We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$138
Agoda.comUS$146
PricelineUS$146
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
174
18
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
174
18
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wet room sense of humour my other half veggie options homemade marmalade seafood buffet fluffy white towels a real treat friendly welcome fantastic meal oysters dover sole full english for sunday lunch two nights pub helen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2021 via mobile

Be aware room three is very small, if you don’t mind crawling over your partner in the middle of the night it’s acceptable as an emergency. Nice wet room though which has a lot more floor space than the bedroom. Food and staff good.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Vic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Egner, Guest Services / Front Office at Alma Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2021

Thank you for your comments Vic, Yes Kingsfords Cabin is small and compact but a lot of people love the room for that precice reason. We hope that you will come back another time and enjoy our food and hospitality in one of our larger rooms.

Our website has accurate photos and a clear description
"Kingsford’s Cabin
Henry John Kingsford was a carpenter who fitted out the bar in 1887. We know this because he left a bit of wood with his name and date on it in a void behind some panelling. It is written on the same wood in which the cabin is panelled, in a beautiful copperplate hand.
Kingsford is small, it’s compact and bijou. If you like that sort of thing it’s perfect. However if you’re oversize and like swinging cats please chose another room. No sea view without a periscope. This room may not be suitable if you have mobility issues."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2021

Three couples stayed last week, in rooms that make the most of a well kept but slightly ramshackle building. Some sloping floors added to the feel and not a place for the unsteady of foot (apart from after some of their excellent cask beer). Excellent staff giving great service. Didn't eat there on this stay but will do next time, the food looked fantastic.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexBoaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2021

Visited Harwich on the off-chance and decided to try the Alma Inn. Not too imposing from the outside but we had a super welcome and were offered the chance to sit as a family outside in the courtyard.
We chose the seafood buffet which included a large lobster, oysters, prawns, herring - rhingrave we hoped for.
The buffet ws more tah enough for 3 people and was excellent.

Date of stay: July 2021
1  Thank clifford16thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

Top of our list for places to visit once we were allowed to stay away from home, we couldn’t wait to get back to the Alma.

We’ve stayed quite a few times now & we got the most wonderful welcome. They’re sticking to all the rules but they’ve managed to keep the special atmosphere & buzz very much alive.

It was so nice to see the place packed on Friday night and even with every seat in the house taken the service was excellent. My other half had the best oysters he’s ever had followed by Dover Sole with jersey Royals and asparagus & I had Skate wing served with remoulade, kimchi & really good chips. All delicious but sadly no room for pudding.

Make sure you bring your appetite with you - portions are large - but not at the expense of quality.

If you’re staying you can expect spotless, and genuinely different rooms & bathrooms. We had a super comfy bed, crisp white bedding & fluffy white towels. Also a damn fine full English breakfast & if you’re lucky enough to stay when there are supplies of Helen’s homemade marmalade as we were, it feels like you won the breakfast lottery!

The family (who introduced us to the Alma) joined us for lunch and loved the food, the welcome & the service plus I got to have pudding - the almond tart - which was yummy.

The Alma offers all round quality & value for money all wrapped up in a bit of a unique package, delivered by a team of very special people. We can’t recommend it highly enough.

After a tough year for the hospitality business it was sooo good to see people rushing back to enjoy the delights of this very special place. We can’t wait for our next visit.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lbp58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 November 2020 via mobile

Love this place - sneaked away for a cheeky lunch before lockdown, food amazing and cosy inside or out, with a huge warm welcome, in very odd times.
Thanks for some normal guys - keep going and we will see you soon thank you !

Date of stay: November 2020
Thank 695mels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews