We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore Peloponnese”
Review of Gythion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gythion Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Gytheio
Reviewed 28 December 2016

I would like to write few sentences about Gythieio as the perfect base to stay and explore Peloponnese. We found really goo offer for family apartment in this hotel. Breakfast was tasty, staff extremely helpful. Great hospitality. We felt like at home. For me city is one way along coast. Pack of restaurants, small shops, bars. There is not beach in the city but if you have car or any boat you can explore any beach around the city. We had 5m RIB boat. It was not a problem to park it in port (90 CENTS :) for 5 days). It is perfect base to explore interesting places. Only 40 minutes by car to Diros cave, or more than 1,5 hr by motorboat (be aware of waves near cape). We found fantastic village in south of city. A few houses and all of them in "castle architecture" Alipa. House made food in the only one taverna in the village. Longest trip by our boat was to Elafonisos Island (fantastic Simos beach). We went from Gythio to Crete (KIssamos) by ferry. From Gythio to Crete is ONLY 180 km which is a lot of easier/shorter trip than ferry from Pireus. On the way ferry stays at Kytheria and Antykytheria. The perfect vacation ever in Peloponnese.

Room Tip: Apartments for 5 people have fantastic view to port
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Maciej S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2016

A perfectly adequate hotel.
A couple of points, when booking make sure you ask for a room with a balcony, otherwise you’ll get one with just a sea view. I’d made this mistake, but we were moved from room 22 along to room 25 which had a balcony.
A couple of negatives: the pervading smell of smoke when you enter the reception area; very intermittent WiFi (better in room 25 - not good in room 22); and the rather
inadequate toilet flushing. Not to put to fine a point on it, two or more flushes were needed to perform its function.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hippocleides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

This traditional hotel offers some rooms with views and balconies facing the sea front. You get a warm welcome from Amilia who is delightful. Rooms quaint but comfortable. Nice breakfast including boiled eggs. Downside for visitors with mobility problems are the access steps. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank TheArchers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

I booked this accomodation based on the fact that there was free wifi ( needed to be able to do some work) and a pool we could supposedly use on another resort. Little did we know the pool was kilometres away and you would need a vehicle or taxi to get there. Wifi did not work at all. It would only work if you went down stairs into reception area. Overpriced for what it is and where it is. Beach isn't within walking distance either. Despite it being run down, it was clean and staff were friendly and helpful.
Would I stay there again- no.

Room Tip: Very Steep stairs to get to rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Gytheio is a sweet little seaside town in the Peloponnese. The Gytheion Hotel is small and retains its historic character right on the seafront. The rooms are smallish but well laid out and have water views. The manager, Amalia, is an outstanding tourism professional. She is helpful, always ready to make you a cup of tea or coffee, serves breakfast, and keeps the hotel running smoothly all day long. Two things to note: parking is on the street and can be a bit tight in busy seasons. But that is true of all the hotels in town. Also the hotel does have steps up from the street.. about 25. Not terrible but be aware of this if you are lugging a big bag. Breakfast was good with fresh orange juice and delicious homemade preserves. All positive except one thing... we are somewhat hefty adults and could barely fit in the tiny shower. If you are booking and that is a concern ask for a room with a larger shower. All in all, this hotel is an excellent value, comfortable, has good wifi, and a manager that makes the stay memorable. We will return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have harbour views. Some have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GreatDaysInParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gytheio hotels
0 km away
Pantheon City Hotel
Pantheon City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Gytheio
132 reviews
0.1 km away
Aktaion Hotel
Aktaion Hotel
#8 of 11 in Gytheio
59 reviews
3.9 km away
Alistos Hotel
Alistos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Gytheio
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Aktaion Resort
Aktaion Resort
#2 of 2 in Selinitsa
151 reviews
4.2 km away
Castello Antico Beach Hotel
2.6 km away
Mareggio Exclusive Residences & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gythion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gythion Hotel

Address: 33 Vassileos Pavlou, Gytheio 232 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Gytheio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Gytheio
Price Range: $76 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gythion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gythion Traditional Hotel is accommodated in a neoclassical building of 1864, which for several decades was the House of Commerce of Gythion town and which was transformed to a hotel in 1982 and was renovated again in 2001. It is a small and cozy hotel with 7 spacious rooms in the most central spot in Gythion Town. All rooms offer a spectacular view to the port of Gythion and the Lakonian gulf. Thanks to its location, Gythion Hotel can be the starting point for a range of very interesting daily excursions by car to Sparta, Byzantine city of Mystras, Taygetos Mountain, Mani, Diros Caves, Areopolis, Gerolimenas, Vathia, Porto Cajio, Monemvasia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Gythion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing