel, will be going back there with my family and friends!

Room Tip: Most rooms have incredible views, the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lushatitlan123, Owner at Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thank you so much! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017

We stayed one night in the Mirdor Suite. There is no doubt that this is one of the most beautiful places with an amazing view to the lake.
The suite is very special and built on two levels: one for sleeping and the other with a beautiful balcony, serves as a living room and also includes a fully equipped kitchen and dining area. Definitely a special suite as well as the amenities that are outside the room (kind of an experience in itself).
The attitude toward us was good and welcoming and we certainly received assistance in moving the suitcases to and from the suite, and in keeping them while we were not on the site.
We would stay longer if there was available room. recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Gad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lushatitlan123, Owner at Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

I highly recommend this resort. The grounds are beautiful. The Sirena suite has large rooms with local touches. The view is breathtaking of the lake and its surroundings. It's well worth the climb! The staff are gracious and extremely helpful. They keep the rooms immaculate, they serve a fabulous breakfast with fresh fruit, homemade bread and jam, and are always ready to assist guests.
The only negative I can think of is the lack of sufficient signage directing one to the resort. One needs to know that you cannot drive directly to any hotel in San Marcos. You need to walk down narrow alleyways everywhere in town. Not a problem if you are prepared. Pack a flashlight. It's a must for walking after dark. Upside, we felt quite safe everywhere in town.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank MGofCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lushatitlan123, Owner at Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thanks for your feedback. We are working on putting up more signage! Thanks for the reminder!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

The title says it all. The facility is lovely, although be careful if you have issues with steep stairs. The owner and staff however are not in any way customer oriented. If you have any issue at all, you will be out of luck. ......

San Marcos is a wonderful place to visit but consider another of the hotels there or in a neighboring town. Posada Schuman is an alternative that is worth checking out.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank CardiffNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lushatitlan123, Owner at Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

I'm glad you enjoyed our property and really sorry you found our staff inattentive. We work hard to attend to and connect with all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

This was a beautiful facility with Lush gardens, beautiful decor, clean rooms, warm showers and friendly staff. We paid a little more for our stay here, but it was worth it in the end. If you are on a backpacking budget they do have cheaper rooms but you have to try your luck with them as they aren't able to be reserved.

Like any hotel or hostel in the area, there were a few bugs in the room and ants in the bathroom at night. Also the internet was out for over day and they didn't really offer any competition for it, which when you are paying almost north American prices, a token would be appreciated.

This place was amazing none the less. A perfect way to sum it up, was a comment from a guest at the restaurant had said to me when I was going into my room. "This place is an intsagram heaven!"

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAaculaax2012, Owner at Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Thank you for your comments and we are so glad you were able to appreciate our little paradise. Our staff works hard to please whenever and however possible. We are sorry about the internet problem. But any guests that ask about the internet (prior to booking of course) are told that the internet is not 100% dependable. We have an antenna that bounces the signal from a neighboring village, as San Marcos has no land lines. This means that power outages in San Marcos or San Pedro and high winds cause internet outages. We are not in North America and unfortunately in a tiny village in Guatemala, we can't always live up to US expectations... but we offer different things (hummingbirds zooming by, the freshest fruit, a garden heaven, art in every corner and truly innovative design).

Lush is built right into the rocks of the hillside and next to a nature reserve; being close to nature also means we have a few harmless critters. Being ecologically conscious we do not fumigate, i.e. poison our environment which goes against our "green" principles. So guests will see a few bugs... (This is also mentioned on our FAQ's page). We never want to disappoint guests but inevitably we are not the place for everyone.

We appreciate all input as it helps us do a better job communicating and satisfying our clients, so thank you for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos La Laguna
5.0 km away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
675 reviews
7.1 km away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
503 reviews
10.6 km away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
295 reviews
10.7 km away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
223 reviews
11.2 km away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax

Address: Barrio 3, San Marcos La Laguna 07016, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Marcos La Laguna
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Marcos La Laguna
Price Range: $87 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush is ideally located on a hillside on the shores of spectacular Lake Atitlán in San Marcos La Laguna, Guatemala. The hotel has 10 unique rooms and suites, each one individually designed, with one-of-a-kind art works and locally made furniture. All of the rooms boast of incredible views of the lake and surrounding volcanoes, a private terrace or balcony, offering guests a harmonious balance with the surrounding nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing