We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Loch Front Stay”
Review of The Ferry Boat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ferry Boat Inn
Ranked #41 of 46 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 May 2017

Lovely warm welcome . We had a loch view room, very nicely decorated and a lovely comfortable bed. Very good food served in the restaurant, both dinner and breakfast. Busy bar with music most evenings. We were there on a Monday when there was a folk evening in the sister Argyll Hotel.

Room Tip: Loch view room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keentraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2017

A calm and quiet overnight stop was just what we needed, and after trying many B&Bs we came across the Ferry Boat Inn. Although not the cheapest, at £170 for 3 adults (a double and a single), it was cosy, and with rooms offering all you need (minus Wifi, as the free one was not working!) it was a great choice for the whole family - the water and biscuits in room were much appreciated, as were the views on the port!
Breakfast was excellent, with a LOT of smoked salmon offered with eggs (or without,if you did not fancy them) and a great, varied selection from the menu - although the breakfast cost £9.95 per head in addition to the room price, but it was well worth it.
A great character stay, we'll be back...

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertogregoratti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights- absolutely lovely pub!! Clean and comfortable room, excellent staff, great selection of draught beers and fabulous food!! Highly recommend staying here, eating and drinking!!! Gorgeous view of Loch Broom, but if you want a table for dinner in the window make sure you book!! Will be staying here again as soon as we can get away! Oh, and they are very dog friendly!!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kiwiscot2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

Visited earlier in the month while on a tour of the west coast and north coast of Scotland. Had an overnight stop in Ullapool and found this fab restaurant. If you ever find yourselves near Ullapool this restaurant is a must. It's not a big place but it's cosy with a real fire and a lovely view over the water. The food was the best we had while we were away. In fact we didn't want the meal to end, it was so good. The mussels were the best I ever tasted as was the sea bass!! Then obviously we had the cranachan for pudding....gorgeous. We ate everything, and to top it off it's dog friendly so our pooch could come in with us. A perfect evening!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fynn103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Crammed in like chickens in this tiny place that is barley big enough for 15 people let alone 25 we were back to back with others and had to squeeze past when we went to the bathroom.
It's understandable that they make you pay before you eat as other wise you wouldn't pay.
Soup; can only be described as SPICY dishwater with lumps of uncooked carrot.
Prawn Marie rose sandwich I'm sure would of been delicious if the prawns were not off. The toilet was also disgusting to add

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lachlan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0 km away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
258 reviews
0.3 km away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
659 reviews
7.2 km away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 km away
Creagan Guest House Ullapool
0.9 km away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ferry Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ferry Boat Inn

Address: Shore Street, Ullapool IV26 2UJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range: $123 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ferry Boat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ferry Boat Inn is a 3 Star (Visit Scotland) 18th Century Inn, situated on the busy Shore Street of Ullapool overlooking Lochbroom and Ullapool Harbour. With 9 en-suite rooms and a lively Bar & Restaurant, The Ferry Boat Inn offers a welcoming stay right in the centre of Ullapool. Our Menu changes daily with local fish specials, main courses and of course delicious deserts too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Ferry Boat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ferry Boat Hotel Ullapool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing