We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
58
72
27
22
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
72
27
22
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent foodst jeanlovely hotelno problemjunior suitehamwell worth a visitbreadaubergefrancewoodsbonnecoursescompiegneukpicardypre
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We spent a night here on our way back to England. Our room overlooking the courtyard was pleasant, but nothing special. As seems to be the case in all French hotels, the walls are rather thin and we could hear every sound in the corridor and adjoining rooms. The corridors themselves are very dark, with unexpected level changes - so be careful! The hot water took about 5 minutes to reach the bath. Breakfast at €14 was very poor value, being just bread and a croissant. I asked for a boiled egg, which was served at no extra cost, but more (ham, cheese, fruit etc) should have been on offer.
However, the restaurant is something else. This establishment serves cuisine at its very French best. The service is formal, yet friendly: the maitre-d'hotel has a very dry sense of humour. The sommelier knows his stuff and recommended some excellent wine to accompany our meal. Price-wise the establishment is not for the faint-hearted, but it is well worth a visit for a treat.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Piers556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We were thankful to these people to let us use a bedroom at 10 am, just got off the plane at 7 am from the US. The room was functional, not an ounce of charm. On the other hand, the restaurant was spectacular, delicious food, great service, nice setting. We would go back anytime for a meal there. Decent prices.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank josieWashingtonDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

This is a very small town, but close to Compiegne. We stayed here as a base for car touring in the Picardy/Champagne region. It was a lovely and peaceful town. We enjoyed our stay!

We ate at the restaurant our first night and it was very gourmet, so if you aren't into French haute cuisine this may not be for you.

Also breakfast was 14€ which I thought was a little pricey so we skipped it and bought croissants elsewhere (but be warned there are no groceries in this town so plan ahead).

I deducted one star because the hotel was supposed to have a shower-- instead we found a bathtub with a handheld sprayer.

Ours looked like it had been dropped and had a dent in it resulting in water pouring out of the bottom of the spray head and getting water EVERYWHERE and soaking my clothes on the small bench. NO shower curtain + awkward hand held shower spray wand + tiny bathroom = disaster and unpleasant quick splash off shower.

I don't know if other rooms had a full shower, so you might want to ask about that before booking.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank iluvparis2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Once more we loved it: lovely auberge, great and large enough bedroom (la Canelle), very good to good meal at a raisonable price for the menu: mushroom cream - it is the season - game, cheese and a fantastic soufflé au Grand Marnier. And they have now a Michelin star. The reader should go! Oh yes, the bathroom is little small with a small bath. The toilet is appart. Lucky!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A2654OEjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Dined here with our family including two grandsons, who are 14 and 11 who had an amazing experience. The best meal of this year, and probably of the past five or six. My wife and I have dined from San Francisco in one direction to Melbourne in the other, including lots of places in between and this was the best! Those of you who may follow my reviews know that I am not impressed by much. This restaurant is impressive: as the Michelin Guide says - "Worth the journey" Do go and eat!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews