We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Snorkeling Trips to Silfra
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Thingvellir
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snorkelling Trips to Silfra in the National Park Thingvellir are operated by DIVE.IS. We conduct a variety of different Snorkeling Day Tours, such as the all time bestseller, the Snorkeling Silfra Day Tour or a number of Combo Tours where you can combine Snorkeling in Silfra with the Golden Circle or Caving in a lava tube or a visit to the Blue Lagoon or Horseback Riding or more...
Reviewed 29 June 2018

My wife gave me this trip as a birthday present and I loved it. We are both Icelandic and for some reason, Icelanders are not enjoying these experiences that are on offer in our beautiful country, as much as we should be.

Our guide was Icelandic, AJ, and was sort of mythed to see Icelanders there and asked if we had lost a bet...but all in good fun and he turned out to be a great guide. Briefed us well on the history and safety issues.

Not only was he a good guide but he also took some good pictures.

I have never been as well dressed for the Icelandic weather which was not that good during our trip. But it didn't matter as we were swimming in water which is 2-3°C.

Would recommend this activity.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank villialvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dry suit"
in 132 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 40 reviews
"unique experience"
in 41 reviews
"tectonic plates"
in 57 reviews
"hot chocolate and cookies"
in 15 reviews
"arctic adventures"
in 23 reviews
"the water is crystal clear"
in 16 reviews
"wool socks"
in 12 reviews
"glacier water"
in 11 reviews
"thermal underwear"
in 8 reviews
"bucket list"
in 18 reviews
"base layer"
in 5 reviews
"long underwear"
in 7 reviews
"drink the water"
in 6 reviews
"silfra fissure"
in 16 reviews
"cool experience"
in 12 reviews
"degrees celsius"
in 9 reviews
Filter

83 - 87 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2018

My snorkeling trip was wonderful. I snorkel with some green sea turtles and I also see many beautiful corals. The guide was very knowledgeable and helpful.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank shirley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Silfra snorkeling was a bit of a left field choice - had no idea what it would be like and got a bit spooked as the park emptied and the time approached (5pm trip). Our guide Enno (dive is) talked us through the process, helped us dress up in full warm/dry kit, and made us feel at ease.
The snorkeling was amazing, not too uncomfortable - and all in all a pretty surreal experience!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Y7706OBhelenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We had a wonderful time on this tour. Our guide, Ants, was very knowledgeable about snorkeling, diving, and Iceland in general. He easily calmed the few of my group who were nervous about snorkeling in deep, frigid water. Ants was also hilarious and kept the whole group entertained. The snorkeling experience itself is difficult to describe, but we all list it as one of the top most amazing and memorable things we've done.

Recommendations: do wear long johns; it makes the clothing change much more bearable, as you are sharing the back of an open van with a bunch of strangers. DIVE.IS does give you coveralls to wear over the long johns and under the dry suit; this was not made clear in the instructions they provided. Arrive early, as the parking lot becomes very crowded, and there is a bit of a walk to the meeting point. Don't wear any bracelets, earrings, or necklaces. They do have a bathroom at the meeting point.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Qbeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

The team at Dive.is is fantastic. They are personable, knowledgeable and have a great sense of humour. It is a surreal experience for all ages and something that should be on your bucket list. It is unique and very memorable. In particular, our guide Ants, made it an experience we will talk about for years to come. Thanks for the laughter - floating meditation and knowledge! Team Canada

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank emster80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Snorkeling Trips to Silfra also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Snorkeling Trips to Silfra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing