We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glencoe House(Glencoe Village)
US$702
US$482
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holly Tree Hotel(Kentallen)
US$251
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Croit Anna Hotel(Fort William)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardno House(Ballachulish)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechwood Cottage B&B(Ballachulish)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creag Mhor Lodge(Ballachulish)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park View B & B(Ballachulish)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aos Si Lodges(Ballachulish)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
134
46
10
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
46
10
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdvd librarywest highland wayhis lovely wifefamily room with bunk bedsco opthe pubdrying roombooks and gameswarm welcomeus feel at homeguest loungeon arrivalbrilliant staybreakfast was amazingfriendly hostsweather forecastgood size
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a night making our way south from two weeks in the Highlands and could not have done better! Our rooms were very nicely arranged, fresh and spotlessly clean. Beds and linens were very comfortable so we slept perfectly. Strong wifi and nice in-room setup for media (TV) if you need that. There is also a comfortable lounge. Ample on-premise parking.

Especially nice touches in the comfort/convenience area: 1) the rooms were set up with USB charging points making it easier to keep our electronics running and 2) the heat has individual in-room controls so we weren't dependent on a whole-house system. This latter was a real plus as heat at the last dozen places we stayed in the U.K. came on at the host's timing, often leaving the bedroom or bath stuffy or too cool. These points really add up.

Neal is a very agreeable host and took great care of our group of two couples. His dining recommendation of the Laroch across the street led us to one of the best meals of our holiday.

The full Scottish breakfast was delicious - our eggs were piached perfectly. A great start for a full day of travels.

While Neal explained that renovations were progressing, we found the whole place fine as it is. If he makes more improvements it will just be that much more attractive.

Ballachulish is a charming village with quite an interesting history of slate quarrying. Great access to the area and much quieter and less commercial than Fort William.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely book here again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Roschu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil087, Manager at Strathassynt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you so much for leaving such a detailed review. We really appreciate you taking the time. Thanks for staying with us. You will be welcome here any time!
Neil, Katya and Mila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

We had a night here as part of our walking experience on the West Highland Way. Neil took one look at us after we had walked Ranoch Moor in the wind and rain and promptly offered us a whisky on arrival.
Boots, wet clothes and dinner booking were dealt with efficiently. The rooms are well laid out with everything you could want and immaculately clean. Fabulous pub over the road with good local food.
Brilliant breakfast, comfortable beds and friendly hosts.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank YogieRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil087, Owner at Strathassynt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we're so happy to hear you enjoyed it too! We'll be delighted to see you again sometime!
Neil, Katya and Mila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Very good setting. Grocery store right next door. The host was gracious to educate us about drying our boots in his drying room. This was a lesson we appreciated. The room had all the amenities. Breakfast was awesome. We would return.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank jfalderete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil087, Owner at Strathassynt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

And you will be welcome here any time! Thanks so much for your review. We really appreciate it. And now you know how to dry boots:)
Neil, Katya and Mila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Skip Ft William... Come to Ballachulish. This was a perfect jumping off place for Glen Etive, Glencoe, Oban, and on to Skye. Neil was a wonderful host, accommodating and knowledgeable of the local area. We especially appreciated his advice on off-the-beaten-path excursions. Breakfast included anything from cereals and yogurts to full Scottish. Delicious. The room and shower were spotless and the bed was especially comfortable. Thanks, Neil and Katya, until we meet again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank btownishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil087, Owner at Strathassynt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Absolutely! Ballachulish is much nice than Fort William! :) Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it. Ad we hope we meet again soon!
Neil, Katya and Mila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Set just off the main road this B&B is good, well run and an ideal spot to be based touring the area. Rooms are good and well spaced and the owners know how to do a very good breakfast. Would we revisit ?, of course !

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wexford747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil087, Owner at Strathassynt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

And you'll be most welcome if ever you do! Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure having you here!
Neil, Katya and Mila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews