We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sun Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hipping Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Whoop Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Snooty Fox(Kirkby Lonsdale)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$110
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redwell Inn(Arkholme)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orange Tree Hotel(Kirkby Lonsdale)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,461)
Filter reviews
1,461 results
Traveller rating
1,282
154
17
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,282
154
17
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschurch bellsdeluxe roomhomemade granolabath saltsattention to detailbath housefree tea and coffeelocal caroverlooking the churchlittle touchesdog bowlbiscuitsfirst classexcellent foodlovely roomparking permitsecond visit
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,461 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2018

I must admit I always find Trip Advisor reviews reliable and those given for The Sun met all my expectations. Lunch was extremely good. The food was well presented, well seasoned and plated with well-judged portions. The ambience was delightful and the service was friendly but professional. It's always nice to find a place that you intend to visit again. I would highly recommend The Sun without any hesitation.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank LAB1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience with us,

It is always nice to read how much our guests have enjoyed their visit and we fully appreciate the support in a recommendation.

We hope to see you in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,
Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Hi , I stayed at the Sun inn at Kirkby Lonsdale . We were greeted by friendly professional staff and offered complimentary coffees from the bar free of charge for the duration of the stay . We had a beautiful Sunday lunch . Which was great value for money . The rooms were comfortable and very clean . The breakfast next morning was home cooked local produce and home made ketchup and jams . A real treat

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mrpat191274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Thank you for your review of the Sun Inn.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

My wife and I stayed here with our dog for two nights. Very dog friendly with a dog bowl, treats and a dog towel provided in the room. Dog also welcome in the bar and in a designated area in the restaurant. Great sausages and black pudding for breakfast! Very comfortable room, welcoming bar and very good food. Great location as well in the centre of the town. While no parking due to its location, they do provide a token for free parking on the towns pay and display car park. On booking they even offered a choice of feather free bedding which we need. Overall, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdm30bmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at the Sun Inn. The black pudding at breakfast is a gust favourite and we are proud to say that it is from the award winning Dales butches next door.

We hope to see you both again.

Kind regards,
Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Lunch can be too much sometimes knowing your out for dinner also.
At The Sun they advertise Small Plates which are great and just fill a gap leaving you still looking forward to dinner.
I ordered the small plate Salmon & Haddock Fishcakes which was delicious. Two fish cakes with a sauce which matched the fishcakes beautifully.
I also ordered a Broccoli soup and it was also very good and definitely tasted homemade. My wife was happy with her fishcakes and I would recommend The Sun for lunch.
They also have rooms here but we never saw them except online. Service was excellent and it felt very family run.
Very relaxed interior and easy to switch of.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Booked room at last minute as was stranded overnight. Unexpected treat. Staff were welcoming friendly and helpful. Food excellent. Room lovely. Even magicked up a bottle of my favourite malt from nowhere. Best hotel experience in England for years.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank dan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Dear Dan,

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased we were able to help you with a room for the night and fantastic to hear the experience was a very positive one for you.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews