We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very very very very very very good”
Review of The Basement

The Basement
Ranked #18 of 91 Restaurants in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Basement is built within 'The Drang', a small shopping area on the Quay, and has fantastic views overlooking the Harbour. The Basement has a comfortable inside seating area and a superb newley refurbished alfresco seating area with Harbour Views. It is a great place to eat, drink and socialise in a relaxing environment. If you wish to start your day with a Breakfast, Morning coffee and Cake or prefer to relax inside or outside with a glass of Wine or Beer with our Lunch (roast on sundays) or Evening Menus then we look forward to seeing you. Click 'Details' for more info and photos.
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

On Thursday, we came for Lunch. The place is small inside but there are more seats outside. The staff are so polite. I ordered the Calamari which was good value for money, neatly presented and it tasted nice as well. My only gripe with this place is the Toilet. Yes there is only 1 toilet for all the customers and there are loads of customers. Overall, a VERY good place but it needs more than 1 toilet!

Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBasePad, Owner at The Basement, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

HI
Nice to hear the staff were polite we do encourage them to portray their own personalities within there work instead of forcing them into a corporate drone like staff member. We find this helps them enjoy their work and give the customer a sense of a relaxed efficient service offering. 90% of the staff are local to Padstow as well so good for a little local knowledge.
We do have two toilets. One is up stairs and not exactly obvious so apologies if you felt it was a little frustrating. We will try to be a little more forthcoming in pointing it out in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 1,883 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Visited for quick bite to eat with our dog. Friendly, quick service and great food. I had a fish finger sarnie and my husband had the open cab sandwich. Only niggle would be that the salad that came with it was simply leaves. Not even a dressing. A tomato or two with it would have just finished off the meals nicely. Overall, very good and we’ll be back.

Thank LemonDrizzle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBasePad, Owner at The Basement, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thanks for your kind comments always nice to hear that what we strive for is being delivered. Not sure what happened with the salad dressing but i will mention to the kitchen. The salad is grown on a Padstow farm around a mile away and is the same farm we get a lot of our veg from especially for Sunday lunch. They are very flavorsome on their own but a little dressing does compliment them so i will make sure they are well dressed going forward.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Food looked good, we checked out the menu before going in, and having a dog checked that we could bring him in too.... sign says dogs are ok as long as they are kept on the floor and well behaved, but the staff said that dogs aren’t allowed when we went for a table. There was another table with a dog, but not for food?! Shame really, but a heads up for fellow dog owners!

2  Thank LJP638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBasePad, Owner at The Basement, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hi many thanks for your review
After having spoken to you it seems our signage confused you.
To be clear we welcome well behaved dogs during the day as long as they are clean, kept on the floor and are under the table. We do not allow dogs during our evening service. Our full dogs policy is available on our website. The tables you saw a dog on were exterior to our outside pod. These tables are general tables and dog owners do sometimes sit and have drinks but we do most certainly do not allow dogs in the evenings in our pod or inside the main restaurant.
We have updated our signage to be a little clearer so as to avoid confusion going forward.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We have eaten out in Padstow many times but this was our first visit to The Basement and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent, turbot cooked to perfection and the crab bisque superb.

Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBasePad, Owner at The Basement, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Many thanks for your review always nice to welcome guests for the first time to see what we are all about.........Locally sourced quality food coupled with friendly unobtrusive service.
From looking at the reservations I can see that the night you dined with us the Turbot came from Plymouth that very morning. The crab bisque is made from crab landed in Padstow, we used the white meat for our lunch time crab on toast and the shells get used for the bisque. It’s always nice to hear that our local sourcing pays of in the taste of our food. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Lovely cappuccino, and a brilliant place to 'people watch' if you sit in the pod. Staff really friendly and the whole place was relaxed.

Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBasePad, Owner at The Basement, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi many thanks for your review. We love our 'people watching' spot! We spend a lot of time and effort in training staff in all things coffee and invest in only the best machines to help deliver what we believe to be arguably the best coffee in town. Always nice to hear our efforts are paying off. Perhaps your next sample will be after a meal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Basement also viewed

 

Been to The Basement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing