We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Nights In Isle Of Skye”
Review of Stein Inn

Stein Inn
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 27/07
20:00
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Waternish
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The oldest Inn in the Isle of Skye. Each room has a sea view. Freshly sourced dishes and some of the worlds best seafood from the Loch opposite. Log fires, live music, events and a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A short break was required so 4 nights bed and breakfast were book at Stein Inn
Located in Waternish on the Isle of Skye. What a pick! Just a beautiful place to be. Charlie and her team did a great job of making us feel welcome. Food was excellent, everything we ordered you could not find fault with. At breakfast there was a great selection on offer cooked to order and again very tasty, washed down with excellent coffee. Will we be back, without a doubt!

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SandyRisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic for a drink. Good whisky menu. Lovely views. Lovely staff. Great outdoors tables.

Will go back one day. Good recommendations on whiskies.

Date of visit: June 2021
2  Thank Nazandkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited the Stein Inn on Sunday great location and great service and food was good.As everyone knows what we have been through in the last year. The Stein Inn is in a remote beautiful location in the middle of no where. So don’t expect to be served as fast as usual. The number of staff are less than normal but have more work especially if it is when we were there when it was sunny and all tables outside was occupied and the restaurant was full. Booking is essential as they need to know how many they can cater for and what food to order. You shouldn’t expect to turn up for a table and quick service if so go back to where you have come from. Returning on Friday can’t wait.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Scotbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was treated to an evening meal by my daughter for my birthday. We shared a starter of langoustine tails which were very disappointing. My daughter had mussels for her main course. She was disappointed as she said the sauce didn't have much flavour and was watery. I had fish and chips which I really enjoyed. We were served by Charlie and asked her for a drinks menu. Being local I'd heard that drinks were very expensive so wanted to know prices of drinks before ordering. Charlie told us that there wasn't a drinks menu but offered us a wine list. As we weren't drinking wine we declined. We ordered Skye beers which we found out on payment cost £6.50 each. My daughter ordered a whisky which we found out on payment cost £7. A 10% service fee was also added to the final bill. The meal cost £68 which seemed a lot for what we had.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank janerZ8518MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I booked dinner at the Stein Inn via OpenTable. We were extremely lucky with the weather which was simply glorious, and really made the whole island sing. Stein itself is stunning and the Inn is at the heart of it.

On arrival we met Alex and Roxy, who were amazing. In the 2 hours or so we were there, they had to deal with all the diners, the Inn guests, people ordering drinks for outside benches, people asking for reservations at last minute despite a board outside saying they were fully booked, and several calls asking to reserve for future nights - honestly, who calls to book during dinner service?! They handled all this with aplomb. Yes, service itself wasn't the fastest it could have been, but when you go into these places with open eyes you can easily see the pressure and how it's being handled. They're doing a brilliant job in clearly difficult circumstances.

Recommendation of squid starter was immediately taken up. Cooked perfectly. Mains of seafood linguini and hake; simply the best tasting seafood I've ever had. My wife could barely speak, the meals were that good. We were both full, but ordered dessert anyway because we felt that even if we couldn't finish, we had to try it. Both were demolished. Somehow we found the second stomachs that definitely didn't exist before the first spoonfuls of toffee pudding (lighter than expected, beautifully sweet, nice honeycomb pieces) and buttermilk pannacotta (great balance of flavour between sweet and bitter/sour).

Instantly more than doubled the optional service charge. Their staff are worth it.

We're already looking at coming back in November for our anniversary, and hopefully by then things will have calmed for them, both in demand and restrictions.

Date of visit: July 2021
3  Thank GordonVaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stein Inn also viewed

 

Been to Stein Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.