We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
89
30
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
30
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdurham oxoverlooking the gardenlocal countrysideeggs from their own henssecret recipehome baked biscuitslovely villagefauconberg armswhite company toiletriesan en suite bathroomtea traybooked a tablesitting roomspent two nightsattending a weddingcomfortable bedsweekend break
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Our hosts were so friendly and when shown to our room, it was obvious they took great pride in their business.Room was spacious, clean with excellent bedlinen, great towels and even had a few home baked biscuits.
If you are looking for Best Western characteristics , don't visit here. Indivdual establishment full of caharcter and charm. Excellent breakfast overlooking the garden.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We really enjoyed our recent stay with Andy and Ryan at Newburgh House. We were warmly welcomed and shown to a large comfortable room with everything we needed. We were unsure where to go for dinner and Ryan recommended the Durham Ox and this proved an excellent recommendation. He kindly booked a table for us and gave us a discount voucher as well. The accommodation is perfectly located to explore the surrounding area which has so many attractions to visit. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. See you again soon and thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

The accommodation is good in a wonderful location. The owners are very friendly and the breakfast was delightful. However, be aware that 2 rooms do not have en-suite and unfortunately we were given a room with a shared bathroom. It was OK but I don't think we were informed at the time of booking otherwise we would have requested an en-suite room.

Room Tip: If you prefer en-suite make sure you ask for a room with an en suite.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IreneBWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

we stayed here for our anniversary a few weeks ago. what a fantastic B&B. We were in the pink room which was massive with a beautiful en suite. The owners Ryan an Andy were really friendly and made us feel very welcome. The house itself is in a beautiful location looking out to the countryside with a beautiful garden. We could imagine ourselves sitting out there in the summer. Plenty of choice at breakfast which was beautifully cooked.

Room Tip: The Pink Room is extremely large with a fantastic ensuite
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shirley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

A warm welcome and a cosy room... a quiet location, but just a few minutes away from a lovely village with good amenities.
Ample parking to the side of the property, and just a little walk on the road to get to the front door, so be mindful if you have children with you...
The room was a good size and the homemade cupcakes on the tea tray were a thoughtful touch.
Big fluffy towels in the bathroom, and toiletries too.
The breakfast was served with a smile, all cooked fresh to order, and coffee as it should be.
All round a lovely place to stay, and can recommend it...

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mireille J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews