We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value hotel with excellent hospitality”
Review of Gythion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gythion Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Gytheio
Reviewed 29 October 2013

For 55euros per night we had a family suite. A large living room with two sofas that double as beds for children. It also had a family sized dining table and chairs. (There are no cooking facilities, but there is a fridge.)This room has two sets of balcony doors and you have the most beautiful views across the harbour. The perfect spot to sit and have a evening drink. The main bedroom was spacious. The bathroom was smallish; no bath, but a decent shower. The rooms are not modern, but they are spotlessly clean. We experienced no noticeable traffic noise even with the windows open.

The price included a brilliant breakfast. Of particular note: freshly squeezed orange juice; homemade jams; local honey; warm hardboiled eggs. There was also cakes, biscuits, cheese spread. I have stayed in many budget hotels and this must rank with the very best for breakfast.

The two ladies we met running the reception were lovely. They could not have been more helpful or welcoming.

The buildings along the waterfront are a little strange as they are built into a hillside. At pavement level you have shops. A flight of steps leads up along the side of the building. At "first floor" level you enter the hotel proper. Here is the reception and breakfast room and access to most of the hotel bedrooms. Back up the steps to "second floor" level you reach the separate entrance to the family suite. The hill is steep and the frail may find the climb difficult. For most folk with reasonably sized suitcases there should not be a problem. There is no carpark, but we didn't have any trouble finding street parking along the waterfront.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MestaChios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel needs a serious room restoration. The rooms are large but old and grumpy. Very unromantic.
The bathroom is a joke: 1 m2. The water pressure is very low.
.
The common areas are ok. The reception funcions only untill 9.pm. If you come later you need to call a mobile that you find on the main hotel door.
.
The stairs up to the hotel from the main road can be a problem if you have a heavy laguagge.
.
The staff is very helpful and wifi works fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maciej H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Once entering, the welcoming staff and the traditional decoration in the lobby give out a warm and cosy feeling about this place. The room looks almost like the inside of a boat with a nice little balcony with great view of the harbour. We overlooked the used furniture and focused on the vibe of this neoclassical building ... until the door closed and the nightmare begun!!The bathroom,allthough clean, is suitable only for size S or M people. Anyone L or XL will probably have to sqeeze themselves through the glass doors in the shower with questionable success. The road in front of the building is the main road in the region with heavy traffic throughout the day (and most of the night), at least in the summer (it is probably a lot better out of season). There is some sort of double glazing, however, the noise is still there, especially on that cute little balcony that we planned on spending our evenings. On top of that, the rooms are at the same level as the lobby and the breakfast room. The poor quality of the doors allows all noise to be heard, such as chatting, phone calls, breakfast preparations and so on. And as if this was not enough, the mattress had a huge dent and various broken springs that cost us 4 nights of horrible quality sleep. A couple of homemade jams and some orange juice cannot make up for all of this!!The owners simply can't pay those two nice women at the reception enough, as they are the only reason why this hotel gets away with its inadequacies.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a balcony. You will have to climb a number of stairs with your luggage in order t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANGELINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I loved this hotel. My large room had a balcony from which I could sit and watch the harbor and although on the street, the double-paned glass doors blocked much of the noise. I slept well. The staff was wonderful, as were the owners whom I also met. The interior of the breakfast/reception area had featured the dramatic decorative element of the natural stone rock of the hillside into which the hotel was built. Breakfast included freshly squeezed orange juice (memorable!) and good homemade jams, egg, bread, cheese, coffee. The hotel is up a number of steps and I was helped up and down with my big suitcase. Parking was easily accomplished on the street below. I would recommend having a working phone when arriving there, since I had arrived early and it was necessary to call the staff so I could enter. This is another hotel and town I am anxious to return to. Charming, clean and memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzanneGrecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I have recently spent 8 days at the Gythion Hotel and cannot praise it more highly. Hearty breakfasts of fresh orange juice, egg, bread and homemade jams, cheese and coffee were provided. The rooms look out over the bay and the staff are the friendliest I have ever met.
Louise Rockne

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony. It's worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gytheio hotels
0.1 km away
Aktaion Hotel
Aktaion Hotel
#8 of 11 in Gytheio
59 reviews
0 km away
Pantheon City Hotel
Pantheon City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Gytheio
132 reviews
3.9 km away
Alistos Hotel
Alistos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Gytheio
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Aktaion Resort
Aktaion Resort
#2 of 2 in Selinitsa
151 reviews
4.2 km away
Castello Antico Beach Hotel
2.6 km away
Mareggio Exclusive Residences & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gythion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gythion Hotel

Address: 33 Vassileos Pavlou, Gytheio 232 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Gytheio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Gytheio
Price Range: $76 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gythion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gythion Traditional Hotel is accommodated in a neoclassical building of 1864, which for several decades was the House of Commerce of Gythion town and which was transformed to a hotel in 1982 and was renovated again in 2001. It is a small and cozy hotel with 7 spacious rooms in the most central spot in Gythion Town. All rooms offer a spectacular view to the port of Gythion and the Lakonian gulf. Thanks to its location, Gythion Hotel can be the starting point for a range of very interesting daily excursions by car to Sparta, Byzantine city of Mystras, Taygetos Mountain, Mani, Diros Caves, Areopolis, Gerolimenas, Vathia, Porto Cajio, Monemvasia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gythion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing