We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid setting and a spectacular breakfast room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palacio de los Salcedo
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Baeza
Reviewed 26 September 2017

A glorious base for a couple of days of gentle exploration of Baeza and neighouring Ubeda - this refitted historic building is right in the town centre, a short stroll from the main square ringed by restaurants, and we were lucky enough to be assigned a huge room with equally huge bed and expansive bathroom - corner whirlpool bath, powerful shower, top facilities. Not sure if I'd have been as delighted if we'd been given a ground floor room, each of which is reached up a short flight of steps from the breakfast courtyard.

Only niggles were rattling flags/poles on the balcony directly outside as the wind picked up, but I managed to muffle them by cunning use of cannibalised shoeshine sponge, and a widescreen TV perched somewhat precariously on a narrow table which wouldn't need much of a nudge to bring about a disaster.

Breakfast had to be sampled because of the stunning setting - to be fair, it wasn't a spectacular feast but there was a good range of foods on offer though the waitress service on hot drinks was a bit of a brake on our normal rate of ingesting caffeine first thing.

I've seen a couple of sniffy comments about standoffish staff - not so, the welcome wasn't over the top, which is the way we like it, but we had no issues.

Most visitors probably stick to the town centre but a gentle stroll on the designated walk around the edge of town with spectacular views over the surrounding countryside (Paseo las Murallas) should not be missed.

If you're travelling by car, avoid the expensive parking options right in the town centre because there is plenty of free on-street parking only a short stoll away, we found a spot on Calle el Carmen and it didn't cost us a penny.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017

This hotel is located in what appears to be one of the "palacios" that is the highlight of the twin towns Baeza and Ubenda. We had a suited and a normal room and both were really nice. Expect some street noise in the late evening and in the morning (street cleaning). While parking close by is expensive and troublesome - its only a short walk to free street parking. I found that the hotel is "overselling" their breakfast - but maybe its just a little more Spanish that what we are used to? The staff was helpful enough but only had limited English knowledge and maybe came through a little "reserved"

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MortenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

I stayed in this beautiful hotel for a couple of days. It is really a palace hotel. The room is spacious enough, nice furniture. I salute to your staff name Luis Alberto in the reception, who is very professional, friendly and very attentive to all the guests request. He is a great asset of the team! Keep it up.

My booking is included with breakfast, full of selection of foods and super tasty. All in all, no complaint. I surely recommend this hotel to my friends who love to come in beautiful Baeza.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jpmitch2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

I We liked very much this hotel that is a palace that was renovated and opened again in 2016 . The furniture inside suits the old days and is beautiful. The patio where breakfast was served is exceptional nice. Breakfast was good. Staff was very helpful and understanding. We changed our plans and announced the hotel that we will arrive very late about 21.00 o'clock and Mrs. Carmen said to me no problem and so it was
Location was excellent and many restaurants and coffee bars were very near the hotel..

The only thing that upset us that the Hotel doesn't have a parking place for the car. I found on the street nearby and it was free until 9.00 o'clock next morning..

Room Tip: each room has other decoration so you can choose whatever you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lavon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Hi guys,

Doesn't really matter if the location is a palace situated in the center of a beautifull medieval town. They treat turists (everyone but spanish customers) very bad...u will feel like some third rate citizen...they make u feel like u r being made a favour for allowing u to pay....for very basic food, not very clean rooms....too bad for the location ....
I do not recommend anyone to go there if they are not seriously into Sado Masochism....
Avoid if u do not want to ruin your time in Baeza.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank alec1234paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baeza
0.1 km away
TRH BAEZA
TRH BAEZA
#2 of 8 in Baeza
418 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Puerta de la Luna
0.8 km away
Hotel Campos de Baeza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Hotel Palacio de Ubeda
8.9 km away
Parador de Ubeda
Parador de Ubeda
#1 of 13 in Ubeda
692 reviews
8.8 km away
Hotel Sercotel Rosaleda de Don Pedro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio de los Salcedo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio de los Salcedo

Address: Calle San Pablo 18, 23440 Baeza, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Jaen > Baeza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Baeza
Price Range: $81 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palacio de los Salcedo 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Palacio de los Salcedo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing