We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
89
30
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
30
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdurham oxoverlooking the gardenlocal countrysideeggs from their own henssecret recipehome baked biscuitslovely villagefauconberg armswhite company toiletriesan en suite bathroomtea traybooked a tablesitting roomspent two nightsattending a weddingcomfortable bedsweekend break
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We have just spent a wonder night at Newburgh House We had upgraded to the Red room which is huge & beautlfuly furnished & decorated with its own private bathroom The bed is really comfy with good quality bedding
I am sure that in Summer the house & gardens are even more stunning but it was lovely sitting in the window for breakfast watching birds & squirrels in the garden
Andy & Ryan are perfect hosts & they have some great plans to make the place even more attractive next year They are also animal lovers having cats & dogs but these do not live in the guest side of the house, though we were lucky enough to meet Bilbo who is a rather splendid tabby & white cat. They use eggs from their own hens & grow some fruit & veg & plan to expand this side of the business & serve evening meals as well I am sure we will make a return visit to see how it all goes

Room Tip: The Red room was beautiful
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sonia2431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

People should know that the poor reviews were written about the previous owners. Andy and Ryan were extremely professional and helpful. They also had good local knowledge. We were attending a wedding next door at Newburgh Priory and it was a five minute walk home. Perfect. Our bed was really comfortable and every element of our breakfast was better than we could have hoped. Fresh fruit, freshly cut, lovely cafetiere coffee and Ryan's secret recipe omelettes! We were gently welcomed and gently looked after. Gorgeous views. Thanks guys - and all the best with your business.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Ryan and Andy are such wonderful hosts myself the dogs and my husband had a wonderful time. The room was lovely and clean. the breakfast was very nice and quite a wide range of choice to have which you do not get in many places, i think we even had home made fresh bread, which was lovely, i forgot to ask if it was homemade. fresh cookies or cakes each day provided in the room by Ryan and Andy which my husband appreciated. Advice given on where to go was good we visited the fountain abbey which was wonderful. so much to do and so little time in which to do it. we will be visiting again i hope very soon.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

what a beautiful place to stay it is about 3/4 mile from the village centre if you chose to stay here have a torch with you as there is no street lights to this b/b.
the breakfast to some may not be much but to me it was superb just how I like it thank you rooms are very clean and spacious including a lounge area which is massive it also great as they have there own chickens to get lovely free range eggs you will not be disappointed here and made to feel so welcome by the two hosts sorry (guys forgot your names) well worth 10/10

Room Tip: so peaceful here to stay
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scotbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Our hosts were so friendly and when shown to our room, it was obvious they took great pride in their business.Room was spacious, clean with excellent bedlinen, great towels and even had a few home baked biscuits.
If you are looking for Best Western characteristics , don't visit here. Indivdual establishment full of caharcter and charm. Excellent breakfast overlooking the garden.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews