We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Market Inn Hotel(Castle Douglas)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Castle Douglas)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Douglas House(Castle Douglas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Station House(Castle Douglas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airds Farmhouse B&B(Castle Douglas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auchenlarie Holiday Park(Castle Douglas)
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Hotel(Castle Douglas)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Haven B&B(Castle Douglas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hillowton House(Castle Douglas)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
72
121
93
64
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
121
93
64
135
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely friendly staff nothing is too much, 2 beautiful dogs always there to welcome you back, big food portions fresh and cooked lovely! Big clean rooms, beautiful views! Got given a tour of the building and told about the history of it, cant wait to go back

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank missbee1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We booked a three night break here last week. After reading some of the reviews l was a bit apprehensive but they were not needed we were greeted by the owner and her two dogs,our room was huge four poster bed and two singles a huge 40" tv and a very large shower room the heating wasn't on but l turned the radiator on and soon the room was warm
We ate in the restaurant every night food was good freshly cooked, breakfast was good also
Yes some of the rooms are a bit dated but after talking to the owner she said they had only been in 3 years and it is a work in progress as a sign told you
We will definitely return and Grace who looked after us was a gem and we wish her well for her forthcoming wedding

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank maureenr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights at end of a weeks break in Scotland was going to cancel to be honest due to previous reviews but glad we didn't the owners made us very welcome as did their delightful two dogs nothing is too much trouble for them along with the fantastic waitress. Yes it is work in progress and still needs a lot of tlc in certain places but our room was cleaned and towels changed daily. The breakfast was good and cooked to order. This is a pet friendly hotel and guests also bring their dogs but no way was it smelly as suggested by some reviewers and I suggest if you dislike animals that much you don't stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KandDLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

stayed just one night. Enormous room with chairs and table. Owners great and were good enough to put football on for me in the bar. Good choice for evening meal with average prices. Cooked breakfast was breakfast piping hot and a good variety.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

I work away from home and wanted a peaceful weekend brake with my wife
and our dog
The pictures on line looked good but what we got was the most shabbiest room very dirty thread bear carpets blown windows cold room plaster coming off the wall
not acceptable
will never return or recommend this place i was discussed
breakfast was no better the food was brought out on plates you could;t touch as they where red hot
Staff was smoking outside front doors lots of white vans parked up right outside
give it a miss.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews