We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Great Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Maho
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We stayed at Sonesta Maho Beach it was a very well kept and so convenient from airport, to shops, to fine dining, to casino. No car necessary it is all inclusive , but we choose to eat at hotel for breakfast and lunch, and beverages all day while enjoying the beach , Then GO OUT to the great restaurants just outside the hotel doors (walking distance). Do not miss them they are all incredible. making your visit here so much more enjoyable . Staff are very nice as is the hotel. Will go back, Our heartsand prayers go out to all the people there and hopes they are all well, and can rebuild after this terrible hurricane . Such devastation to a wonderful place.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank queenmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 4,151 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

For an all inclusive resort I would expect more. Rooms are dated.. we got "upgraded" to a 5th floor garden view... instead we got to see the roof of the neighborhood bar which played loud music all night. The loud music didn't bother us but the word "upgraded" did. The food however was great. Good selection and fresh. Staff was always grumpy. We probably saw two employees that actually smiled. Other than that they were all miserable. Mini casino was cool. Drinks were delicious.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Davidanthony8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Bad experience at this Hotel. bad customer service, bad mood of the employees, poor food and the restaurants they advertise over internet do not all belong to the same Hotel. I do not recommend it. I have tried to review this Hotel previously, but I only post sites that I make positive revisions.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank josefhine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Originally we were booked into a king bed, the next night they put us in a room with 2 queen beds, on the renovated floor. It was really nice! Once the hotel is renovated, it will be better. The food was good, multiple options, I enjoyed eating at all of the different restaurants. Most of the bars on the property closed early and they didn't have all of the ingredients to make drinks on the drink menu. The pool area was pretty, but the water is cool. The beach area is small, but there were a lot of places to relax and take in the beautiful view. The planes landing were fun to watch, the people who stood behind the planes taking off were crazy! The casino was across the street. There were clubs and bars around us, on the street the resort was on. We loved the rooftop club, DJ's changed nightly. The Heineken Regatta was going on when we were there, so we went to one of the parties and had fun! The only other issue was trying to get a shower before getting on the plane, I was told we would, but after waiting over an hour it never happened. I didn't get to go to the sister resort, so I cant comment on that resort.

Room Tip: renovated rooms if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sxyslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I had to write a review. Myself and 50 of my family and friends visited this resort to celebrate my 50th Birthday. I booked this resort based on a recommendation of a friend I trust. After all the booking was made I decided to read the reviews after reading the first few reviews my heart sank. I thought I made a big mistake in booking this resort, because all the reviews were so bad. I was very nervous on my arrival as I had vision and I was afraid that it would not be met.
From my airport arrival i was impressed. We were met by a Sunwing rep. with champagne, my group also had our own bus to transport us to the hotel.
There were a few room mixed up that was expected for a group of my size traveling from all over US and Canada. Mr. King and his staff did an amazing job of correcting everything that was incorrect. I have not but good things to say about him and his staff.
The Food:- I would like to see a more variety for vegetarians outside of that I have no complains.
The Restaurant staff including the Food & Beverage Manager: Lindon, Simone and Sandra to name a few were very accommodating. High praise to them. Because of these guys my Birthday celebration is one I will remember for a very long time.
I would highly recommend that people visit this resort and see for themselves.
I would definitely return for another trip.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and higher are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank gtgal90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maho
11.0 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
10.3 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,816 reviews
3.1 km away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
510 reviews
7.1 km away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
0.2 km away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 1 Rhine Road, Maho, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Maho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Maho
#2 Casino Hotel in Maho
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Maho
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Maho
Price Range: $411 - $909 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its limitless all-inclusive meals, drinks, Kids Club and scheduled activities program, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino is a destination within a destination, offering exhilarating fun with the island's most exciting nightlife, a variety of accommodations and first-rate amenities for singles, couples and families. The 10-acre, 406-room beachfront property is conveniently located on St. Maarten's southwest shore just minutes from the airport and features a large signature Oasis pool area with swim-up pool bar, cascading waterfalls and separate kids pool, oceanfront wedding gazebo, five restaurants and bars, fitness center, four tennis courts, and more than 24,000 square feet of meeting space. Enjoy other amenities including Maho Serenity Spa and the destination's largest gaming emporium Casino Royale as well as access to motorized water sports for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Maho Beach Hotel
St Martin Sonesta
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Sonesta St. Maarten/St. Martin
St Maarten Sonesta
Maho Beach Hotel
St. Maarten/St. Martin Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing