We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$346
View deal
TripadvisorUS$346
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Hotels.comUS$347
PricelineUS$347
Booking.comUS$347
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
305
49
20
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
305
49
20
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake atitlan infinity pool huge balcony the hotel manager gorgeous hotel room number boat ride amazing views private boat santa villa antigua panajachel guatemalan dock lancha
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2021 via mobile

We loved Casa Palopo! Stayed three night right before the New Year before going to Antigua.

The location is divine with the most stunning bites imaginable. Our suite has a beautiful balcony and there are lots of other areas to also sit and watch the view.

The food was great as was the dining service. We enjoyed eating on the patio, inside in front of the fire and in the indoor dining room. Breakfast everyday was outside looking at the stunning lake.

The hotel has its own dock which we used each day when our private boat and guide picked us up to visit the wonderful numerous villages dotting the lake.

And lastly, worth noting is the stunning decor. The common spaces and the suites are beautifully decorated and supremely comfortable.

Casa Palopo is a wonderful hotel to base your adventures around the lake and we can’t wait to return!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Donyale
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen Ochoa, General Manager at Casa Palopo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2021

Dear Guest

Thank you vry much for your positive and kind comments! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2020

After visiting Panajachel and its busy street market at "Calle Santander", we decided to drive all the way up to Santa Catarina Palopó! Lunch stop at restaurant "6.8 Palopó", at the awesome "Casa Palopó" hotel, on the shores of "Lago Atitlán". What a great decision! We loved every minute at this outstanding restaurant! Fantastic views of "Lago Atitlán" and its volcanoes, beautiful decoration at a cozy and welcoming atmosphere ... And Chef Eduardo Gonzáles' fantastic cuisine - international recipes with a Guatemalan touch! Unforgettable! Unmissable! Bon Appétit!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LuizDutraNeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen Ochoa, General Manager at Casa Palopo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2020

Dear Guest!



We are delighted to know that you enjoy your visit to our Restaurant 6.8 !

We appreciate your kind and positive comments.

Cordially,,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2020

A Luxury Lakeside Hideaway

Perched hillside with a panoramic view of Lake Atitlán lies Casa Palopó, the once private home turned luxurious 15 room Relais & Chateaux property that is a destination within itself.

Guests are submerged into the country’s rich Guatemalan culture as the property is brimming inviting vibrant jewel colours, antiques, local artisanal furnishings and artwork, as well as some very famous artwork - there is an original Botero.

At the core of Casa Palopó is intimacy and exclusivity, establishing an unprecedented level of personalized service and care, creating an unforgettable eco-conscious escape in an incomparable and enchanting setting.

Highlights:
The View! Perfectly located, with the premier spot on the lake, Casa Palopo offers unobstructed and unparalleled views of Lake Atitlan and the three volcanoes that define its extraordinary landscape. And yes, it is as stunning as all the photos.
The restaurant, 6.8 Palopo, serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and all day snacking options. Executive Chef Eduardo Gonzalez has curated a menu of Guatemalan-inspired dishes with an international twist sourcing most ingredients locally. I suggest trying the chilaquiles for breakfast as its a local and somewhat unique dish or the “huevos divorciados” as their homemade salsas are perfection. Also notable are the woodfire pizzas, the tuna tartar thats simple yet so tasty and the steak that is so tender it literally just melts in your mouth, but literally everything is divine, including the wine list!
Casa Palopo embraces local culture and history in all aspects of its design, with its use of deep, vibrant jewel tones and abundance of unique artifacts and artwork from local artists and very famous artists with a real Botero on site! Overall they have created the perfect homey and rustic feel in an elegant atmosphere.
Casa Palopo truly feels like a home away from home. The service is impeccable and bespoke yet also very discrete, leaving guests to their own devices yet not leaving anything wanted for. The level of personalized service and intimacy created in the house is what really elevates the entire experience here and sets this property apart.

The Rooms:
No room on the property is created equally. Each of the 15 spacious rooms are uniquely and exquisitely decorated with warm rich colours and artifacts and art work thats grounded in guatemalan heritage.
Every room on the property has a terrace overlooking the lake so no matter what room you book you get a view of the lake. We stayed in room 2 and the terrace was massive with two large sitting chairs where we enjoyed cocktails and watched the sunset and a bistro table for intimate breakfasts and the view was perfection with a very exclusive feel.
The La Villa and its three rooms, are very different to the main house as they are decorated in a more contemporary, rustic and simplistic style using more earth tones vs deep and vibrant palette of the main house with more modern style bathrooms.

Nearby Attractions:
Hiking is the main activity in the area given the three stunning volcanoes that define this lake and its view, San Pedro, Tolimán and Atitlán. Sunrise. For a shorter and easier excursion, hiking the “Indian Nose” a near by smaller mountain as a great option as well and provides for stunning views of the San Pedro Volcano.
Immerse yourself in the traditional Mayan culture of the area by village hopping around the lake. All around Lake Atitlán are small vibrant villages all unique in their own way. It is easy to visit a handful of them in a day by boat on the lake. Get an energy boost from all the artisanal coffee shops, learn how chocolate is made or browse the vibrant handmade textiles made right in front of you.
Kayaking is a great outdoor activity to do to enjoy the lake and take in the scenery. Casa Palopo has a private dock where you can rent kayaks and equipment.
For those that are willing to spare no expense, there is a helipad on site for easier arrivals and private sightseeing adventures of this dramatic landscape.

What to Know:
The hotel is essentially divided into two houses. The main house hosts reception, the restaurant, the late-night serviced lounge, the more quaint pool without a view and 12 rooms with views decorated with the traditional Guatemalan flare; deep vibrant hues, artisanal artifacts and decor. The second building is located 150 steps up from the main house and is accessible by the hotel’s golf cart if desired. It is called “La Villa” as the - can be rented out as a whole or each of the three rooms can be rented on an individual basis.
When booking, inquire as to whether or not you will have access to La Villa’s pool, the main infinity pool shown in all the photos. If La Villa is exclusively rented you may not have access and want to rethink the timing of your visit.
Casa Palopo is about a 2.5 hour drive from Guatemala City International Airport and a 2 hour drive from Antigua which can be done by renting a car or hiring a car service to drive you. Driving throughout the country is safe and easy, especially once outside the capital of Guatemala City and the roads are fairly well maintained, not too busy and google maps is a very reliable navigation tool.

Special Amenities:
The library is a special place on the property where guests can cosy up by the fireplace, nestle into a book or conversation and enjoy a night-cap. If you stay late enough staff will bid you good night and leave the bar open on an honour system basis.
While there is no formal spa, the hotel offers in-room massages.
For an elevated and extremely exclusive experience, the hotel offers a private chef and butler option when renting the entire La Villa.

There is one caveat here, while you may come to Casa Palopo planning for a somewhat adventurous stay exploring the Lake Atitlan region, there is a big chance you find yourself just not wanting to leave this property.

I never like comparing places but this hotel has major Amalfi Coast vibes, you almost forget where you are, but isn’t the the magic we all look for in a vacation stay.

Room tip: Every room has a view!!!
Date of stay: June 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank wanderthisway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 February 2020

We didn't stay here but came only for the restaurant. The setting is pretty and of course one can't top the view over the Lake, right off the railing. Try tuna tartare and peruvian ceviche. Excellent service, knowledgable, English-speaking, pleasant. The house wine, a Soave, was refreshing.
Note that like many places at the Lake, Casa Palopo is high on the hill...our tuk-tuk could barely make it up although a car can. You can enter through the office to save many steps, if you are physically challenged. All in all a lovely lunch.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen Ochoa, General Manager at Casa Palopo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2020

Dear Guest,

thank you for coming to our Restaurant 6.8, and we are happy that you enjoyed your visit!

Cordially,


Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2020 via mobile

Casa Palopó was recommended to us by Guatemalan expats and we are so glad we followed up on that suggestion! The boutique hotel is located on a quiet hillside just outside of San Catarina de Palopó and a short distance from Panajachel. Our accommodations in the main house were colorful, beautiful, sparkling clean and romantic. The common rooms are filled with beautiful weavings, art, comfy furniture and books. The terrace overlooking Lake Atitlan was just awesome for morning coffee and sunset drinks. Dinner and breakfast were very good and the service was relaxed and warm. There are two pools on the property - but are lovely, but the infinity pool that you’ll see on their website was my favorite. The concierge arranged a private launch pickup from the hotel to visit the pueblos surrounding this most beautiful lake- and they were also willing to arrange group tours if we’d wanted them. This place is a gem.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 65pamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen Ochoa, General Manager at Casa Palopo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2020

Dear Guest

We appreciate very much your positive and kind comments about your stay with us.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed stay with us .

Cordially yours,

Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews