We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Urr Valley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Airds Farmhouse B&B(Castle Douglas)
US$162
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Castle Douglas)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Market Inn Hotel(Castle Douglas)
US$95
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Hotel(Castle Douglas)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Haven B&B(Castle Douglas)
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
The Old Station House(Castle Douglas)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Douglas House(Castle Douglas)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillowton House(Castle Douglas)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Auchenlarie Holiday Park(Castle Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$24
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
72
120
93
64
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
120
93
64
135
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016

A lukewarm welcome followed by a cold room with water coming in through the ceiling. Asking for another room seemed to be a major inconvenience. The other one was relatively clean but not nice. We'd booked for two nights but left after one. Fair enough that they might be in the middle of refurbishment but it doesn't excuse poor service, staff lounging around and a middling standard of cleanliness in areas not being 'refurbished'. The dogs were at least friendly. A shame - it could be lovely, but isn't.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Anonymous12345XYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

My partner and I have holiday breaks every 4 weeks and have stayed in a lot of hotels but this by far the worst overall. Even if you get a deal I would stay clear, do yourself a favour.

Angela the owner was lovely on arrival and reminded me of 'Mrs Bouquet'.

On arrival the foyer was dirty and smelt foisty. The owners dogs live on the sofas that guests are supposed to sit on. The whole hotel is run down, dirty and needs a lot of work. We went out the first day we were there and it was cold and raining all day. When we arrived back there was no heating on so we went and asked for a heater so I could take a shower and warm the room up. The watchman wasn't sure how to handle the situation and fobbed us off telling us it was hotel policy that heaters weren't allowed in the rooms. We were going to check out the next day but the owner came over whilst having breakfast and appologised; explaining that the heating tripped out; I think she thought we fell off the last banana boat as the hot water was working and the heating was on in the reception area. She told us the heating was now switched on. We decided to stay so we didn't have the unevenly of checking out and checking in again. When we came back on the night, guess what 'no heating'!

The beds were clean and clean towels but no one came around to top the milk, coffee and teas or ask to change your wet towels.


The breakfast is very limited: 2 slices of toast per person, two varieties of cereal and a fried breakfast with cheap beans and sausages. The big friendly waitress made the place! There was a choice of a fresh orange or an apple although we had to give the orange back that was half mouldy. Everything is run on a shoestring!

Stay Clear!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank 670kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016

It is difficult to explain how bad this hotel is but the reviews here illustrate many of the problems. Walking into the reception area you feel like you are entering a private living room, there are numerous staff members (dress in dirty work cloths) lounging about and watching television, I have never felt so unwelcome in any guest house. The place is run down, smells terrible of damp, is dirty, the bins are not emptied, the beds are not made, the heating doesn't work and the breakfast even compared to the generally poor standard other similar establishments is appalling, uneatable garbage. It is difficult to imagine how this place stays open.

Room Tip: Just avoid. Sleeping in a ditch is preferable to staying here
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank balsall67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

If you like dogs then you could like this place. They own the entrance hall which was the only public area open when we were there. They live on the sofas.
The bedroom was very large as was the bathroom. However the heating was not on when we arrived and although it was turned on as we went into the room it failed to add much heat. A cold visit ensued. The bathroom appeared to be a domestic level installation poorly applied in a room too large to hold it.
The grounds are lovely though needing work but then so is the house. Inside is a collection of half baked repairs and leaks. A shame to see such an interesting old house being badly maintained. I cannot recommend it.

Stayed: November 2015
2  Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Hotel needed total refurbishment very dated. No WIFI in the room, television didn't work, staff eating their meals in the residents lounge, Sitting watching telly all day in the residents lounge, couldn't get a drink at the bar at 10.15pm all locked up!!! Breakfast like a transport cafe. Very poor value for money. Great shame it could be a little gem.

Room Tip: There isn't one
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mikemerry63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews