We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ross House B&B(Roscommon)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$85
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hannon's Hotel(Roscommon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Ploughmans Lodge(Roscommon)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Riverside House(Roscommon)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveller rating
335
211
112
58
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
211
112
58
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centrebar foodlovely hotelon arrivalroscommon townfamily roomcarvery lunchold worldold styleweekend breakfew drinkssteam roomstayed for one nightwaiting staffa lovely staywould highly recommend this hotelfollowing morning
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 753 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2017

i was very disappointed that there was no facilities in my room to make tea or coffee after my long journey just a small point to look at also the room service was very expensive and slow there was children on my floor too and awake at 6 am i wont be staying here again

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhotel3, Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Marian,

We are disappointed that your recent stay at the Abbey Hotel did not meet with your expectations. Tea & Coffee facilities are standard in all our rooms so we are surprised to hear this. Did you bring this to the attention of our staff at the time as we would gladly have arranged Tea/Coffee for you at your room. As this is a family friendly hotel small children up early would be the norm in most hotels but we thank you for comments.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Lovely staff and lively hotel great atmosphere.
Room was quite expensive for its location. Other than the expensive price of the room experience was good.
Staff were very friendly. Food was excellent.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhotel3, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Hello Karen,

Many thanks for your review of Abbey Hotel and we are delighted you enjoyed the food. We hope you will return again in the very near future.

Best wishes,

Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Helpful friendly warm staff.
Lovely decor
Beautiful surroundings
Close to town
Plenty of space in bar and lounge
Cosy fires with comfy armchairs and sofas for relaxing with the complimentary rewspapers

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SAM274DERRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhotel3, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear Sam,

Than you for posting a lovely review of your recent visit to the Abbey Hotel. We hope that you will return again in the very near future.

Regards,

Tom Grealy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We were disappointed with the carvery in The Abbey Hotel on Sat 25th Nov. The selection was very good and everything looked very nice, however the food was lukewarm at best, in spite of being heated under a grill of some kind, which seemed to be done with every meal that was served up. The turkey meal was good otherwise, but the chicken curry was so mild that it couldn't even be called a korma, there was no curry flavour at all! Also the chicken was very tough and most was left uneaten. The staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrshanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhotel3, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Mr Shanley,

Thank you for posting your comments. We are disappointed that you found the carvery unsatisfactory and more so that the curry was mild as this is a brand new popular dish cooked fresh with lots of spice and seasoning. We have since passed on these comments to our chefs. We hope that you will return again in the near future and that your next dining experience will be an enjoyable one.

Tom Grealy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

Went to the Abbey with a few friends not for the first time and once again the meal was excellent, my steak cooked medium to perfection, didn’t want it to end , everyone else was also very happy and afterwards a few drinks finished off the evening beautifully

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank johngcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhotel3, Public Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us at the Abbey Hotel and thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. We hope you will return soon again.

Geraldine Grealy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews