We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wife's Birthday Trip”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wife's Birthday Trip”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Second time at the Metropole. Were not disappointed, great view from bedroom across the bay to Rock, staff all great and the food, (was on the DB&B deal), was really, really good. When we arrived, Tuesday evening at 6pm the car park was full so went, as advised by reception, to go down through the archway to the second carpark, all OK but had to fold wing mirrors to get through. Breakfast was also great, try the Full Westcountry and watch the fishing boats coming into the harbour. We'll return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Metropole, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear David363

Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I do hope that your Wife was pleased with her Birthday present!

I hope to welcome you both back in future and for many Birthdays to come.

Kind regards and thanks again
Ben Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    506
    199
    83
    49
See reviews for
179
926
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at the Metrapole last week for just one night (wished it could have been longer)Lovely clean room,excellent service from all the staff.The restaurant with its super views and very good food was a delight.We will be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Metropole, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Colin S

Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will certainly enjoy sharing your review with the team here, there is nothing quite so motivational as the recognition of a job well done!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Ben Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Am just about to check out after a one night stay with 'the Mrs' in one of their estuary view rooms. The Metropole is a large old hotel, has bags of charachter and is all about comfort rather than 'show'.
From the initial check in to when we left the staff were friendly, always had a smile and were very chatty and lovely, without being 'over familiar'. THEY ARE TRULY CUSTOMER FOCUSSED. We were mega impressed with the organisation and speed when going down for a meal. We were greeted, seeted and fed speedily without feeling at all rushed. The restaurant staff and the young lady who manages the team are exemplary and having stayed in many hotels in the uk and worldwide I could not remember having been looked after so well.
The dinnner last night and breakfast were Michelin star standard. The depth of flavours in the sauces, superb execution and choice of quality produce made for 2 very special meals.
The service and great food make for very happy guests and the ambience in this place is just lovely. I am not often moved to give feedback (unless I'm unhappy!) but on this ocassion it would be a sin not to!!

Room Tip: ask for one of their estuary views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Metropole, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Mark S

Thank you so much for such a positive and encouraging review.

Customer focus is really the lynch pin in a successful hotel (as well as a good nights sleep of course!) so I am delighted that in this area we excelled.

I will enjoy discussing your comments with Laura, our Restaurant Manager and also her team who work tirelessly to ensure that guest delight is achieved at each and every meal.

I really hope you will consider a future stay and thank you so much again for sharing your experiences!

Kind regards
Ben Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed at the Metropole at the end of Februray and had a wonderful stay. We had a fabulous room on the top floor of the hotel with an estuary and town view. It was very quiet and comfortable. The situation of the hotel is very good for walking or cycling along the camel trail or the costal path and we did both during our stay as the weather was very kind to us. The food at the hotel is delicous we had ours included in the special offer price and had 3 courses each evening. We also had a late lunch of mussels in a special cream and cider sauce on one day of our stay after a particularly long walk. The restaurant at the hotel also has a wonderful view of the sea and estuary. looking forward to a return visit hopefully in the near future!
Christine

Room Tip: Go for a sea view and the top floor it is worth the extra £'s
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csouthcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Metropole, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear csouthcombe

Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us!

The fact that you hope to return is wonderful to hear, please do contact me personally when you wish to do so in order that I may personally attend to your booking.

With kind regards and my thanks again
Ben Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just returned from a 2 night break at this hotel. We have been to the Metropole on several occasions and were not dissapointed. We had a twin room with a estuary view, it was lovely clean and spacious. We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and the food was excellent and very good value. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We will return!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonJules062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Metropole, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear DevonJules062

Thank you for sharing this lovely review. I am so pleased we delivered another enjoyable stay to you and I hope, very much, to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future!

Kind regards
Ben Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
5.5 km away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.2 km away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
17.5 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.2 km away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
10.2 km away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
25.6 km away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price range (per night): $223 - $400
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pride of Padstow Located in one of the most enviable positions on the north Cornwall coast, the Metropole offers stunning sea and harbour views, traditional style bedrooms and delicious AA rosette dining in the Harbour Restaurant. Complete with an outdoor pool and spa treatments, enjoy a truly Cornish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing