We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Kelvin House Hotel

Kelvin House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Stewart
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kelvin House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Newton Stewart B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Here for the night 1st September visiting friends in glenluce so looking for somewhere close by and well priced kelvin house was recommended. Our room was lovely even got a four poster!! all the staff friendly, breakfast delicious, just what we needed to cure the hangover!!! When we r visiting in glenluce we'd definitely stay here again. Total value for money!! :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretnaangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

Just returned from a great week at Kelvin House bed and breakfast. The owners Sharon and Carl are lovely and will do anything they can to help. The room was great and the breakfast was so good it really did set you up for the day. Would certainly stay here again next time we are in Torquay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Whatever you are in the area for Kelvin house will cater for your needs. Everything is done to suit you. Meal times when you want them, not set times. Lovely staff, huge rooms, good bathrooms, well cooked food, very clean and all at remarkable low prices. You will have to go a long way to beat this. We would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iluvholidays247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I was a bit apprehensive as the cost seemed cheap but I should not have worried. We had a huge room with a four poster and large en-suite. The hotel was clean and tidy and the staff were pleasant and helpful. There was a lovely atmosphere and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We visited this lovely hotel which we later found out was a Manse dating back to the early 18 century after being invited by the present owners Ian and Roseann. We met them while on holiday in Cuba back in Feb and could not wait to see them again. You could not ask for better hosts so welcoming and friendly as soon as we walked through the door,and not because they knew us but because they are as we observed the same to everyone who walks through their door. We were shown to our room and were amazed at the size of it, a large 4 poster bed which i have to say was one of the most comfortable beds i have ever slept in ! On looking out the window we even had a view of the sea which was lovely. A big well done to all the staff who keep this place looking so nice. The menu is really good and varied and my hat goes off to the chef because the food is delicious. There are plenty of things to do in the area from golf, fishing,walking etc which Ian and Roseann are happy to help you organize.There is also a lovely beer garden out the back when the weather is nice ! Thanks again for the lovely stay, and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hutchmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newton Stewart hotels
22.5 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
147 reviews
24.3 km away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
196 reviews
23.7 km away
Conifers Leisure Park
Conifers Leisure Park
#1 of 11 in Newton Stewart
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 km away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
283 reviews
22.9 km away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
363 reviews
22.6 km away
The Bladnoch Inn
The Bladnoch Inn
#12 of 17 in Newton Stewart
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvin House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin House Hotel

Address: 53 Main Street | Dumfries & Galloway, Newton Stewart DG8 0PP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Stewart
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing