We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,027)
Filter reviews
2,027 results
Traveller rating
872
672
300
118
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
872
672
300
118
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old house signature room entertainment team evening entertainment roman mosaic rifle shooting bubble pool daytime activities age group resident band night break historic rooms table tennis entertainment area jane seymour steeped in history chinese room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 2,027 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2021

We had a lovely stay at Littlecote last week.

Firstly, there is a new ID system in place (in fact it started with our arrival last Monday). On check-in you are now given a card which has your name, arrival and departure dates, room number and what level you are (if any) in club warner. You need to show this EVERY time you make a purchase at the hotel and go into breakfast and dinner. I forgot it at breakfast on Tuesday morning and had to go back and get it – so keep it on you. You no longer have to show your club warner card every time you buy something – just this new ID card. Without fail we were asked for it every time we made a purchase. Receipts are also given as a matter of course so you can check the right discount has been applied; we only had to ask for one once or twice. You also have to give this ID card back when you check out.

On our arrival day we had booked an afternoon tea (albeit at 1pm) to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was in the Chinese Room in the old house. Lovely food served in a lovely room. Don’t worry if you can’t eat everything – anything left over can be boxed up for you to enjoy another time. The old house is fascinating to explore. There is a leaflet you can take round with you with gives some of the background of the various rooms. However, I would say that better signage is required because it is really easy to miss some of the rooms. We just basically poked our noses around any door which didn’t have “no entry”, “private” or was locked. The WW2 museum is a must-see – small but they have packed such a lot in. It was fascinating to learn about Littlecote during the War – the American 101st Airborne Division were based there.

We used the pool and gym, took some lovely walks around the house, including the Roman remains and the mosaic floor. You don’t have pre-book for either the pool or gym. The pool area also has a sauna and steam room and a bubble pool. We treated ourselves to massages which were lovely as normal.

We had a signature room with patio (219). Perfectly nice, comfortable bed, nice and quiet. The room was cleaned well every day.

The bar was fine. It was all the staff who really stood out for me. All of them were so helpful, smiley and 9 times out of 10 we had no problems with getting served. Yes, they were short-staffed but they all worked really hard and we heard that several new staff members had started that week. Food was generally very good. Our waiter was fantastic – he couldn’t have been more helpful. Several times I asked him to “customise” my food and he always managed to get this done. For example, one evening I didn’t want rice with the katsu chicken so they gave me chips. Another time I wanted two starters as a main course – that was no problem either.

The evening entertainment really stood out for me on this break. The first night we had a musicals themed evening from the entertainments team. All four of them were excellent singers, but Carla and Joseph really stood out for me. The second night we saw comedy impressionist Christopher Gee. So impressed with this guy, he was absolutely fantastic. His impressions were sooo good and he seems to have an uncanny ability to transform himself into many recognisable people just by changing his body position. As for all of the voices, just brilliant.

The third night we saw Luke Sabatino and Kieran Sutcliffe. Previously we have seen Luke in his own show, this was the first time we have seen them both together. A wonderful, professional show, absolutely spell—binding. Our final night and it was back to the entertainments team and we had a tribute to Abba sung by Marianna (singer with the band) and Rachael. The dance floor was full at the end! For those who like it, there is plenty of dancing to be had, along with sequence and line dancing. The band, Sahara Blue, was absolutely fantastic, working so hard each night. They also accompanied Sabatino and Sutcliffe.

Each evening of our break there was a singer from the entertainments team in the bar once the main entertainment had finished. We always go to these and I think it is a shame that so many people don’t stay. However, in some ways, it is nice that the audience is so small because you are treated to what feels like a very intimate performance. This entertainment generally starts at 10.30pm and goes on for anywhere between 40 minutes and an hour. Carla and Joseph both did brilliant sets, but Steve also stands out and mixed a lot of comedy into his act.

Another great stay at a Warner Leisure Hotel.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sue190747
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind and comprehensive review of your recent stay at Warner.

It's been a delight to read all of our comments about what you enjoyed. From your arrival to your accommodation and your dining experience and leisure activities on offer. It's also lovely that you got to enjoy a nice afternoon tea as well as the history of the old house.

Once again we're pleased that you enjoyed a much deserved stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards,

Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2021

Went here for a midweek break to celebrate a birthday and was really pleased with the staff, food and facilities. The gardens and grounds are a delight to walk around, the roman mosaics, although fairly small, some of the best preserved that I have ever seen and the choice of activities too many to do in just a few days. The staff were always friendly (an especial mention for Chris here, he was always very helpful and charming), the food choice and quality amazing (and plenty of it) and the breakfast choice also needs a special mention this was terrific!
We also took advantage of a day trip to Bourton on the Water with a train ride on the Gloucester Warwickshire Steam Railway - this I can thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We're delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you appreciated the gardens and grounds, activities and service from our team. Thank you also for your comments regarding the breakfast, we're glad you enjoyed the choices on offer!

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards,

Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2021

We recently stayed at Littlecote House having previously enjoyed stays at other Warner hotels both pre-pandemic and during the pandemic.

However this stay fell well short of the standard we had come to expect. The room was fine as was the food but the service in the Late Lounge was abysmal to say the least. I would not put this down to a lack of staff but a lack of proper supervision and management of the available staff. The young staff seemed to “hide” for long periods in the room behind the main bar, only venturing out to take orders for 5 - 10 mins in every hour. When my wife complained to the lady behind the bar, the Hospitality Manager was summoned and he directed the staff to take orders but as soon as he disappeared so did the bar staff again.

There was an under staff issue in the main house with us waiting to be served for nearly an hour despite reminding the senior bar person twice we were still waiting to be served, she apologised and explained she was on her own and tasked with training a new member of staff. We left the main house and went into the main bar where there seemed to be more than enough staff, why didn’t the management re-direct one or two to the main house, again a total lack of proper management.

The entertainment was also below par compared with our other Warner experiences, on Fri evening the tribute to Lulu, although good, was far too short with only one 40min set instead of the usual two sets, Sat evening, the Everly Brothers and Friends was excellent however. The Sun evening was an ABBA Tribute but provided by the hotel entertainment team, good but not an external entertainment which was expected.

To reinforce the need for a new outlook from management in customer care we had little or no hot water from Sat morning until we checked out on Mon morning, only after phoning reception on the Sat evening we found out the hotel boilers had failed. I would have expected a written note from the management explaining the situation and what was being done to fix the problem, perhaps a voucher to spend at the bar as a goodwill gesture would also have gone some way to pacify the guests.

All in all this experience fell well short of the expected Warner experience and can only hope this was an exception rather than the rule.

Room tip: Don’t stay here unless service is much improved.
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigel562016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

It's with deep regret that you felt disappointed with so many aspects of your stay including your accommodation entertainment and dining experience. Please be assured that we're continuously reviewing and adapting our processes and we have ensured all of your feedback and observations are noted going forward.

Thank you once again for your review, and despite your current disappointment we hope to welcome you back to Warner again soon.

Regards,

Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2021

A very good rambling old house with annexes providing superb accommodation. Rooms were extremely comfortable and catered well for its clientele like myself, getting on in life.

Very good choice of food albeit on a mass catering style which is to be expected. The Warner’s concept would very much suit the cruising fraternity with its choice of entertainment and leisure activities which is first class. Very nice interior throughout with comfortable surroundings, carpeted in most places.

The staff were always friendly and helpful, willing to please their clients to ensure a completely welcome stay.

Room tip: Rooms on ground floor available
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It's lovely to read of the various aspects of the hotel that stood out to you, including your accommodation, dining and service from the team. We know they will be very grateful!

We do hope that we'll be able to welcome you again in the near future!

Regards,

Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2021

We recently spent four nights at this hotel (Sept 2021)and were greatly overcharged for what we received.We paid for a gold week which we expected to have sequence dancing on a regular basis. I don’t class three dances per night as a gold week! The food was poor for a supposedly four star hotel. I have had better meals from one star hotels.The food was Luke warm at dinner and meagre propositions and not the choice we have experienced in the past.Thursday night was a disaster waiting two hours for our meal and no explanation for the delay until we asked the reason(computer glitch) what was the problem with pen and paper? When it did arrive one of the party had a foreign body in her meal which they almost swallowed- the answer was too offer a bottle of wine. We missed dancing that night.A Walker

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D6063HSarthurw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Leisure Hotels, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We're so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that you did not feel that many areas were satisfactory.

It's with regret that you did not feel we did met with your expectations in many aspects of your visit, and we've taken note of your comments to share with the hotel going forward.

We do hope that you will consider visiting one of our Warner Leisure Hotels in the future, to give us the opportunity to restore your faith in our offering.

Regards,

Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews