We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Round Tower Hotel - Restaurant - Sunday Lunch”
Review of Round Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Round Tower Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2017

At the first sight of 2017 good sunshine we headed to Ardmore to spend a Sunday walking. On entering Ardmore the Round Tower seemed to radiate rays of "Come and Visit Us." It was lunchtime so Mrs Lep being a shrewd Cork decision-maker, had "a look" before deciding on lunch.

We called to the bar where the local clientele were talking worryingly about Waterford's chance in (what was then) the forthcoming hurling championship. They were knowledgeable and some dreadful news from abroad did not seem to bother them. They were friendly, the bar was clean, the bar staff in good form and parking was free. We headed for the restaurant.

The dining room was near full at 12.45pm and with forename knowledge by the waiting staff of the patrons it was obvious that the hotel restaurant is well supported by discerning locals. We were seated pretty fast and the menu presented by a waiter who would have no difficulty in making the half back line on the Waterford team. Another waiter looked like he was an incisive half forward with goal on his mind at all times. These guys were good, slick, attentive and friendly. They didn't hang around and instinctively knew how to talk without being overly intrusive. They are a terrific part of the hotel.

The food was beautifully presented and tasted excellent in welcoming surroundings. We didn't have to ask for a jug of water; it appeared within seconds (other restaurants please copy). Top marks to the chef/cook too.

There was no problem with leaving the car at the hotel car park while we walked the circular coastal route. A beautiful walk taking in St-Declan's Well, magnificent scenery and of course the ancient round tower and church. Some craft shops have sprung up in the town and are worth a visit. En route we could see the mobile home parks in the distance which resembled Porta-Loo-Central. But, they come with the territory so onwards we went. Teenagers were happy jumping off the pier into the cold sea. Great to hear and see people enjoying themselves and we walked on to the country.

When we arrived back in the hotel there was a fundraiser in the gardens for the oncoming Tidy Towns campaign. I should point out here that Ardmore is always to the fore of the competition. There seems to be a kind of team individuality efforts being made all through the town and its environs. An entertaining singer helped by his band kept us in the hotel for some time with their robust entertainment. The tidy-towns ladies were there too and of course the event was well supported.

For the record:- Waterford failed in their bid for Munster glory against Cork, but once again Ardmore will be prominent in the results of Ireland's Tidiest Town later in the year.

The restaurant in the Round Tower Hotel is good. It doesn't break the bank and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Leprosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Dear Leprosy,

Thanks for your in depth review! I think you just about captured a summers day in Ardmore and at Round Tower Hotel. Appreciate your kind commits. Looking forward to having you back with uis.

Regards,
Aidan

Aidan Quirke
Proprietor
Round Tower Hotel
Ardmore
Co. Waterford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017

Again, a brief one night stay while passing through the area.

The room was spotless and perfectly appointed. Very friendly welcome and great service over a delicious breakfast the next morning.

The standards of service and cleanliness are high in this charming hotel and I would recommend it highly if visiting this beautiful village or locality.

Room Tip: Some noise can be heard from the bar in some rooms. I this is a concern ask for a room that is not n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JanetMCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear JanetMCake,

Thanks for your return visit. Lovely to have you with us again in beautiful Ardmore. We're looking forward to a busy season and some fine weather if we're lucky! The staff and I really appreciate your feedback.

Until the next time,

Regards,
Aidan Quirke
Proprietor
Round Tower Hotel
Ardmore
Co. Waterford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

It's 6 years since I reviewed this hotel. Lovely family run hotel, in one of Ireland's nicest villages. Rooms are comfortable, reasonably priced food, Great for family get away. Lots to see & do in a area of natural beauty. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Liambourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Liambourke,

Appreciate the support and feedback and always good to have you with us.
Safe driving and look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Aidan Quirke
Round Tower Hotel
Ardmore
Co. Waterford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We stayed at the Round Tower while touring West Waterford and the hotel is just lovely. Spic and Span newly decorated rooms with lovely design touches in bedroom and bathroom. All quality fittings. Friendly personal welcome from Patricia and Aidan.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank firbolg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear firblolg8,

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time out to review. Would love to have you back to West Waterford if you're headed this way again. Best regards,

Aidan & Patricia Quirke
Proprietors
Round Tower Hotel
Ardmore
Co. Waterford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Lovely hotel....spotlessly clean....friendly owner and staff......modern decor......room small but perfect for short visit e.g. 2 nights.....love all the little extras in room.....would have been nice to see owner before we left to say thankyou.....definately recommend.
Anne and Niall

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 305anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Dear 305anne,

Lovely to have you both with us and pity I didn't get to say good-bye on departure.
Thank you for your kind and positive review - it gives the team here a great boost.
Look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Regards,
Aidan Quirke
Proprietor
Round Tower Hotel
Ardmore
Co. Waterford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardmore
0.9 km away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,785 reviews
7.9 km away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
366 reviews
4.2 km away
Ardmore Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Newtown Farm Country House
3.4 km away
No photo provided
Sea Pearl B&B
#4 of 5 in Ardmore
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Tower Hotel

Address: Round Tower Hotel College Road | Ardmore, Co. Waterford, Ardmore P36 PD61, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Price Range: S$191 - S$212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Round Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run Round Tower Hotel is located in the beautiful village of Ardmore. Round Tower Hotel is a a Fáilte Ireland approved 3 star hotel. Nestled in the western end of county Waterford in Ireland's acclaimed 'Sunny South East', the hotel offers guests and visitors the opportunity to enjoy their break in one of Ireland's oldest Christian settlement villages. The hotel offers 10 well appointed en suite bedrooms (refurbished in 2016) with free Wifi, TV, phone and tea & coffee facilities. There is a choice of single, double and family rooms available. B&B rates, room only and group discount rates are available on request. No pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Round Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hotel Ardmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing