We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,027)
Filter reviews
2,027 results
Traveller rating
872
672
300
118
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
872
672
300
118
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old house signature room entertainment team evening entertainment roman mosaic rifle shooting bubble pool daytime activities age group resident band night break historic rooms table tennis entertainment area jane seymour steeped in history chinese room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 2,027 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2021

Went here for a midweek break to celebrate a birthday and was really pleased with the staff, food and facilities. The gardens and grounds are a delight to walk around, the roman mosaics, although fairly small, some of the best preserved that I have ever seen and the choice of activities too many to do in just a few days. The staff were always friendly (an especial mention for Chris here, he was always very helpful and charming), the food choice and quality amazing (and plenty of it) and the breakfast choice also needs a special mention this was terrific!
We also took advantage of a day trip to Bourton on the Water with a train ride on the Gloucester Warwickshire Steam Railway - this I can thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We're delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you appreciated the gardens and grounds, activities and service from our team. Thank you also for your comments regarding the breakfast, we're glad you enjoyed the choices on offer!

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards,

Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2021

We recently stayed at Littlecote House having previously enjoyed stays at other Warner hotels both pre-pandemic and during the pandemic.

However this stay fell well short of the standard we had come to expect. The room was fine as was the food but the service in the Late Lounge was abysmal to say the least. I would not put this down to a lack of staff but a lack of proper supervision and management of the available staff. The young staff seemed to “hide” for long periods in the room behind the main bar, only venturing out to take orders for 5 - 10 mins in every hour. When my wife complained to the lady behind the bar, the Hospitality Manager was summoned and he directed the staff to take orders but as soon as he disappeared so did the bar staff again.

There was an under staff issue in the main house with us waiting to be served for nearly an hour despite reminding the senior bar person twice we were still waiting to be served, she apologised and explained she was on her own and tasked with training a new member of staff. We left the main house and went into the main bar where there seemed to be more than enough staff, why didn’t the management re-direct one or two to the main house, again a total lack of proper management.

The entertainment was also below par compared with our other Warner experiences, on Fri evening the tribute to Lulu, although good, was far too short with only one 40min set instead of the usual two sets, Sat evening, the Everly Brothers and Friends was excellent however. The Sun evening was an ABBA Tribute but provided by the hotel entertainment team, good but not an external entertainment which was expected.

To reinforce the need for a new outlook from management in customer care we had little or no hot water from Sat morning until we checked out on Mon morning, only after phoning reception on the Sat evening we found out the hotel boilers had failed. I would have expected a written note from the management explaining the situation and what was being done to fix the problem, perhaps a voucher to spend at the bar as a goodwill gesture would also have gone some way to pacify the guests.

All in all this experience fell well short of the expected Warner experience and can only hope this was an exception rather than the rule.

Room tip: Don’t stay here unless service is much improved.
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigel562016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

It's with deep regret that you felt disappointed with so many aspects of your stay including your accommodation entertainment and dining experience. Please be assured that we're continuously reviewing and adapting our processes and we have ensured all of your feedback and observations are noted going forward.

Thank you once again for your review, and despite your current disappointment we hope to welcome you back to Warner again soon.

Regards,

Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2021

A very good rambling old house with annexes providing superb accommodation. Rooms were extremely comfortable and catered well for its clientele like myself, getting on in life.

Very good choice of food albeit on a mass catering style which is to be expected. The Warner’s concept would very much suit the cruising fraternity with its choice of entertainment and leisure activities which is first class. Very nice interior throughout with comfortable surroundings, carpeted in most places.

The staff were always friendly and helpful, willing to please their clients to ensure a completely welcome stay.

Room tip: Rooms on ground floor available
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It's lovely to read of the various aspects of the hotel that stood out to you, including your accommodation, dining and service from the team. We know they will be very grateful!

We do hope that we'll be able to welcome you again in the near future!

Regards,

Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2021

We recently spent four nights at this hotel (Sept 2021)and were greatly overcharged for what we received.We paid for a gold week which we expected to have sequence dancing on a regular basis. I don’t class three dances per night as a gold week! The food was poor for a supposedly four star hotel. I have had better meals from one star hotels.The food was Luke warm at dinner and meagre propositions and not the choice we have experienced in the past.Thursday night was a disaster waiting two hours for our meal and no explanation for the delay until we asked the reason(computer glitch) what was the problem with pen and paper? When it did arrive one of the party had a foreign body in her meal which they almost swallowed- the answer was too offer a bottle of wine. We missed dancing that night.A Walker

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D6063HSarthurw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We're so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that you did not feel that many areas were satisfactory.

It's with regret that you did not feel we did met with your expectations in many aspects of your visit, and we've taken note of your comments to share with the hotel going forward.

We do hope that you will consider visiting one of our Warner Leisure Hotels in the future, to give us the opportunity to restore your faith in our offering.

Regards,

Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2021

First time at a Warner's and very impressed.
Reception was efficient and friendly - we were welcomed in the driveway, given information and directed on where to park. Our room was very quiet, comfortable and well appointed. Bathroom was very good, with a lovely shower - and all very clean and modern.
Meals were service for dinner and combination of service and help yourself for breakfast. This worked well for us. Staff in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful and appeared well trained. As an aside, we encountered one new member of staff who said she was new and still learning - this is of course necessary and fully understood, so why don't all hotels do it?
Food was good, apart from on one morning, the breakfast buffet wasn't especially hot.
The bar was all table service and generally they were on top of things. OK, prices are a bit high but you know in these sort of hotels that will be the case. Only downside - a usual complaint from me - is that the beer selection was pretty limited. And why do beers get served chilled - removes any taste they may have had!
Two staff we'd particularly mention are Juliana in the restraurant and Finlay in the bar who worked really hard; both really on top of the job.
Entertainment is of course a matter of taste. We had selected this hotel because of the Saturday evening entertainment and we we not disappointed. Lance Ellington and the Band were first class. Friday evening Neil Sedaka evening was ok - the guy had a nice voice but wouldn't ever be mistaken for Neil Sedaka. That said, all was good and we've no complaints.
All in all, a very good weekend, which we thoroughly enjoyed and will be looking at Warner's brochure for short breaks next year.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your stay at Littlecote House Hotel.

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us.

It's lovely to read that you found many aspects of your visit to be satisfactory, including your dining experience, accommodation and entertainment. Thank you also for taking the time to mention Finlay and Juliana, we're sure they will appreciate your comments.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Regards,

Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews