We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location but poor service and understaffed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge A La Bonne Idee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We stayed as part of a large walking group. I would not recommend this hotel for a group. The bedrooms are of variable quality. There is also an additional 14 Euros charge for continental breakfast - good quality but overpriced.
The service in the restaurant was also poor one evening. We waited one hour for our first course – clearly the hotel kitchen could not cope with a not very full restaurant and front of house appeared understaffed. Wine by the glass is also priced at an exhorbitant level – 10 Euros for a moderate sized glass of house wine - twice the pro rata cost of the normal restaurant bottle so beware. Food was good rather than exceptional.
Overall we found the hotel management haughty and disinterested.
To balance the review, for those travelling individually the Granat room (names not numbers) is a delightful double aspect corner room, more of a junior suite with good sized bedroom, large wet- room type shower/his and hers basins and fine views towards the Abbey. The room also contains an expresso machine with capsules. The Auberge is also attractively set and the function room looks out onto a fine garden which is utilised for dining on warm summer evenings. The village of St Jean aux bois is beautiful.

Room Tip: The Granat room is a dble aspect room, large wet- room type shower/his and hers basins , views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017

We spent a night here on our way back to England. Our room overlooking the courtyard was pleasant, but nothing special. As seems to be the case in all French hotels, the walls are rather thin and we could hear every sound in the corridor and adjoining rooms. The corridors themselves are very dark, with unexpected level changes - so be careful! The hot water took about 5 minutes to reach the bath. Breakfast at €14 was very poor value, being just bread and a croissant. I asked for a boiled egg, which was served at no extra cost, but more (ham, cheese, fruit etc) should have been on offer.
However, the restaurant is something else. This establishment serves cuisine at its very French best. The service is formal, yet friendly: the maitre-d'hotel has a very dry sense of humour. The sommelier knows his stuff and recommended some excellent wine to accompany our meal. Price-wise the establishment is not for the faint-hearted, but it is well worth a visit for a treat.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Piers556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We were thankful to these people to let us use a bedroom at 10 am, just got off the plane at 7 am from the US. The room was functional, not an ounce of charm. On the other hand, the restaurant was spectacular, delicious food, great service, nice setting. We would go back anytime for a meal there. Decent prices.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank josieWashingtonDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

This is a very small town, but close to Compiegne. We stayed here as a base for car touring in the Picardy/Champagne region. It was a lovely and peaceful town. We enjoyed our stay!

We ate at the restaurant our first night and it was very gourmet, so if you aren't into French haute cuisine this may not be for you.

Also breakfast was 14€ which I thought was a little pricey so we skipped it and bought croissants elsewhere (but be warned there are no groceries in this town so plan ahead).

I deducted one star because the hotel was supposed to have a shower-- instead we found a bathtub with a handheld sprayer.

Ours looked like it had been dropped and had a dent in it resulting in water pouring out of the bottom of the spray head and getting water EVERYWHERE and soaking my clothes on the small bench. NO shower curtain + awkward hand held shower spray wand + tiny bathroom = disaster and unpleasant quick splash off shower.

I don't know if other rooms had a full shower, so you might want to ask about that before booking.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank iluvparis2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Once more we loved it: lovely auberge, great and large enough bedroom (la Canelle), very good to good meal at a raisonable price for the menu: mushroom cream - it is the season - game, cheese and a fantastic soufflé au Grand Marnier. And they have now a Michelin star. The reader should go! Oh yes, the bathroom is little small with a small bath. The toilet is appart. Lucky!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A2654OEjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-aux-Bois
5.2 km away
Hotel Beaudon
Hotel Beaudon
#1 of 3 in Pierrefonds
169 reviews
0.7 km away
Chambres d'Hotes Le Jardin de Saint Jean
Chambres d'Hotes Le Jardin de Sa...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jean-aux-Bois
50 reviews
8.5 km away
La Parenthese du Rond Royal
La Parenthese du Rond Royal
#1 of 11 in Compiegne
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge A La Bonne Idee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge A La Bonne Idee

Address: 3 rue des Meuniers, 60350 Saint-Jean-aux-Bois, Compiegne, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Oise > Compiegne > Saint-Jean-aux-Bois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Jean-aux-Bois
Price Range: S$191 - S$282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge A La Bonne Idee 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Auberge A La Bonne Idee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge a La Bonne Idee Hotel St Jean Aux Bois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing