We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Just great for relaxing

Oh yes, oh yes this is a must. Great drive to the beach, views in every direction. The local... read more

Reviewed 4 September 2021
Russell G
,
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Lovely beach

This is a lovely beach with lovely surroundings. It was a dull day when we were there but still... read more

Reviewed 1 September 2021
RosyHER3
,
Scotland, United Kingdom
Read all 156 reviews
  
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
138
16
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
138
16
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland cattle whaling station camper van mile single track road fantastic drive car park stunning views sunny day toes hairy scenery weather campsite wee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2021

The facilities out here provided by the local crofters is superb. As it is a charity they make no charge and rely on donations. Please if you make use of the facilities in anyway, donate. The location and beach are superb. Again, Please Donate!

Date of experience: August 2021
2  Thank BrianSeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2021

The drive to here is amazing with a new and more breath taking view around each corner. On the way there is an lovely set of waterfalls and then the road goes through the grounds of a castle. There is also a Camping site with immaculate facilites close to the beach.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank JRG1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 June 2021 via mobile

Wow, this beach takes some getting to along a stunning single track road, but it is definitely worth the effort! We were in two minds about visiting this beach as it was out of the way from where we were staying. But I am so glad we went! On our trip around the Outer Hebrides this was one of my favourite beaches. If you were camping or in a camper van this would also be an amazing place to wake up! The drive to the beach is also stunning, you drive through a private estate which is beautiful too!

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank wildbobedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 June 2021

This is a picturesque, fantastic and safe beach.
The beach is at the end of a long singe track road, but is well worth the effort. We had to get out of the car to move on some gorgeous brown highland cattle that had decided to take residence on the road.
You approach the beach from the top of a hill and are met with a stunning view of the beach.
The beach was very quiet and had easy parking (some bays facing directly onto the beach providing a stunning view) and some unmanned facilities.
The beach is simply stunning. Not only that, but unlike some other beaches on Harris (notably Nisabost which has horrendous under tows) this beach is incredibly safe. It gently shelves into the sea and, notwithstanding the time of year (early June), the waves were not too large and they were consistent allowing us to swim, even without wet suits. We were the only people on the beach. Felt like really communing with nature.
We went back on a day it was raining heavily just to look at this beach, the sea and the waves. Even then it was stunning.
This is a special place and a really spectacular beach.

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2020

We were advised to visit here by our hotel. Sadly the weather was not good with heavy rain most of the time but even so the scenery and views were spectacular on the road to get there. On a sunny day it would be simply magnificent. At the end of the drive, which takes a good 30 minutes I would say, is the beach which is beautiful (even in the rain). There is a small camper van campsite there.

Date of experience: September 2020
1  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews