We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,979)
Filter reviews
1,979 results
Traveller rating
852
661
288
114
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
852
661
288
114
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old house signature room entertainment team evening entertainment roman mosaic rifle shooting age group historic rooms resident band mid week break guided tour table tennis house tour chinese room jane seymour steeped in history popham restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,979 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2021 via mobile

The break we had was very relaxing and our signature room was clean and nice comfortable bed, big bathroom and nice shower. We walked down to the dining room and were very surprised to find it looked like a cattle market or even what you would expect a Butlins Holiday camp restaurant to look like! It was just a sea of faces and looked as though Warner had packed in as many tables as they could. The dinner was good and a good choice of menu. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice but the eggs were not good. Our grievance was that from the beginning of our stay we were not allocate a table so were told to sit anywhere! So on the second evening we sat at the same table to be confronted by an aggressive women who said it was her table and we had to move and wait in front of other guests to be given another table, embarrassing!! The next night was even worse as we sat at the table we were given, ordered wine and just finished our starters when we were approached by the lady who apparently ran the restaurant and asked if we would be kind enough to move tables yet again because someone had complained that we were on HIS table and he wanted us gone! After us saying no, we would not move yet again for the third night my partner was approached by a rude furious loud man demanding we move in front of all the other guest's which by now were all staring, embarrassing wasn't even the word.! It totally ruined our evening dinner. When we finished our meal I demanded to see the restaurant manager to ask why finding our own table was such a problem, apparently they said that the computer system was wrong and there were too many guests going in. The next evening it was resolved and we sat at the same table for both breakfast and dinner, what we didn't understand is why this had been made such an issue, all we got was a verbal apology. We have to say the staff who were mainly foreign were fantastic in all departments and work extremely hard something maybe management should acknowledge!! At the end of our stay it would have been nice to have had a written opology after all they charge enough! We saw in an earlier post this year that to get into your room at 12noon instead of 3pm they charge you an extra £10 this now has gone up to £20! Entertainment was excellent and vocalist Steve Holley is hilarious! Tip. Avoid buying a bottle of wine for dinner it was £23!!! Would we go again, not sure.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We’re sorry to hear your disappointment with some elements of your stay and we are sorry to hear that these aspects have not met your expectations on this occasion. During these times, we have not been allocating a table for the duration of a guests stay, however, if this caused some confusion and tension during your holiday, then we sincerely apologise.

We hope you will return it to us in the future.

Kind regards,
Kate K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2021

Our stay was in the old house, which we were advised was on first floor, no lift, however the 1st floor was actually three flights of stairs.
Old house Regency Room was rather impoverished, restaurant was freezing from continual blasting air conditioner, food was rubbish apart from breakfast. Grounds were lovely, but needed some TLC. We thought we had booked into a care home, as if you did not have a walking stick, walker, mobility buggy, you did not fit in, there was not a mix of ages, very expensive for break that appeared to be more suited to a pensioner special. Never again.

Room tip: Book somewhere else.
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank F5925EFmargaretd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your first visit to Warner Leisure Hotels.

Warner Leisure Hotels offer an adult-only holiday experience and we value all our guests – those that visit us regularly and those new to Warner, and of any age (over 21 years of age of course!)

Thank you for your personal observations and despite your current disappointment, we do hope you will consider visiting us again.

Kind regards,
Kate K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2021

We stayed at littlecote house for 3nts from the 20th Aug ,staying in a standard room.
Firstly ,the positives .Our room was clean,quiet and comfortable.The bed was super comfortable and house keeping was spot on.We had everything we needed in order to have an enjoyable stay.Every staff member we encountered was,engaging helpful and personable.Evening entertainment was of a really high standard.The outside seating areas were good and given the weather was mostly good ,we made good use of outside space.We had the gin festival during our stay and we thoroughly enjoyed that.It was waiter service at the bar and apart from the 1st night(long wait and repeated requests to be served)we were served quickly ,efficiently and always with a smile.We are repeat guests to Warner’s and this is the standard we have come to expect,one of the reasons we return each year .
Now for the not so great……oh dear ,what on earth has happened to the food!??
Breakfast….tea and coffee served from flasks,leaving in it tasteless ,luke warm and undrinkable.We did in fact refuse to be served it and requested fresh tea brought to our table in pots .Our super waiter obliged .Cold breakfast choices really poor,and many items unavailable.On the last morning ,no yoghurt,no scrambled egg and only one choice of pastry.My choice for breakfast was haddock and eggs,although the quality was good ,the portion size was megre (which was something of a theme during our stay).we ended up asking for 2portions ,just to make it enough food.
Evening meal…..just abysmal,cold,items not available,limited choice ,no salads ,veg choices strange .Peppers,onions and beetroot served as accompaniment to a roast.The food and portion size didn’t remotely resemble the pictures on website.We mentioned to our waiter that it just simply wasn’t enough food,we were hungry (so hungry in fact we got snacks from our room after leaving the restaurant on 1st night).On subsequent evenings-we asked for extra everything with our order ,we were mostly accommodated with our request,but this shouldn’t be necessary!
So to summarise,the dining experience feels rationed and penny pinching,in no way what we have come to expect,the super efficient waiters do their best ,but spend a lot of time fielding guests complaints about the food.The after diner conversation amongst the guests was always,every night the absolute decline of the restaurant offerings.If we didn’t feel so short changed it would have been laughable.So come on decision makers at Warner ,you must ,by now be in no doubt that there is a problem with the new menu.Hopefully this can be put right and guests reassured of a return to the ‘old style’restaurant high standards.The food was always a stand out part of our break ,sadly ,no longer.
We did try to speak to the F and B manager during our stay and emailed twice on our return,still awaiting a reply.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Viktim5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

It’s with regret that you felt disappointed with your dining experience during your break and we apologise if our new measures and new service, implemented for our guests’ health, safety and enjoyment, caused you some dissatisfaction.

We continue to listen to both team and guest feedback and are working hard, and we are confident that by making some interim changes, our new food and beverage experience will be returned to the usual high levels our guests, including yourself, expect from us.

Thank you again for your comments, we’ve ensured these are noted going forward and we do hope to welcome you back to Warner again soon.

Kind regards,
Kate K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2021

Booked littlecote house at short notice 30th August - 3rd September after our cricket st thomas break was cancelled due to covid.
After reading many reviews I was a bit concerned about what to expect, but to be perfectly honest need not have worried!
Booked 2 historic rooms with the added bonus of allocated parking space, the rooms were spacious and cleaned every day, water and biscuits topped up.
The only negatives were one room had a very pungent smell of damp in the bathroom, although not an issue for me it may be for other guests.
On the 2nd morning a couple of dead birds had dropped down the chimney in the other room, once reported it was dealt with in an officiant manner.
The dining experience although different from previous warners breaks, there was enough choice to choose from for us, arrived hot and in a timely manner. Drinks orders taken at the table again no long waiting times. Also had the same table and waiter daric for the entire week. It was also good to chat to fellow guests sitting nearby.
The breakfast was served buffet style which was more than adequate, with help yourself fruit and cereal, coffee, tea and toast served at the table.
Entertainment in the evening was at the normal high level that we have come to expect, the in house entertainment team probably rate as the best vocal group we have experienced from our many warners breaks. No problem with seating arrangements no allocated tables, we managed to sit in the same place every night, drinks orders taken and served to your table. Again no long waiting times for drinks.
Found all the staff at the hotel welcoming and friendly.
We don't usually use any of the day time facilities, but use the hotels great location for trips out and about. I would recommend for the location and setting.
All in all had a very good experience and will definitely return again in the future.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank K3093OVdavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

All of your comments and personal observations have been noted for future review.

We're so pleased to read that you had a good experience and will be returning, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Kate K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2021

Lillycoat is a beautiful stately Elizabethan home set in picturesque countryside. My self, wife and a large group of friends paid over £5,000, or should I say nearly £600 per couple for the weekend booking and we expected to be spoilt. Sadly not. Shortage of staff or a Matradi to oversee the dinning room activities would have gone a long way to providing a better service. Charging for hot drinks with your evening meal was penny pinching and a disgrace. There was a limited variety of fish and meat for evening meals, salmon two evenings running. The old house had a beautiful coffee lounge and equipped with a piano. Unfortunately on Friday and Saturday when we visited there was no service and certainly no music. A cinema apparently opened in the afternoon only wasn’t available in the evening. Menus and guide plans in what appeared to be 6 font, unreadable for most people. As I have previously said a beautiful house but limited activities and not enough signage or information provided. Disappointed with the organisation and senior management but heaps of praise for the staff who worked tremendously hard.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LeslieR94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of your stay at Littlecote House Hotel.

We’re so sorry to hear that you experienced some dissatisfaction during your stay with us and it’s with deep regret to hear some of your comments.

Due to the nature of your comments, we do hope you raised these concerns during your break, as it is always disappointing to receive feedback about a guest experience after a guest has returned home if we have not had the opportunity to put things right at the time of your stay.

All your comments will be shared with our Hotel team for future best practice and we will certainly pass on your kind words to our team, who are working hard during this time to give our guests a great time and we are incredibly proud of them.

We do hope you will come and see us again.

Kind regards,
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews