We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Just great for relaxing

Oh yes, oh yes this is a must. Great drive to the beach, views in every direction. The local... read more

Reviewed 4 September 2021
Russell G
,
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Lovely beach

This is a lovely beach with lovely surroundings. It was a dull day when we were there but still... read more

Reviewed 1 September 2021
RosyHER3
,
Scotland, United Kingdom
Read all 156 reviews
  
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
138
16
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
138
16
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland cattle whaling station camper van mile single track road fantastic drive car park stunning views sunny day toes hairy scenery weather campsite wee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2021

This is a picturesque, fantastic and safe beach.
The beach is at the end of a long singe track road, but is well worth the effort. We had to get out of the car to move on some gorgeous brown highland cattle that had decided to take residence on the road.
You approach the beach from the top of a hill and are met with a stunning view of the beach.
The beach was very quiet and had easy parking (some bays facing directly onto the beach providing a stunning view) and some unmanned facilities.
The beach is simply stunning. Not only that, but unlike some other beaches on Harris (notably Nisabost which has horrendous under tows) this beach is incredibly safe. It gently shelves into the sea and, notwithstanding the time of year (early June), the waves were not too large and they were consistent allowing us to swim, even without wet suits. We were the only people on the beach. Felt like really communing with nature.
We went back on a day it was raining heavily just to look at this beach, the sea and the waves. Even then it was stunning.
This is a special place and a really spectacular beach.

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2020

We were advised to visit here by our hotel. Sadly the weather was not good with heavy rain most of the time but even so the scenery and views were spectacular on the road to get there. On a sunny day it would be simply magnificent. At the end of the drive, which takes a good 30 minutes I would say, is the beach which is beautiful (even in the rain). There is a small camper van campsite there.

Date of experience: September 2020
1  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2020

if you can survive the 12 mile single track road you will be rewarded with one of the finest wee beaches in Harris

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank oldcastlerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2020

this beach is accessible via a single track road with passing places. You will pass an old whaling station, and the very elegant Ammhuishine Hotel. There was a herd of highland cattle by the roadside when I drove by September 2019. At the beach, there is a modern toilet block with facilities where you can get changed for a swim, and there is a snack van too. I would recommend the journey to this beautiful beach.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank scottishlassie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2020 via mobile

This is the second time we have visited this beach and we were not disappointed. It is so clean and spacious with beautiful views. It is a popular spot for surfers but we were
happy just to dip our toes in, however a few more daring visitors went in for a swim.There is a lovely coastal walk up past the car park towards another wonderful beach (check it out before you go as it can be a bit hairy as the path becomes rocky as you start to incline with a steep drop and is about 40 mins walk away)

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank carolyns145
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews