We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Athlone Springs Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
886 results
Traveller rating
368
260
137
75
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
260
137
75
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centrefamily suitelovely hotelbar foodkids clubboth nightssteam roomfamily breaktop classnight breakfood was lovelyfollowing morningboth morningssitting roomwould highly recommend this hotelfrom start to finishgalway city
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 886 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. From the outside it looks nice, lobby is impressive. Booked a double room, rooms are small and old fashioned,big crack on bathroom floor with sharp edges, Windows were filthy on outside. Asked for robes when booking online to use in pool/spa they were not supplied.Breakfast was nice but overall not impressive. Wouldn't stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
3  Thank Roxi217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Roxi217,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I am naturally disappointed with its content and the star rating. We will look at the issues you raised and use them to improve the hotel as a whole. Not our best day at the office i would have to admit.

Kind regards and apologies for falling short this time.

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with my family in July. We stayed in a 2 bed family suite but they use the spare room as another guest room and unfortunately my husband walked in on a couple as the door was unlocked.As there was 5 of us there I was surprised that 2 of us had to sleep in put youup beds in the sitting room while the 2nd bedroom was given away..More money I suppose but they promptly locked it .I wouldn't have stayed 2 nights sleeping in a fold up bed with no TV for a 2nd night.All in all though it's a nice hotel with delicious food and good service especially the lovely barmen who were friendly and helpful.The pool got a thumbs up from us also.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank agnesrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear agnesrussel,

Thank you for the review. My apologies for the unfortunate incident with the connecting door. A human error it would seem upon checking with the team.
I really appreciate the glowing sentiment given that the stay did not get off to the best start.

Hope to be seeing you again.

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Although we hoped to get a hotel in Galway on our tour we were more than satisfied with the Shearwater in Ballinasloe. The hotel is clean and big, offers also a spa, restaurant etc.
Only a view steps away from the old part of Ballinasloe. Great place for car tours in the west of Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Snowy061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Snowy061,

Thank you for the kind review. A solid 5 star recommendation for which we are very grateful.

Kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Were went for a 2 night Easter break in this hotel and had a wonderful time. we have stayed in this hotel on a few occasions and loved it

We got a 1 bedroom suite and it offered great space for our family as there is 6 of us. The room was very clean and well serviced during our stay.

The staff in this hotel our extremely friendly and professional from reception to bar staff and from staff walking by you all offer you a greeting which is very refreshing.

Our two girls went to the kids club during our stay and loved it, in the evening they give them their dinner and do games etc. The negative I have as it was Easter there was only a small window of 2 weeks to go to the hotel so the kids club was extremely busy and the room where the kids were, was far to small for the numbers that were in attendance there is a larger room that they use during the summer but the room was probably booked out with meetings and they want to keep the children away which is understandable.

My next negative about the hotel well more constructive criticism was the wifi and the reception from it, during the morning time it worked perfect but in the evening with the volume of people in the hotel it kept dropping or wouldn't connect at all, I have stayed in hotels before that our larger and have more floors so I know that this issue can be easily rectified especially the type they are using!

Love this hotel and can't wait for a return visit.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank LaCanadaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear LaCanadaDublin,

what a fantastic review. Thank you so much. we are delighted and wait until you see our new kids club play area.

hope to see you all again soon.

Kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Stayed here two nights during horse fair.A plus stay,with good bed,excellent hotel staff and like most of Irelands better hotels a great indoor pool.What I did not expect,when return from the festivities in town the hotel had an excellent modern bar yhat was open late.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChALUTCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear ChALUTCH,

what a great review...thank you for taking the time.

The team here are delighted....

Kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews