We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pantheon City Hotel(Gytheio)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bello Horizonte Rooms & Apartments(Mavrovouni)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Saga Pension(Gytheio)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kalypso Studios(Mavrovouni)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stavros Tou Notou(Mavrovouni)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Akti Kamares(Gytheio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa di Terra(Mavrovouni)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
13
27
9
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
27
9
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetbase to exploresuitcaseswaterfrontportacfridgeideal
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel needs a serious room restoration. The rooms are large but old and grumpy. Very unromantic.
The bathroom is a joke: 1 m2. The water pressure is very low.
.
The common areas are ok. The reception funcions only untill 9.pm. If you come later you need to call a mobile that you find on the main hotel door.
.
The stairs up to the hotel from the main road can be a problem if you have a heavy laguagge.
.
The staff is very helpful and wifi works fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maciej H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Once entering, the welcoming staff and the traditional decoration in the lobby give out a warm and cosy feeling about this place. The room looks almost like the inside of a boat with a nice little balcony with great view of the harbour. We overlooked the used furniture and focused on the vibe of this neoclassical building ... until the door closed and the nightmare begun!!The bathroom,allthough clean, is suitable only for size S or M people. Anyone L or XL will probably have to sqeeze themselves through the glass doors in the shower with questionable success. The road in front of the building is the main road in the region with heavy traffic throughout the day (and most of the night), at least in the summer (it is probably a lot better out of season). There is some sort of double glazing, however, the noise is still there, especially on that cute little balcony that we planned on spending our evenings. On top of that, the rooms are at the same level as the lobby and the breakfast room. The poor quality of the doors allows all noise to be heard, such as chatting, phone calls, breakfast preparations and so on. And as if this was not enough, the mattress had a huge dent and various broken springs that cost us 4 nights of horrible quality sleep. A couple of homemade jams and some orange juice cannot make up for all of this!!The owners simply can't pay those two nice women at the reception enough, as they are the only reason why this hotel gets away with its inadequacies.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a balcony. You will have to climb a number of stairs with your luggage in order to get to the lobby.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANGELINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I loved this hotel. My large room had a balcony from which I could sit and watch the harbor and although on the street, the double-paned glass doors blocked much of the noise. I slept well. The staff was wonderful, as were the owners whom I also met. The interior of the breakfast/reception area had featured the dramatic decorative element of the natural stone rock of the hillside into which the hotel was built. Breakfast included freshly squeezed orange juice (memorable!) and good homemade jams, egg, bread, cheese, coffee. The hotel is up a number of steps and I was helped up and down with my big suitcase. Parking was easily accomplished on the street below. I would recommend having a working phone when arriving there, since I had arrived early and it was necessary to call the staff so I could enter. This is another hotel and town I am anxious to return to. Charming, clean and memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzanneGrecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I have recently spent 8 days at the Gythion Hotel and cannot praise it more highly. Hearty breakfasts of fresh orange juice, egg, bread and homemade jams, cheese and coffee were provided. The rooms look out over the bay and the staff are the friendliest I have ever met.
Louise Rockne

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony. It's worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Gythion hotel is up a flight of stairs off the main street in Gythion and is a pleasant surprise once one has got there. The rooms are large and the bathroom though small is spotless and everything works. We had a little balcony overlooking the main street which is noisy but the doors are double glazed. Breakfast was very good with fresh orange juice, very good bread from the bakery downstairs and superb jam! This hotel is for people who like oldfashioned hotels with quirky features and historical interest. We would definitely stay there again. The owner and staff are delightful with very good English

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews