We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
230
16
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
230
16
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coast to coast walk stayed here on arrival foot spa packed lunch breakfast was delicious greeted us warmly rooms are lovely brownie long days curry high standard pot of tea a special place made us feel mango tree evening meal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After walking 20 miles on day 6 of the coast to coast walk we would have welcomed a stable and manger as we approached Kirkby Stephen however the Old Croft House is an absolute delight. Beautifully renovated with charming hosts. Our room was huge with a wonderful bath to soak our aching limbs, very centrally located and within walking distance of the restaurants in town. The breakfast was excellent as were the packed lunches - will definitely return again. Definitely recommended place to stay - it deserves its 5 star review rating.

Tony & Kate White

Shropshire

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tozzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nick trentham, Owner at The Old Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Wow, thank you for such a great review! Its always a delight to hear that guests have enjoyed staying with us and that the breakfast and lunches helped you on the way up to Nine Standards. We hope you enjoyed the second half of your adventure and lok forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Rachel & Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect is every way. Shame we only stopped over for 1 night on the C2C. The place is lovely. A Town cottage with rooms that have a stately look and feel to them. The hosts are very welcoming with plenty of knowledge of the C2C and the local area. English Breakfast was nice and hot. Couldn’t fault the place at all. Thank you

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank STEVENJHAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nick trentham, Owner at The Old Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Steven,

Its always lovely to hear our guests have enjoyed staying with us it makes all the hard work worth while. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your coast to coast adventure and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Rachel & Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had the pleasure of staying at The Old Croft House for one night at the end of our first leg if the C2C walk. What a wonderful place to rest very weary limbs and recharge our batteries. Greeted with a delicious slice of cake and a pot of tea, we were provided with everything we could possibly need for a very comfortable night's stay. A large bath was welcome as a means of muscle soaking, and a comfortable bed guaranteed us a good night's sleep. Nick and Rachel are uber friendly, attentive and helpful without being obtrusive. The choices for breakfast were great and the food delicious. This really is a lovely B&B and we've already booked our next stay there.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Loobie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nick trentham, Owner at The Old Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Louise,

Thank you for the great review. We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you again next year, there will be tea and cake ready and waiting for you both.

Kind Regards,

Rachel & Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2021

We stayed at The Old Croft House during our coast to coast adventure. Rachel & Nick are superb hosts; we were welcomed with tea and delicious homemade chocolate cake which was perfect after our long walk that day. The property is stunning as was our room which was also spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was perfect with plenty of choice. We would definitely recommend The Old Croft House and would stay again if we're ever in Kirkby Stephen. ⁸

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nick trentham, Owner at The Old Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Carol

Thank you for the glowing review, it's always lovely to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay in our home and reassuring to know that people appreciate the cleaning efforts this year in particular.

We hope you to see you in the future if you visit the area.

Best wishes

Rachel & Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2021

Stayed at the Hotel in early June 21 while completing the Coast to Coast walk. After a gruelling day in the sun, I was welcomed by Rachel and Nick with Tea, Chocolate Cake and a cool drink. A hot bath was also a bonus in the room.
After a fantastic breakfast , I left on the next stage of my walk. Over an hour later, passing through fields and several dirt tracks, a car approached. In the car was Nick, with my walking stick I had left behind at the hotel!
He would accept nothing as a reward, and wished me well. Good Service is alive and well! Thanks Guys!

Tony. Bury, Lancashire.

Room tip: Call to discuss!
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TonyP202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nick trentham, Owner at The Old Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tony
Thank you for the lovely review and we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that your breakfast helped set you up for your day.
We always like to offer a high level of service and go the extra mile where possible and it was no problem to catch you up and reunite you with your walking pole (it's a lot quicker in the car than walking:)

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and to see you in the future.

Best wishes

Rachel & Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews