We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Milleur House(North Berwick)
US$117
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gilsland Park(North Berwick)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nether Abbey Hotel(North Berwick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canty Bay House(North Berwick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,566)
Filter reviews
2,566 results
Traveller rating
951
767
506
232
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
951
767
506
232
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursethermal suiteoutdoor jacuzziice roomcream teasea viewrelaxation roomlovely hotelsteam roomrelaxing breakreception staffleisure facilitiesrestaurant staffbar pricescooked breakfastevening mealspecial occasion
Filter
Updating list...
1,369 - 1,374 of 2,566 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Great location and nice staff.
Dinner not as good as expected - small choice and really dry brownie. Had it not been included in the room rate it would have gone back. Rooms no king size bed even in exec room. Spa great and breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

Dear 152greigm

Thank you for your positive comments on our team, it is great to know that they looked after you throughout your visit.
I am so sorry that you were disappointed in the food during your visit especially since you seemed to enjoy all other aspects.

I do hope this will not deter you from returning.

Kind regards


Lynn Hood
Regional Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Nice place in a lovely location , brilliant spa nice room plus they allow dogs so was a bonus for us , but I thought the food was really poor so I would just take the short walk into the high street and get food there

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 152greigm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

Dear 152greigm
I am so sorry that you were disappointed in the food during your visit especially since you seemed to enjoy all other aspects. It is not clear from your review which elements were disappointing?

I do hope this will not deter you from returning.

Kind regards


Lynn Hood
Regional Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015

This hotel is in a lovely spot with direct access to the beach. It is stunning from the outside and staff are friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and the sea view was worth the money, some of the decor could do with being refreshed and I was very surprised to find a bath with no shower at all. The wifi was very difficult to access and phone signal isn't great. The food at dinner and breakfast was very tasty but the price of a soft drink was ridiculous.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cosmoprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2015

Dear cosmoprincess

I was intrigued by your comments and am left a bit unsure by what has prompted them- would be happy to hear little more from you – if you get a chance please get in touch on lynn.hood@macdonald-hotels.co.uk.
It sounds as if you had a good visit with the exception of the Wi-fi and drinks prices- sincere apologies that these were concerns. It was good to hear how much you enjoyed the location and that you felt the team were friendly and attentive.

I do hope to hear from you!

Kind regards


Lynn Hood
Regional Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

My wife and I visited from Gullane, just down the road. It was a chance to rejuvenate and the hotel retains a real charm as well as being part of a larger group. Enormous thanks to David McGie who made our stay perfect by finding us an alternative and glorious room on arrival. There was a personal touch which made one feel special and valued.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank JSRBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

Dear JSRBradley

It was lovely to read of your recent visit and we are delighted that you had a great time. David will be really pleased to learn that he helped to make your stay very special- we will make sure he sees your review.

Hoping to see you back soon.

Kind regards


Lynn Hood
Regional Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Wonderful service on check in and throughout the stay, many thanks to Mellany. Have stayed at this hotel before and the condition of the rooms and service from the housekeeping team is always to a very high standard, possibly best in the chain? The stay benefitted from superb views of the coastline from room 227. Altough I didn't manage an evening meal this trip due to personal committments, service and quality of food was first class. All in all can't find any fault with my stay, except maybe bar prices but these do compare with other 'hotel' stays.

Room Tip: Sea facing if available, might come with a premium price though. I have stayed in room 302 once and was very dissapointed though it may have had a upgrade since then as they are all regulrly upgraded.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

Dear Duncan

It was lovely to read of your recent visit and we are delighted that you had a great visit. Thank you for your comments on the team and also the cleanliness and presentation of the hotel.

Hoping to see you back soon.

Kind regards


Lynn Hood
Regional Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews