We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,027)
Filter reviews
2,027 results
Traveller rating
872
672
300
118
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
872
672
300
118
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old house signature room entertainment team evening entertainment roman mosaic rifle shooting bubble pool daytime activities age group resident band night break historic rooms table tennis entertainment area jane seymour steeped in history chinese room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 2,027 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2021

Booked littlecote house at short notice 30th August - 3rd September after our cricket st thomas break was cancelled due to covid.
After reading many reviews I was a bit concerned about what to expect, but to be perfectly honest need not have worried!
Booked 2 historic rooms with the added bonus of allocated parking space, the rooms were spacious and cleaned every day, water and biscuits topped up.
The only negatives were one room had a very pungent smell of damp in the bathroom, although not an issue for me it may be for other guests.
On the 2nd morning a couple of dead birds had dropped down the chimney in the other room, once reported it was dealt with in an officiant manner.
The dining experience although different from previous warners breaks, there was enough choice to choose from for us, arrived hot and in a timely manner. Drinks orders taken at the table again no long waiting times. Also had the same table and waiter daric for the entire week. It was also good to chat to fellow guests sitting nearby.
The breakfast was served buffet style which was more than adequate, with help yourself fruit and cereal, coffee, tea and toast served at the table.
Entertainment in the evening was at the normal high level that we have come to expect, the in house entertainment team probably rate as the best vocal group we have experienced from our many warners breaks. No problem with seating arrangements no allocated tables, we managed to sit in the same place every night, drinks orders taken and served to your table. Again no long waiting times for drinks.
Found all the staff at the hotel welcoming and friendly.
We don't usually use any of the day time facilities, but use the hotels great location for trips out and about. I would recommend for the location and setting.
All in all had a very good experience and will definitely return again in the future.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank K3093OVdavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

All of your comments and personal observations have been noted for future review.

We're so pleased to read that you had a good experience and will be returning, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Kate K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2021

Lillycoat is a beautiful stately Elizabethan home set in picturesque countryside. My self, wife and a large group of friends paid over £5,000, or should I say nearly £600 per couple for the weekend booking and we expected to be spoilt. Sadly not. Shortage of staff or a Matradi to oversee the dinning room activities would have gone a long way to providing a better service. Charging for hot drinks with your evening meal was penny pinching and a disgrace. There was a limited variety of fish and meat for evening meals, salmon two evenings running. The old house had a beautiful coffee lounge and equipped with a piano. Unfortunately on Friday and Saturday when we visited there was no service and certainly no music. A cinema apparently opened in the afternoon only wasn’t available in the evening. Menus and guide plans in what appeared to be 6 font, unreadable for most people. As I have previously said a beautiful house but limited activities and not enough signage or information provided. Disappointed with the organisation and senior management but heaps of praise for the staff who worked tremendously hard.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LeslieR94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of your stay at Littlecote House Hotel.

We’re so sorry to hear that you experienced some dissatisfaction during your stay with us and it’s with deep regret to hear some of your comments.

Due to the nature of your comments, we do hope you raised these concerns during your break, as it is always disappointing to receive feedback about a guest experience after a guest has returned home if we have not had the opportunity to put things right at the time of your stay.

All your comments will be shared with our Hotel team for future best practice and we will certainly pass on your kind words to our team, who are working hard during this time to give our guests a great time and we are incredibly proud of them.

We do hope you will come and see us again.

Kind regards,
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2021 via mobile

Very disappointing !!!room was not as expected , lot smaller , tea and coffee not filled up each day , swimming and steam sauna area was not clean !! Shop was not open due to Covid !!! Function room was crammed with people and very stuffy , not much ventilation , you had to open an account , could not pay as you go or daily , was billed to room at end of week !!!but food was very good and Christian our waiter was excellent , needs to be said is a holiday for oap as I felt young definantly won’t return for at least 20 years

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Thannant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We’re sorry that you were disappointed with some elements of your holiday. We are however pleased that you enjoyed the food and that Christian, your waiter made such a positive impact on your stay.

We do hope you have raised your concerns with a member of our Hotel team during your stay, as we’re confident they would have been able to offer you some reassurance and perhaps some solutions, to allow you to then enjoy your break fully with us as it is always disappointing to receive negative feedback, if we have not had the opportunity to put things right at the time.

We do hope we are able to welcome you back to Warner Leisure Hotels in the future.

Kind regards,
Kate K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2021

Booked a 4-night break from 30th August, place is a little out of the way and I’m not sure you’d easily find it initially without the aid of a Sat-nav.

Check in was nice and easy and done as you drive to the entrance, they are trying to keep you away from unnecessary trips to reception which is good. We paid an extra £10 for early check-in from Noon (rather than 3:00pm) which I would highly advise. We also paid £100 extra for a Signature Upgrade room and got room 256.

The room was a decent size with an extremely comfortable bed, 2 cosy armchairs with footstools. Bathroom was a nice size with a fabulously powerful shower and the biggest towels I’ve ever seen in a hotel. Room also had a mini fridge with a pint of milk supplied (Shame it was Semi-Skimmed rather than skimmed, but we brought our own anyway, and I sure they would have changed it if asked). Also had a basket of snack bars and fruit juices. What was also nice to see was an abundance of power sockets all with USB sockets. Room was also light, bright, and very quiet.

We had dinner included and while this was ok with 3 choices, it was also quite bland and samey. But it just about passed but I understand from talking to others that, before this Pandemic hit everything hard, the food used to be excellent with a self-service option with many more choices, so it’ll be interesting to see if it ever reverts back to this system. Breakfast was the same, ok but limited choices and the real complaint here was that the plates were rarely hot enough and therefore the food soon became cold.

The break was one of their music events and the main act were Counterfeit Quo on Tuesday, and David Knight – 50 years of Fender Guitar on Wednesday and while these were both superb, the entertainment on Monday & Thursday were shows created by their own production teams and really had a “end-of-the-pier” feel about them but the majority of the people there appeared to like them and there was another venue (The Old Hall) offering alternative entertainment anyway.

Daytime was a bit of an effort to keep busy, they offer events such as Archery and Rifle Shooting, but these were only an hour and were also limited in numbers but also came at no charge so can’t complain too much. Bowls and Tennis were also available if required. They also had quizzes & films during the day. The Spa was ok if a little dated and could benefit with a revamp especially the changing rooms (I’m not keen on freezing cold showers) but the pool was a decent size, and the Sauna / Steam Room did their job. The wife had an Indian Head Massage treatment which she reports was excellent and at £37.00 thought it was great value.

The hotel offered a couple of day trips which were good value and interesting, and as we found out Hungerford is only a 10 min drive away which was good for a quick few hours away.

Now I did say it wasn’t perfect and it wasn’t one big thing but a few little things. Firstly, on Tuesday night, they somehow managed to totally run out of Diet Coke – not only in the restaurant but in the whole hotel – they explained that they had been let down by the supply company. This I can understand but what baffled me is how they could possibly allow the supplies to get so low for this to become a problem, but what made it worse is that they weren’t getting deliveries until Thursday. Surely Wednesday would have been insisted upon.

Another problem was the speed and level of service, this wavered between really excellent and unbelievably painfully slow. In the restaurant we had the same table for Breakfast and Dinner each day, which was a nice touch, but it did mean that we had to suffer the same server every time. At times he really appeared that he’d rather be anywhere else, and it was all too much effort. Service in the bar was at times not much better, sometimes excellent (Monday evening) but most often really slow but I did get it confirmed that there was a staffing issue.

I also have a big complaint with the bar prices, to charge £2.25 for a small bottle of Diet Coke (When they had any that is) is really outrageous. Coffee was similarly badly over-priced.

Finally in most hotels, rooms are serviced by early/mid-morning however here there weren’t done until very late morning/mid-afternoon.

So, although we had a reasonable time, and it was acceptable. I’m not sure it was really worth nearly £900 for a 4-night break. Personally, I think at 57 & 62, we might just have been a touch young for Warners.

Would I return, possibly No.
Would I recommend it, yes but with reservations.

Room tip: Pay extra for early Check in, Signature rooms are a good Upgrade
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank F7101BLchrisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We’re sorry to hear your disappointment with some element of your stay and we are disappointed to hear that these aspects have not met your expectations on this occasion.

We hope, despite your current feelings of disappointment, that you will return it to us in the future.

Kind regards,
Kate K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2021

Omg here we go start payed £950 pound for contemporary royale room (we always try to have royale rooms )got key open door to find the black hole of calcutta? Large room small window in one corner. Then the bathroom!! Towel rail loose on the wall only the bottom half of which became remotely warm because most of the oil had over time leaked onto the floor, the toilet seat was loose and the extractor fan didn't work. But credit to house keeping it was clean. So I ask myself what am I paying extra for? is it because when we are in the room the lights have to be on or is it for the spot light that is on all night that lights up the whole room. On a general note the gardens are all in need of attention so is the general maintenance, a coat of paint here and there wouldn't go amiss. The only saving grace really are the waiting staff, dining room and longe areas who are doing an excellent job, short staffed and with no obvious help or input from the management team. Have never been to Littlecote before though we have been to warners for over 40 years, will make sure we don't go there again.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sooty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We’re sorry that you were disappointed with some elements of your holiday.

We do hope you have raised your concerns with a member of our Hotel team during your stay, as we’re confident they would have been able to offer you some reassurance and perhaps some solutions, to allow you to then enjoy your break fully with us as it is always disappointing to receive negative feedback, if we have not had the opportunity to put things right at the time.

We do hope we are able to welcome you back to Warner Leisure Hotels in the future.

Kind regards,
Kate K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews